We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money.”
Review of Club Hotel La Vela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Hotel La Vela
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Torbole
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“value for money.”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I had a double room, simple clean and tidy. Good size bathroom for one, shower unit small. Balcony with table and chairs, nice view. The food was good with plenty of choice. Service was good but if you leave your table to get something else it may be taken away, mine did one day.Bar area, but small. Pool, but not enough loungers. Quiet hotel in nice area for walks and to the lake. Must try the ice-cream.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crampyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    82
    74
    47
    37
See reviews for
79
118
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I have just returned from a week in this hotel. The weather was bad however the hotel accommodation was good value for money. The food was very good with ample choice for most. The service and staff in the restaurant was excellent and they worked hard to ensure everyone was happy with their meals. The hotel is in a good location for walks around the area of Lake Garda however I would hire a car on my next visit to see more of this stunning area. I went half board and prices in and around the resort are very cheap. I must say the size of the pizzas are huge and could easily be shared by two people and the ice cream is something else you must taste. This hotel is rated as a 4 star which I think is generous as compared to some 4star hotels I have visited I would have to say would be rated as 5 star accommodation which they were not. The rooms are basic with just what is required there and we had shower facilities and no bath. Sadly not many sun beds but this is not a resort for stopping in. If you are looking for luxury then do not come here but if you are looking for a good place to eat and sleep to use a a base for exploring Garda then this is as nice as it gets for the money. A special thank you to the head waiter who allowed myself and wife into the restaurant after closing time when we came back from Venice very late one evening.

Room Tip: Pool view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymond D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here for 11 days, effectively 5 adults in a one bedroom suite. Our room was perfectly adequate for our needs and cleaned daily, even when the teenagers did not want to get up!
It is not 5 star luxury, but then it is not at a 5 star price.
Breakfast was included and was an extensive choice of hot and cold items laid out in a buffet style. Big mention for Ana, who was a star and made us feel very welcome.
If you are planning to go to the north end of lake Garda, this hotel is a good base from which to explore.
we would certainly stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor over looking the pool area. There was plenty going on around the pool with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles_Rickards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have just come back from a lovely holiday on Lake Garda and stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. It was lovely. Clean and tidy, fairly large rooms and a balcony. Unfortunately only one chair on the balcony but we took the one out of the room as well. We used the swimming pool which was very good, there is a kiddies area in the pool. The food was mainly very good with a huge choice so if you don't like one thing there are plenty of other options.Wine wasn't bad either. Would stay here again if we went to the area. Waiters etc were good fun and worked extremely hard to keep tables cleared etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mag16_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have to say on the food front I agree. Pasta stodgy, fish not great. Same same old sweets. Breakfasts better. Crispy bacon eggs a bit suspect. Tip, get the hot water for your tea from the machine not the pull own handle thingy! We were with a coach trip and some of our holiday travellers were not happy with their room. I guess we were lucky we were in the recently renovated annexe. We had the ground floor with a lovely little terrace, views of the mountains either side. It depends what you are looking for. We tend to go out for a stroll and a quiet drink somewhere else. The bar isnt that good,and if you don like going out of the hotel in the evening there isnt much in this hotel. Location wise it is very good, very central, 6 minute walk to the lake. There were a lot of roadworks being done at the front while we were there, however it was almost completed when we left 28th May. You basically get what you pay for we were with National holidays or Caledonian, we travelled from Scotland. It was simply fantastic value for money therefore I guess we werent looking for a luxury hotel. If you arent overly fussy about food, try and get a room in the annexe, we were 107 you like to be near everything, cleanliness and clean sheets and towels, good air conditioning, saftey pull own shutters on the patio doors, and staff who were very friendly you cant go wrong at this hotel. If you have kids they have just built a lovely little park next to the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for the newly renovated annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jillgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinnington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Oh Dear !!!! This is the first bad review I have ever written and it is not an enjoyable experience. I can't believe that anyone should find this hotel satisfactory.
Our Tour company booked us into this so called 4 star hotel. After 14 hours travelling we were given the key to our room !!!!! 9pm. So Small...(for eight nights !!) may be there was a comfortable chair !!! NO, No Room !!! We were woken in the morning at 7.30am by the sound of heavy machinery they were digging the roads up !!!! under our window. Breakfast was missed as tried to get some sleep. The feeling of claustrophobia was terrible. Thought a nice relax in the lounge would be a good idea.... No way... there was no lounge !!! No outside sitting area !!! NOT ONE comfortable chair in the whole hotel. The bar was furnished with hard backed dining chairs and tables. The only comfort was on the coach !!! MEALS.. well We didn't have a hot meal all week, we tried different times of eating but on each occasion the pasta was congealed and cold the meat was tough and luke warm the fish had the consistency of sawdust, potatoes swimming in grease and just warm. We dined on Salads all week which was a bit monotonous to say the least. The breakfasts were passable Except the greasy scrambled egg. but 'off with your head' ! if you dared to sit in the wrong place !! Tried the pool but it was full of teenagers enjoying themselves jumping and splashing about. Not conducive for a nice swim. ( Not the kids fault, they were having a great time) So many people complained about the rooms and were relocated. I also complained but wasn't offered an alternative. After having arrived home I have had to was every item of clothing ( even clothes not worn) as everything was covered in a dirty grey dust ( from the road works) We had to have the one patio door open to relieve the feeling of claustrophobia (the other door would not open as it hit the bed !!!)
All in all an unhappy experience at this hotel and after travelling all over the world... We had more comfort, hospitality. friendliness and better food in a small hotel in a poor village in India.

Room Tip: Just don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Yorkbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torbole hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were booked into the Club Hotel La Vela by the tour company, whose trip also involved three other hotels for overnights, all greatly superior to La Vela. When we entered the entered our room it smelt of nicotine and mustiness which permeated the bedding and the wardrobe paricularly. The room was too small for two persons, black scuff marks on the walls and plaster had been knocked a wall corner. We complained, but there was no other room avaliable. The hotel's solution was to change all the bedding and keep the door and the balcony door open and air fresheners. The first night we got stuck in the slow, antiquated lift, which we did not trust; my partner (who has slight mobility problems) and I used the stairs to the 3rd floor. I had read the reviews before our holiday and challenged the hoiliday company, who assured me that the hotel had been inspected recently and also rely on coach drivers' (?) reports. There was no room service, no laundry - how can this hotel justify 4 stars? Judging by some reviews on this place, I must have been at another hotel..

Room Tip: If you have to stay in this hotel, ask for the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bob_mcloughlin4789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torbole hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravel
Hotel Caravel
#7 of 33 in Torbole
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Piccolo Mondo Hotel
Piccolo Mondo Hotel
#8 of 33 in Torbole
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santoni Freelosophy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Residence Torbole
Hotel Residence Torbole
#5 of 33 in Torbole
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Orchidea
Villa Orchidea
#25 of 33 in Torbole
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#30 of 33 in Torbole
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Hotel La Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Hotel La Vela

Property: Club Hotel La Vela
Address: Strada Granda 2, 38069 Torbole, Nago-Torbole, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Nago-Torbole > Torbole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torbole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Hotel La Vela 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing and friendly atmosphere, a welcoming hotel to spend your holidays. Discover the pleasure of spending time with your family, because Club Hotel La Vela answers all your needs in terms of relaxation and fun, thanks to our smooth operation and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Club Hotel La Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Vela
La Vela Hotel
Club Hotel La Vela Torbole/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing