We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Dreadful Place- Best Avoided”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Alberta
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Torbole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We have just recently returned from a holiday in Italy and stayed at the Hotel Villa Alberta, Torbole, Lake Garda and was very disappointed. We were with a party of 30 from Scotland, on a coach touring holiday and stayed here for seven nights.
We would not even class it as a hotel. A very modest guest house would be a better description. On arrival, the owners and staff were less than welcoming, almost to the point of being quite surly. Our room was to the rear of the premises and was extremely cramped and basic, with a tiny balcony overlooking the service area used for drying washing and storing beer kegs etc.
The room had a double wardrobe with two built in drawers, a double bed, two small bedside cabinets, a table and chair and a small flatscreen tv. There was also no telephone.
The tiny bathroom was badly in need of an upgrade and the shower cubicle was so small, it was impossible to extend my arms without knocking the soap dish off the wall. The shelf above the bed had built in lighting with two spotlights, only one of which worked and the perspex top was loose and broken at one end. It was reasonably clean but not spotless and there was visble dust on most of the surfaces.
During our week long stay, sheets or pillowcases were not changed and with temperatures in the high 20's every day, this should have been a priority.
The standard of food was dreadful. On the first night we had high hopes when we were served home made minestrone soup. From there it all deteriortaed quite rapidly.
There was no printed menu and each evening, the owner came round each table immediately we were finished eating, to take our orders for the following night. Only two choices were offered. Every meal was preceded by a self service choice of basic salad which seldom varied during our entire stay.
Some of the concotions served up were quite extraordinary. For example, one very thin slice of chicken breast with a watery curry sauce, accompanied by slushy cauliflower and cheese. Thin, unfillleted overcooked salmon steak with fried potatoes, tasteless catering pack soups and no fresh vegetables in sight. Desserts were very basic and coffee and tea had to be purchased separately. The highlight of the week was a barbecue style meal which consisted of tinned frankfurter sausage split lengthways, thin dry pieces of chicken breast and undercooked pork chops which were inedible.
In fairness, the continental style breakfasts were adequate but again, never varied during our stay.
There was a tiny lounge area in the corner near the main entrance, which could only seat six and after dinner, most guests sat on the terrace, which is actually quite nice. Had the weather been bad, there was no other option. Even this was awkward, as the owner made it obvious that he wanted us to leave, by dimming the lights around 10pm. Access to the hotel from town is along a lane without a pavement and as local cars use it, becomes tedious after a few days, and could be dangerous for elderly people.
Give this place a wide berth unless you want only basic accommodation! We will never go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lensman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2010

Can't understand why anyone would give this hotel a bad review. Staff were friendly & helpful. Food was excellent & plenty of it. There is a short walk to the hotel from Coach dop off point but this is only because there is no access to Hotel for the Coach - staff took all luggage to Hotel on arrival & to Coach on departure. Bar prices in hotel were cheaper than in bars in Torbole. Rooms are spotless & comfortable. however they do not have air-conditioning. Would definately return & would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kenny_margo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Was there on a coach trip with party of 50. Found the hotel to be exceptionally clean. Service was brilliant and friendly throughout. Meals were perfectly fine, great value all round. An excellent hotel all round in a beautiful part of the world. A+++++++

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jettflames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We found this a great place to stay very quiet and peacefull The owners and staff friendly and helpfull The food was great and varied with seconds offered Everything was spotless The hotel is in anarrow lane which the bus couldn't negotiate but it only a two minuite level walk and the owners transfered all our luggage We would highly recommend

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

having just returned from coach holiday found this hotel to be excellent value. food was excellent with seconds offered,bar prices reasonable,staff friendly and no complaints about room. Christian even laid on a barbecue one night and a candlelit dinner with traditional Italian food another night. How anyone could complain about this hotel beats me.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackandsusanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Just returned from a bus party tour from Scotland and found the holel to be just fine. Cant understand why someone would write bad comments as the staff were helpfull, the hotel very clean and the food great, they even come round with seconds if you want it.
Bar prices very reasonable and Christian the owner very friendly. I would have no problems returning to this hotel again, if you are heading there then have a great time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

As a member of a large group traveling from scotland we all had a excellent time at the hotel. Christain the owner is so friendly and helpful the food that is being servied is all homemade and there is nice size portion and thy come round to see if anyone would like seconds.The hotel is up a norrow lane but it is only a couple of mins walk to the shops resturant and the lake

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HELPFUL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torbole hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#3 of 33 in Torbole
1,086 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#4 of 33 in Torbole
466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 33 in Torbole
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Residence Torbole
Hotel Residence Torbole
#5 of 33 in Torbole
341 reviews
0.4 mi away
SeeLe Garda Hotel
SeeLe Garda Hotel
#2 of 33 in Torbole
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santoni Freelosophy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Alberta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Alberta

Address: Strada Piccola 24, 38069 Torbole, Nago-Torbole, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Nago-Torbole > Torbole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Torbole
Price Range: £75 - £894 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Alberta 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Villa Alberta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing