We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lago di Garda
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Torbole
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes!”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We have just got back from a 7 day holiday touring maggiore, Como and Garda. We stayed for our last two nights at Hotel Lago di Garda and really loved it. The hotel is right in the centre of Torbole so there are many restaurants, bars and shops on the door step. Torbole is a very modern and sophisticated resort and the lake is gorgeous. I understand that the hotel has recently been renovated and this was clear as everything was modern and fresh. We found the receptionist to be very friendly and welcoming, a chilled glass of fresh orange juice was provided on our arrival and a small fresh fruit plate in our rooms. The hotel restaurant provided a large range of dishes and was good value. Our room was clean, large with a gorgeous balcony facing the lake. The bathroom was also large, modern and clean. There was a very friendly and laid back feel to the whole hotel. All age ranges and couples and families all seemed to be at home there. Breakfast was a high quality buffet, including cereals, bread, eggs, bacon, cakes, croissants, fruit, cakes. Windsurfing is very popular on the lake, there was some kind of competition on when we were there with at least 100 windsurfers on the lake which all looked very impressive!
We would definitely recommend this hotel for the great location, efficiency of staff and pleasant and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmallfryEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    225
    40
    9
    1
See reviews for
140
532
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Just back from a week on Lake Garda, the last 2 nights staying at the Hotel Lago Di Garda, Torbole. This is a great place to "Chillax" in luxury after a hectic day in/on the lake, or in the mountains and a fantastic base to explore the north of the lake.

The location is brilliant and our room had spectacular views from the balcony. Comfortable, firm beds, welcome drink & fruit, extensive buffet breakfast and good value restaurant. The secure parking is a short distanc away, but greatly valued.

Room Tip: Ask for a Panorama room witha balcony, you'll get spectacular views of lake & mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattat320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Hotel Lago di Garda is located in a wonderful position with stunning views overlooking the lake.

At the time of check in, we were greeted by two female receptionists who were efficient, smiling and very helpful. One of the young ladies then personally took us to our room to ensure the room met our requirements.

It is also worth noting that there is temporary car parking in front of the hotel, which allows time for guests to check in / unload luggage and from there, easy to locate free parking is available approximately 600 metres away.

The hotel has in recent times undergone a complete refurbishment, whereby, all rooms are now air conditioned, have flat screen televisions and now provide patrons with free Wi-Fi throughout the entire hotel. Earlier comments made on TripAdvisor raising concerns over no air conditioning and noise factors are now in my opinion no longer relevant, as a result of the recent major upgrade of the entire hotel.

As we booked quite late, there were no lake view rooms available, so we booked a Double Room Relax. The room and bathroom were very spacious and extremely clean, with modern décor, a mini bar, coffee / tea making facility and an extremely comfortable King bed with free bathrobe usage. There was also a small complimentary bowl of fresh fruit which provided a nice welcoming touch.

The hotel also provides an excellent breakfast with an extensive choice of hot and cold buffet dishes (including pastries and fresh fruit) which would rate as one of the best breakfast offerings in all our years of travel. The only area of possible improvement with the breakfast is that the food in some of the dishes tended to run out (eg scrambled eggs in particular) and it took prompting of staff (and then time) before the dishes were replenished. As this occurred at two separate breakfasts, I feel staff need to be instructed to be a little more vigilant in monitoring the food output.

There is also a first class restaurant within the hotel (which incorporates an outdoor covered terrace dining area) and offers a wide variety of quality food at reasonable prices.

As the hotel management requests patrons to comment on TripAdvisor about their stay, I have therefore included the following recommended improvements. Besides the minor breakfast issue mentioned above, it was felt that the hotel should have had a brochure that included a map of Lake Garda and also the available ferry services / timetables. Amongst the array of brochures available, there was unfortunately no map of Lake Garda. When we asked about the ferry timetable, the receptionist provided excellent service by going onto the internet and printing off the timetable which was greatly appreciated. We subsequently obtained a brochure at the ferry terminal when purchasing tickets, which detailed both a comprehensive map of Lake Garda and the ferry timetable and it maybe worthwhile for the hotel to obtain a supply of these brochures for their patron’s future usage. Also being a 4 star hotel, I agree with a previous reviewer on TripAdvisor that there should have some form of in-house directory in each room detailing a complete listing of services / facilities available, as if you are unaware of what to enquire about, one can not ask the receptionist.

In conclusion, we had a wonderful stay, with the hotel (including staff) being great in every respect and would certainly return to Hotel Lago di Garda when next in Lake Garda. The only change we would make is to book early and reserve a room with a lake view.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra to obtain a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowoodforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel with my husband, we had a great time there, the staff were very friendly, the food was good and the rooms clean. We would love to go back sometime, maybe next year. We met some really nice people whilst we were there. We loved the whole area round about Torbole.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Dorat, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We've just come home from our stay at Lago di Garda, where we had a wonderful time....but a few negatives too. To begin with we were disappointed to have a room which faced on to other apartments opposite the side of the hotel......from reading other reviews you might have the impression that all the rooms have a lakeside view.....they don't!
The breakfasts were wonderful....too wonderful. We ended up overeating every morning because it was so nice, and there was so much of it. I don't think I've had such a varied selection of breakfast food for a long time.
With regard to the comments made by other reviewers about the heat in the rooms, this has now been remedied.....air-conditioning has been installed.
One thing we hadn't been informed about by reception was the fact that there is actually a roof terrace. We only realised this on day three when I walked along the corridor away from our room and saw it out a window.
The hotel needs to have a booklet in the room informing guests about the facilities available......there is a door on the fourth floor marked 'Solarium and Sauna',but whether this is for all guests use or not I still don't know. (Yes...maybe I should have asked, but personally it was too hot to even think about saunas.........!)
Maybe I sound too negative about the hotel, and I don't mean to be. The hotel was perfectly placed, the staff were very helpful, the room was very clean....large bathroom (but no bath) and the breakfasts were wonderful.
Yes...if I was going back to the north shore of Lake Garda I would probably stay there again, but this time I'd make sure I had a lakeside view.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shonzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLGLORENZO, Direttore at Hotel Lago di Garda, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
Dear guest,
thank you a lot for your positive review.
We are very sorry that you didn't have the view you wanted but you made the reservation for a Relax room which - as you can read on our website and the descriptions on the various booking engines - normally does not have a balcony. We gave you a Relax room PLUS with a balcony.
Anyway we are very sorry and if you want to come back for spending another holiday we will offer you a PANORAMA room which is dotated with a balcony and lake view for the price of a Relax room.
Regarding the terrace we do not make advertisement because ther was no time enough to finish the renovation works. The new terrace should have been a surprise from the year 2012 on.
Regarding the booklet we are a family run Hotel and usually our guests come to the reception and get well informed by our staff. Our staff is available for any informations our guests need.
We hope to see you soon for welcoming you again as our guests and giving you a Panoramic room with a unique Lake View.

Best regards,
the direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

A very central Hotel, with large and immaculate, modernly furnished rooms. The view from our terrace was breathtaking. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice. The complimentary fruit bowl in the room was very much appreciated. Will definetly stay at this hotel next time I will be at Torbole, and will surely not hesitate to recommend Hotel Lago di Garda to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierremalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2011

You'll have a nice terrace :) very nice staff and cheap parking

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cluigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torbole
1.8 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 33 in Torbole
5.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Residence Torbole
Hotel Residence Torbole
#5 of 33 in Torbole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#3 of 33 in Torbole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
9.0 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#4 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lago di Garda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lago di Garda

Property: Hotel Lago di Garda
Address: Via Lungo Lago Conca d'Oro 11, 38069 Torbole, Nago-Torbole, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Nago-Torbole > Torbole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torbole
#1 Spa Hotel in Torbole
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Torbole
#2 Family Hotel in Torbole
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torbole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lago di Garda 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of a fairy-tale scenario, located right on the gorgeous Gulf of Torbole, the Hotel Lago di Garda **** offers a magical atmosphere and views of incredible beauty. In this hotel with an interesting story warmth and friendliness will follow you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lago di Garda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lago Garda Hotel
Lago Garda Torbole Sul
Hotel Lago Di Garda Torbole/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing