We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid like the plague”
Review of Hotel Paradiso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Paradiso
Ranked #33 of 33 Hotels in Torbole
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We stayed at the hotel Paradiso near Torbole on Lake Garda on a package tour with Consort holidays. The hotel is a family run place and quite frankly we now know where the SS escaped to after WW2. The place itself is beautifully situated with fabulous views of the lake. It was clean and well presented and the rooms were fine.

Where this place falls down is the people who run it. Most British who go abroad take a small travelling kettle and this is a capital offence at this hotel. The owners main chant day after day was "No Kettlo, No Kettlo" One of our party took medication which required warm water to take but when she left her kettle on display in her room it was removed without explanation and returned as we departed..

We put ours in a locked case so the owner started switching off the electricity to our room at the fusebox. It was easy to put it back on so he then began putting clear tape over the unlockable box to see if it had been opened. This cat & mouse game went on all week.

Meals could only be described as sparse and were obviously designed to maximise their returns and perhaps to promote the sale of bar snacks. I have never been to a place where the attitude of the staff/owners was so bad towards paying guests. Perhaps they work on the basis that people wont be back. Me, I wouldn't stay there again for free !!

It was so bad I complained to Consort on my return and am still waiting a response. They still send the brocures which go straight into the bin

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2009

Just returned from 3 nights at this hotel as part of a tour. Lovely hotel and food was plentiful and really nice, only downside here is that most rooms do not have balconies although there is access to a sundeck. Hotel has no lift which did cause problems for some people. Hotel is in a lovely position right on the lake and only a 5 minute walk to Torbole centre for supermarket and shops etc. Just a couple of minutes from the hotel are the local ferries to nearby towns which are also on the lake.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2008

We went on an "allocation on arrival", half-board trip to Lake Garda and our hotel was the last one - right at the North end of the lake. We were truly delighted with the position - on the edge of a very nice little town (Torbole) and just the other side of the road from the lake itself. Our room was at the front of the hotel so the views were superb; the traffic in the day was fairly busy, but at night it was very quiet - so no problem. We were just two minutes walk along the lake from the ferry stop, so the whole lake was easily available to us; and Riva was a good walk along a lakeside path (and, in our case, a ferry-ride home).
The area is truly beautiful, and serious walkers reported that it was a joy to walk in. Easily-reached (by ferry) towns around the lake are all well worth a trip, and a day-trip to Venice gave us a well organised taster of this beautiful town. The area has an interisting history; and its beautiful to draw/paint - so many enjoyable pass-times.
The hotel itself was clean and comfortable enough, (although the bathroom was the smallest I have ever had to squeeze into!!) and the food was adequate (it is fair to say that given the bargain price that we paid - it was good value); the town had several good places to eat. It had no lift, which would be an issue if you had mobility problems as there did not appear to be any ground-floor rooms.
The hotel seemed to be family-run, and indeed the management could appear stern if you broke the house rules in even a small way (we arrived a few minutes late for breakfast one day - although the written information in the room stated that we were still within half an hour of breakfast-end - and it was clear that they were cross!!) - but in fairness they worked long hours every day, and on the evenings we stayed in the hotel bar (particulalry the night of some football) we were made to feel at home.
In summary, Hotel Paradiso is a small hotel in a fabulous spot; it is clean and comfortable and provided us with a good base for an enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cardiff-Taff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2007

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel in August.

The location is superb, right on the shore of Lake Garda at the northern end of the lake and a short stroll from the town of Torbole. Stunning views from our room and many others and also from the dining room. Torbole is a small but lovely little town.
The food was adequate but the staff were unwelcoming and unfriendly-peope were told off if they sat in a different place to the previous mealtime!!
The hotel has no lift which caused some of our coach party problems.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bjb60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tanzkira223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank FedeMilly90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Waltraud B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torbole hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Residence Torbole
Hotel Residence Torbole
#5 of 33 in Torbole
362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Caravel
Hotel Caravel
#7 of 33 in Torbole
366 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Alberta
Hotel Villa Alberta
#10 of 33 in Torbole
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
1,230 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#13 of 33 in Torbole
103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lido Blu Surf & Bike
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradiso

Address: Via Lungo Lago Conca D'Oro, 41, 38069 Torbole, Nago-Torbole, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Nago-Torbole > Torbole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 33 Hotels in Torbole
Price Range: £76 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Paradiso 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing