We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July/August 2012”
Review of Hotel del Levante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel del Levante
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Torre Canne
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“July/August 2012”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

A truly great location for a family holiday given the proximity of the seafront to the hotel and poolside. We found pretty much everything to be perfect; food and wine delicious, accommodation clean & spotless and the pool has clearly benefited from some investment so be careful when looking at old pictures on the site! Our kids (7 and 8 years) had a fantastic time. Some minor points to look out for if we're being picky; firstly the Kids Clubs (at least whilst we were there) are very girl-oriented with lots of singing and dancing and secondly I'd say the attitude of the staff is officiously polite without being overly warm and welcoming. We wanted somewhere truly "Italian" and that is exactly what we got so do ensure that you have learned a few phrases before you go!

Room Tip: Make contact in advance via mail or through your travel agent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian186223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    152
    78
    28
    15
See reviews for
190
162
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Well, I read many reviews about this hotel and sincerely I expected an old and sad "beach hotel". So I booked with no enthusiasm a room by booking.com.
But I was pleased to find a place a little old but confortable. The receptionists are professional (except for one not so good) and the facilities are on an avarage level.
The swimming pool is decent and the beach is small but nice enough. What I found very good is the fact that you can walk from you room to the beach in less than 1 min.
The rooms: the hotel is a 5 storey 70 building. One side looks at the sea, the other one faces the parking place. When You book you MUST ask for a room facing the sea because the view is very good and relaxing. All te rooms are "aged" but decent. The Air Conditioning works but ay high speed is noisy. The tv set is good and the bed was confortable.
The bathroom is aged too and a little bit sad but all works.
If you want to stay in a tipical hotel I suggest you to find one of the astonishing "masserie" in the country. If you love to be in front of the sea this hotel is good.

Room Tip: absolutely ask for a room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sedicivalcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

On a positive note-the pool area and beach were very nice, and the reception and bar staff was very polite. That's where the positives end.

We found the restaurant staff and some of the housekeeping staff to be rude. One one occasion, we walked into the restaurant and were sat by a waitress. Then a waiter came over and very rudely told us we couldn't sit at that table because it was reserved and demanded that we moved. I told him that the waitress sat us down, and then he changed his tune. I have no issue with moving to another table, but I have an issue with his attitude and rudeness.All this, and the breakfast was not very good. On another occasion, the housekeeping staff came into our room very early on the day we were to check out. We told them (in Italian, no less) that we were checking out at 10am and asked them to clean the room after we left.Yet the same person unlocked out door a bit later to try and clean our room. They seemed to be keen on doing as they please. On another note- the "air conditioning" is Italian air conditioning, meaning it's not very strong at all.

Room Tip: close the bathroom door in your room- it will help with the "AC"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank franniefran12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Its everything you could hope for in a seafront hotel. The pool was under-used as the beach was so nice. It is beautifully sandy and the sea is very shallow for quite a long way out. There are a few rocks but you can soon find the best way in and out. The public beach next door can get extremely crowded especially at weekends and its quite noisy with the chatter of people so don't go there if you are looking for peace and quiet!
Another reviewer stated that Torre Canne is better looked at from a distance, we did walk into the town one afternoon and there was little to recommend it. I understand that there are plans to redevelop some of the seafront around the tower which will make it quite a feature.
You need to hire a car as there are some lovely places to visit within half an hour.
The village of Alberobello with the small white trulli houses is a must see. There is also the huge cave complex of Grotte de Castellana. We spent 1 hour and 45 minutes on the 3km tour and the stalactites and stalagmites were quite incredible. There are also plenty of other towns like Cisternino, Ostuni and Martina Franca which are interesting to stroll around. A few miles up the coast from Torre Canne there are the roman ruins of Egnathia and an interesting museum to look around. There are also plenty of little rocky bays in which to go for a swim in this area.
Its a great place for a holiday, the staff are friendly and efficent.
During my stay I noticed that the guests were mostly older Italians though the hotel seems to able to cope well with a variety of nationalities.
The food was good and if you want to go out in the evening you can change over and have a lunch.
My tip would be pay more and have a room with a sea view, the sunrise in the morning and the lovely view will make for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quiller810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Ok, the bad bits first:
# The hotels air conditioning was poor. We got the engineer out and he said it was fine but we boiled in our room every night, which to be honest was a real problem.
# Torre Canne is VERY POPULAR With Italians and so the beach gets really, really crowded and quite lively.
# The guests are 90% Italian Oldies, which we were fine about - but if you are a youngster, it could be an issue.
# Getting in and out of the sea can be a bit tricky because there are some rocks, but once you've figured your route out, it's fine.
# Rooms with a sea view get the extra benefit of loud music until 11:30pm each night
The good bits:
# The hotel is really clean and bright. It looks freshly done over and the staff are friendly with one or two English speaking.
# It's right on the beach, with plenty of sun beds and acres of blue sky and hot sun (fab!)
# The food is a curious mix - some of it (well most of it actually) was really good, with some lovely pasta dishes. The problem was that they couldn't seem to get a whole meal right. We had some very iffy dishes - a fish dish that was terrible. On the whole though it was great - all waiter served too, which is a nice touch.
# The rooms are 'ok'. They are clean and functional and the sea views are amazing, but they have this weird thing were some rooms don't have balconies and due to a mix up with Citalia, we had a room with a view, but no balcony - which just feels odd with a holiday hotel.
# We liked our stay at Del Levante, but it was marred some by the lack of air con (we actually left for four days!, because we got sick of not being able to sleep) and the mix up over our room allocation (which want the hotels fault in fact). Nice place but, unfortunately we wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andybrown999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Just back from a 2 week stay in Del Levante (June 2012). It was all we thought it would be from reading previous reports. Rooms clean, tidy, beds good and firm. The view from our balcony was fantastic! The blue sea, The Port, The beach.
Pool great size and clean. Beach was good with warm water. Staff there to put up your loungers and parasol. The local windsurfing school next door, very friendly.
Dinning room. Excellent. All locally sourced ingredients, so a real treat and change. Be warned though, I never saw a Hamburger, Hot dog, French Fry or fish finger the entire time. There is a Pizza place next door though.
We will be going back

Room Tip: You need a car. You need to "Try some Italian". This is a real old Italian, unspoilt town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob_S_York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed three nights and really got well tanned as there was a good breeze to keep you cool. Very pleasant hotel and we upgraded ourselves to a room facing the sea with magnificent views of the coast and town of Torre Canne. Very efficiently run with masses of sun beds, deckchairs, umbrellas and very willing staff to help you to where you want to sit - by the beach, under the trees, by the pool (only 5 foot deep). Food was excellent locally prepared and dining staff also very efficient. There was an excellent pizza and light lunch area, overlooking the sea, but was underused - perhaps too breezey. This is a seaside hotel with not a lot else to do (see the Trulli houses and the extensive caves) apart from walking up and down the beach and having a lazy time. The village of Torre Canne has nothing special to offer - looks better from a distance.

Room Tip: The hotel has two sides - the sea and the 'garden', i.e.the carpark! So choose the sea ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rumlimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torre Canne
0.1 mi away
Canne Bianche Lifestyle & Hotel
0.2 mi away
GranSerena Hotel
GranSerena Hotel
#2 of 5 in Torre Canne
1,272 reviews
5.1 mi away
Borgo Egnazia
Borgo Egnazia
#2 of 6 in Savelletri
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Pietrablu Resort & Spa CDSHotels
Pietrablu Resort & Spa CDSHotels
#2 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
2,008 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eden Beach Club
Eden Beach Club
#5 of 5 in Torre Canne
76 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ostuni Rosa Marina Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Levante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Levante

Property: Hotel del Levante
Address: Via Appia Antica 20-22, 72015 Torre Canne, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Torre Canne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torre Canne
#3 Family Hotel in Torre Canne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torre Canne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Levante 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel del Levante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Levante Hotel
Del Levante Torre Canne
Hotel Del Levante Puglia/Torre Canne, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing