We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday!”
Review of Hotel del Levante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel del Levante
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Torre Canne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Hotel Del Levante in Torre Canne. We are a family of 4 - 2 adults, 2 children ages just-turned-two and nearly 5. We stayed on a half board basis.

THe hotel is spotlessly clean and they have an army of cleaners who seem to be active all day. Our room was comfortable and spacious enough, even with 4 beds in. Ours was a sea view room and the view was lovely. We didn't have a balcony but there was a communal laundry drying area on the other side of the corridor where we could dry our cossies and towels. The only downside about the room was the air con. It was rubbish. Our first week the weather was scorching and the air con just couldn't cut it. The second week it cooled to 27-30 degrees and the air con coped better, but only if we kept the shutters firmly shut (blocking out the sea view!) and kept it at 10 degrees round the clock. Even then it was warm in our room. We asked for a fan but it never materialised... The bathroom had a shower only, no bath which is fine but not ideal if your children are younger than ours.

The restaurant staff were lovely and helpful, the restaurant was well presented BUT the food was mediocre. It was fresh enough, but v hit and miss on quality. Seafood dishes seemed to be the most successful but the pasta ranged from soggy to harder than al dente verging on raw. If you're vegetarian you don't stand a chance unless you're happy eating omlette and salad every day! Some dishes were a disaster - tagliatelle with beetroot, pistacchio and mint is as wrong as it sounds! but the semolina gnocchi were lovely. The children were very happy as there was a variation on pasta in a tomato sauce every day, and ice cream and fruit for pudding. Minor gripe was that breakfast was a buffet from 7:30-9:30 and at 9:40 they start clearing up, which often meant our late-sleeping, slow-eating little ones didn't have a chance to select what they wanted from the buffet.

We didn't eat at the hotel's pizza bar but we did venture next door to Il Brace several times which was cheaper and delicious.

Swimming pool and beach are manned by a lifeguards who helpfully sort you out with sunloungers and umbrellas. There's a stash of inflatables for collective use, which was a nice touch. And the children loved the trampoline and slides in the children's playground.

Too far to walk into Torre Canne (with little ones, anyway) so a car is a must, especially if you want to see the local sights otherwise you'll pay through the nose for the hotel to arrange transportation.

It was our first hotel holiday with the children and I'd definitely do it again. Hotel Del Levante was great!

Room Tip: Higher floors will shield your ears (marginally!) from the very loud music in the evening!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EAKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

Apart from being stylish, well-run and having delicious cuisine, this hotel deserves a mention for its excellent service alone. Nothing was ever too much trouble or done without a feeling that the staff really enjoyed looking after you.

This was a trip to celebrate my cousin's 60th birthday and we requested a birthday cake to be presented after dinner on the Thursday evening. A most beautiful cake duly arrived with a bottle of Prosecco. As we left the Restaurant Manager wished my cousin a happy birthday and told us that the cake and the Prosecco were on the house. Even if we had been billed we would have been delighted with the way that they responded to our request. We were overwhelmed by this lovely gesture.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothykipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed here from 1st to 11th of September 2012.
We had an afternoon flight arriving at the hotel around 9pm. As the dining room was closed, we were given a nice buffet in our room. The room was on the first floor with a terrace looking out across the gardens towards the sea. The room itself was clean and tidy with adequate storage for clothes etc. However it would have benefitted from an electric point near the mirror and also a room safe (Free safes were available behind reception).Unfortunately the air conditioning was not very effective rarely getting the temperature below 25C.The bathroom had a small bath with shower and also a bidet.
The hotel itself was spotlessly clean as were both pools and the beach (the pool surround mentioned in previous reviews has been replaced).The staff overall were efficent but not overly friendly, possibly due to language difficulties.
The breakfast buffet was excellent with plenty of choice to suit most tastes. The dinner menu however was very basic. Most of the pasta dishes were fine but other dishes were substandard with some being the worst we have ever eaten in our many visits to Italy.
We tried to arrange trips through the Hotel, the problem being that you needed a minium of six people before they could validate the trip.This meant that you did not know on what day the trip was going to happen. We eventually managed to arrange trips with a local taxi driver for a better price.
Torre Canne is approximately 15 mins walk along the beach or 30 mins walk along the road. There is very little of interest there other than the lighthouse and a short promenade.A few cafes and not much else.In the centre of the town is an ice cream parlour which is excellent.
There is also a nice restaurant next to the hotel car park specialising in seafood that is good value for money.
Overall the hotel is as described in the brochure. It caters mainly for Italians with a few British and other nationalities.It is ideally situated for a beach holiday,catering for young families and also elderly people.
We enjoyed our stay but found it difficult to get around without a car.We would advise a basic knowledge of Italian or else a good phrase book, as very few people in this region speak English.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a sea facing terrace. Some rooms however (although they have a balcony), it is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AnneCavtat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

For a simple break where hotel is not the main focus this ticked all of the boxes it provided clean and tidy rooms with kind, friendly, polite and accomodating staff. The location is excellent situated on the beach front you are a couple of steps away from a dip in the hotel pool to a plunge into the beautiful Agean sea. At night the balmy weather provides a comfortable warm walk of around a mile along the coast to the bars and restaurants of nearby Torre Canne.

Hiring a car is an absolute must to really complete a super break exploring the nearby towns of Fasano and in particular Ostuni, you will not be disappointed with their rustic beauty.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johnny8oy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Good hotel, good food, good staff, clean, hot in July, need car if touring although hotel organise tours, not an 18 - 30s hotel if you like discos all night. Quiet by 11.30 which was fine for us (4 young children) Young family hotel + older couples. Very good 'kids club' with enthusiastic staff. Sea view rooms with balcony best. Rear rooms overlook car park. Children safe environment. Busy beach but hotel has private area. Lots to see in area. Nice holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

A truly great location for a family holiday given the proximity of the seafront to the hotel and poolside. We found pretty much everything to be perfect; food and wine delicious, accommodation clean & spotless and the pool has clearly benefited from some investment so be careful when looking at old pictures on the site! Our kids (7 and 8 years) had a fantastic time. Some minor points to look out for if we're being picky; firstly the Kids Clubs (at least whilst we were there) are very girl-oriented with lots of singing and dancing and secondly I'd say the attitude of the staff is officiously polite without being overly warm and welcoming. We wanted somewhere truly "Italian" and that is exactly what we got so do ensure that you have learned a few phrases before you go!

Room Tip: Make contact in advance via mail or through your travel agent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian186223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Well, I read many reviews about this hotel and sincerely I expected an old and sad "beach hotel". So I booked with no enthusiasm a room by booking.com.
But I was pleased to find a place a little old but confortable. The receptionists are professional (except for one not so good) and the facilities are on an avarage level.
The swimming pool is decent and the beach is small but nice enough. What I found very good is the fact that you can walk from you room to the beach in less than 1 min.
The rooms: the hotel is a 5 storey 70 building. One side looks at the sea, the other one faces the parking place. When You book you MUST ask for a room facing the sea because the view is very good and relaxing. All te rooms are "aged" but decent. The Air Conditioning works but ay high speed is noisy. The tv set is good and the bed was confortable.
The bathroom is aged too and a little bit sad but all works.
If you want to stay in a tipical hotel I suggest you to find one of the astonishing "masserie" in the country. If you love to be in front of the sea this hotel is good.

Room Tip: absolutely ask for a room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sedicivalcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torre Canne
0.1 mi away
Canne Bianche Lifestyle & Hotel
0.5 mi away
Eden Beach Club
Eden Beach Club
#5 of 5 in Torre Canne
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
GranSerena Hotel
GranSerena Hotel
#2 of 5 in Torre Canne
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Borgo Egnazia
Borgo Egnazia
#2 of 6 in Savelletri
1,349 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ostuni Rosa Marina Resort
8.0 mi away
Sierra Silvana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Levante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Levante

Address: Via Appia Antica 20-22, 72015 Torre Canne, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Torre Canne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torre Canne
#3 Family Hotel in Torre Canne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torre Canne
Price Range: £82 - £878 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Levante 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel del Levante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Levante Hotel
Del Levante Torre Canne
Hotel Del Levante Puglia/Torre Canne, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing