We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“K & M wedding”
Review of Hotel del Levante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel del Levante
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Torre Canne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My youngest daughter had her dream beach wedding down the road @ the Coccaro beach club, but the majority of our wedding party chose Hotel de Levante as our base, and what a good choice it was. Apart from the one gripe about a room smelling constantly of cigarette smoke, we all a a great time. The cleaners maintained the rooms and corridors to a high standard. I would recommend just bed and breakfast. The buffet breakfast accommodated all tastes, but those who chose the evening meals said the food was a bit hit and miss. There is a pizza restaurant within the hotel complex which satisfied many of our party, but there were also 2 restaurants just yards from the entrance to the hotel. I would highly recommend Dubonnet, food and service was superb.
Back to the hotel, the private beach and pool area was excellent. The entertainment staff did their best to involve everyone, children and adults alike. Those who opted for a quite rest were left to enjoy the sun. The hotel was a 15 min walk from the local fishing village, and around an hour's drive from Bari airport. This felt like true Italy, warm friendly hospitality, of the usual British tourist route, but certainly worthy of a return visit.

Room Tip: Our room 218, classed as a superior room had ample space for two, with a large balcony area overlook...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KDwed2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
There are newer reviews for Hotel del Levante
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here recently and what a find. Hotel is spotlessly clean and also the pool and private beach areas. Staff were all very friendly and helpful could not fault them at all. Animation team did a great job activities there if you wanted to take part. Breakfast was a continental buffet and was perfectly adequate to start the day, pool bar/restaurant was great for lunch time. Slightly disappointed in Torre Canne itself but the Hotel defiantly made up for this. We had a room with a sea view and balcony and was worth paying the extra for this. Was not on an evening meal basis so cannot comment on this. We travelled with teenagers but would recommend the hotel for kids of any age as always lots going on. Loved our stay here and would go back.

Room Tip: Sea View worth paying extra for
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SusC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capo_RicevimentoVM, Reception at Hotel del Levante, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016

Thank you very much for this 5 star review!

Our guests’ satisfaction is what motivates our team to keep on providing outstanding service and offering such personal attention to our guests. So, you can be sure that I will share your appraisal with our team.

As breakfast is undoubtedly the most important meal of the day, we attach great importance to a various selection of quality.

We hope you had a great time in Puglia and that you'll come back soon.
Best wishes from Hotel del Levante!

Antonella Rotolo
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

On arrival we were disappointed with our sea view room with no balcony, booked via Citalia Holidays. However after showing us two other rooms we paid extra for a sea view room with terrace and had bed made into a double. The hotel was spotlessly clean, staff and service were very good,helpful and the food of a very good standard. The only thing we thought let it down was the evening entertainment and only one outdoor bar during the evening. It is a big hotel we feel the bar by the sea would have been a lovely evening location. You definately need a car and would highly recommend a visit to Salveletri (6km from hotel). Oustini and and Alberabello.

Room Tip: Its worth paying extra for a sea view with balcony or terrace, (with sunbeds)
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gumnutsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Never stay here, the hotel will try to rip you off. After paying 2000 euro for a week up front, the hotel charges extra 15 euro for towels to the pool pr day. The rooms are dirty and smells smoke when it's a no smoking room... Wifi is not included. When you book a rom for 3 persons you only get one bed and you need a extra upgrade for the 7yr Child to get a bed to sleep in.

This hotel is a 1 star hotel that charges you as a 5 star hotel.

It's a ridiculously hotel for very old people.

The staff is not any helpful, possible due to that they are trained to try to charge you extra or sell up to a bigger room paying extra.

We will never stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014
7  Thank espenOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

What an excellent 4* hotel. Always clean and tidy as were the staff. Had room with large balcony ( well worth paying extra) and tremendous views of sea, sand, pool, and Torre Canne. Food was good, not very adventurous, but easy to eat (plenty of salads but little veg). Good local wine available. If you want a non British atmosphere where the majority of people are Italian, then go here. Very pleasant walk along beach takes you into town but do stop at the beach bar.
We had a hire car from airport and found that it took less than an hour. Do visit some local towns: particularly Ostuna (old Town), Trulli houses, Lecce. Good roads and easy parking.

Room Tip: Have a balcony to sit out. Sun there from mid-day. All this type are sea views.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Clean, modern with friendly staff. Food typical for area, restaurant a little unadventurous. Interesting that they don't use garlic! Can understand some UK visitors may not appreciate very Italian cooking which, in this area, is very different from the centre and North. Hotel is 15 mins from Torre Canne by sandy beach and 30 mins by foot on road. Yes, you definitely need a car, unless you're in one of the German Coach parties. Landscape mainly flat, covered (largely) by Olive Groves (Puglia produces 28% of Italy's Olives.) Olive oil in Hotel disappointing! Wonderful villages/small towns to visit, Trulli everywhere, especially, naturally, Alberobello. Don't miss Ostuni and Lecce - great places to visit. From mid-June expect 30C + = very hot! Air-con in rooms struggles.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeL80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just returned from this lovely hotel on the Puglia Coast
The pros
My friend and I had a double room each on the first floor with a balcony which overlooked the restaurant roof and in the distance the children's playground..it was very very quiet so we enjoyed it immensely.
The hotel was spotless you could eat off the floor.
The rooms had a small fridge stocked with spirits, beer and soft drinks even a bottle opener.
The beds were changed regularly. A bone of contention of one previous review was that the "towels " in the bathroom were glorified tea towels.
They were but the waffle type towel was surprisingly efficient.and despite my efforts to indicate that I was prepared to use it at least one more day by hanging up , the towels were changed every day.
I took my own beach towels for outside, as to hire the hotels towels (proper towels) would be 4 euro a day if you handed them back each day. But some guests actually held on to them until they were too dirty to be used any more.
In the bathroom there was a hair dryer, a small shampoo and shower gel, with shower cap.
There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the bedrooms.
A small television with just one English Channel BBC world news, the rest were Italian and even English spoken films or television programmes were dubbed rather than subtitled. As the hotel has a lot of German , Austrian and Swiss guests in coach parties there were German , Italian and French channels were available
There is one lift for the whole hotel.
Despite there is a bus stop outside the entrance at the time of our visit no public transport was available so unless you are in a coach party, a car is a must.
Torre canne was about a 20 min walk along the beach and about 30 mins by the road. There is a market from 4 pm on a Sunday and on the Sunday we were going the heavens opened , but when it cleared up we walked to the town to find no market. Apparently we learned that the stall holders packed their stuff as it was a washout.
As we visited early in the season a lot of places were not open.
But as the holiday progressed the area started to come alive, especially at the weekend where the local population would arrive like we would in England for a day out aft the seaside.
The swimming pool was superb and plenty of sun beds and a very attentive pool staff.
Everyone was polite and couldn't do enough for you.
There were a lot of comments about the food on here.
I found the continental breakfast which was a buffet style very comprehensive, from cereals, yogurts, croissants to die for, toast boiled eggs hard I'm afraid, fried eggs, fresh fruit, several types of cakes, cheeses ham, fruit juices. If your expecting a British fry up your going to be disappointed. But if requested they will make you a fresh omelette.
On a couple of photos it looks as though you could have eaten your breakfast outside, but it would not be waiter service.
We were half board and could have chosen a lunch time menu or the evening meal, which they liked you to choose at breakfast.
My friend and I had no problem choosing from a four course meal, and sometimes declined the salad which was the first course, then a starters in the shape of a soup, or pasta dish or a similar type dish. Then the main course which included a fish dish, a meat dish a vegetarian option or again a pasta main meal. Then lastly a dessert.
If you bought a bottle of wine they would recork each night until you had finished the bottle.
We learnt that you can drink the local water so we had a carafe of tap water filled with ice every night. Free.
If we found that we didn't fancy any of the main menu they would suggest a dish that we would be interested. Like sea bass or giant prawns,. Or you could choose off the lunchtime menu to eat in the evening.
Next door there was a pizzeria and fish restaurant which we went a couple of lunch times.
There was also a local shop which sells lots of snacks, rolls. Ham and cheese etiquette
Further hundred yards down the road towards the town was a local bread shop which also sold slices of pizza to a size you required, cold drinks, biscuits and of course local rolls and bread all made on the premises.
Entertainment in the hotel for the evening was limited, but after our long evening meal it was too late to walk into town, we were too tired.
The downside for me was we had to pay for wifi and. Didn't find it that cheap. 2€ for 30 mins and 60 mins 3 € with option up to a week for 35 €
The 30 min and 60 mins you had to be careful. Because if you closed it down before your mins were up and tried to reopen to use up your mins, you lost the remaining mins. I booked 24 hours for 9 € and could use when I wanted.
As we didn't have a car and did not belong to a coach party we shared a taxi with another English couple that took Us to Aberreolla and the Castellana grotto for 45€ each.
For the rest of the time we chilled round the pool.
All in all I really enjoyed my stay,

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
11  Thank Carolg1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mimma l, Direttore at Hotel del Levante, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your choice and thank you for your description of hotel and area.
About the lift I want to say that we have 2 in hotel. One is near the stairs that reach the rooms and another one near the exit door, both renovated last year.
Grazie
Mimma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torre Canne
0.1 mi away
Canne Bianche Lifestyle & Hotel
0.5 mi away
Eden Beach Club
Eden Beach Club
#5 of 5 in Torre Canne
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
GranSerena Hotel
GranSerena Hotel
#2 of 5 in Torre Canne
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Ostuni Rosa Marina Resort
5.1 mi away
Borgo Egnazia
Borgo Egnazia
#2 of 6 in Savelletri
1,320 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sierra Silvana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Levante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Levante

Address: Via Appia Antica 20-22, 72015 Torre Canne, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Torre Canne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torre Canne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torre Canne
#3 Family Hotel in Torre Canne
Price Range: £98 - £849 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Levante 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel del Levante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Levante Hotel
Del Levante Torre Canne
Hotel Del Levante Puglia/Torre Canne, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing