We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended by all locals we met and not disappointed”
Review of Al Pinturicchio

Al Pinturicchio
Ranked #9 of 132 Restaurants in Tropea
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kennesaw
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Recommended by all locals we met and not disappointed”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Food, wine, service very good and we enjoyed watching the amount of locals waiting for pizza to go and inside the restaurant. Definitely got a 'local' vibe here which we love. If you are in Tropea - must try,

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingSparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    328
    112
    35
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kennesaw
Level Contributor
229 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Recommended by our Hotel”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

As soon as we arrived at the hotel, they recommended that any trip to Tropea HAD to include a visit here!! Not easy to find, especially if driving, but once there everything about it was absolutely wonderful. The ambiance, the service and of course, the food were all first class.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, SC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Sorry I didn't Get Pizza”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I think one of the reviews stated poor selection except for Pizza. I agree but maybe just average selection. A number of what appeared to be locals were eating pizza which looked quite good. We ordered their fish special which I found to be somewhat disappointing. A group of 4 next to us were also having the fish special we had. I wonder what they thought of it? Service was just average. Server was not particularly engaging but the restaurant was busy and that might be taken into consideration.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mjd5547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great introduction to Calabrian cuisine”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A group of us arrived In Tropea after travelling for 18 hours. Our wonderful tour guide, Tania Pascuzzi, took us to Al Pinturicchio for our first introduction to Calabrian cuisine. We were hungry and tired but this restaurant completely restored our spirits. We enjoyed a fabulous selection of antipasti, a number of them featuring the amazing cipolla onions for which this region is famous. The eggplant was also outstanding, as was the octopus. The restaurant was very busy since it was the Easter weekend but the service was excellent. The location is a little bit hidden but this pretty restaurant in a brick ceilinged cellar is well worth searching out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank muskoka_canadaSwooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant We Tried”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was our favourite restaurant in Tropea and I have never had a better Tuna steak anywhere I've visited!
The restaurant is quite compact so you must either arrive a little early or be prepared to queue! We visited the restaurant twice and on our final visit on Good Friday the place was absolutely packed but the service was as excellent as it was on the other evening when it was a little quieter. The food was excellent - the pizzas were outstanding - their pizza bases were incredibly tasty and the toppings were wonderful. Good though their pizza was the best two dishes I had were the aforementioned tuna steak which was so flavoursome, well cooked and tender it was top of the premier league of tuna steaks! My swordfish pasta was also outstanding, so much flavour and wonderful pasta. The Calabrain wine was very good and the restaurant was very good value.
Whatever you do, if you go to Tropea visit this restaurant!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bow-Seat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Pinturicchio also viewed

Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
 
Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
 
Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia
 

Been to Al Pinturicchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing