We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stunning location and a very special & memorable week”
Review of Villa Giada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Giada
Ranked #18 of 72 Tropea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A stunning location and a very special & memorable week”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

As owners of Pura Vida Ecolodge (a small eco-luxury retreat in Costa Rica) we are very familiar with how important location and the overall 'holiday experience' is when abroad, on vacation and trying to unwind. Villa Giada is a great little B&B right on the beach, exactly as pictured (the photos don't really do it justice) as you only really get the wonderful feeling of its location once you arrive! The villa and its rooms were clean and cozy, we had actually taken most of the rooms as we were a large group there for my wedding (friends & family)... The garden is really pretty and being able to swim in the sea and then pop back to the villa was perfect for our group. Anna & Massimmo (the couple that run the place) were friendly and helpful both during our stay and throughout the booking process. What a magical week - I'd also definitely recommend the restaurant Tropical next door, where we all ate many times! And the sun setting right behind Stromboli was unforgettable.

Room Tip: Personally, I think paying a little extra for one of the rooms that overlook the garden and sea is w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JoeLasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    28
    4
    9
    2
See reviews for
33
54
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We loved this charming hotel nestled right on the beach, the parking was so convenient, drive in and park within the gates of the hotel grounds. We had a delightful upstairs room with a generous balcony looking straight out to the beach, looking across the deck chairs on the lawn.
The room was spacious, the bathroom modern and clean. A great location to wander up the steps to the old town, or chill out at the beach, doesn't get too much better than this!
We would highly recommend, ideal being so close to the old town, but just a little away from the crowds

Room Tip: We would highly recommend the upstairs room with large balcony, 7 or 8?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KiwiTravellers008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Villa Giada is in a prime spot on a beautiful section of the Southern Italian coast. The restored hotel is full of charm, with high-ceilinged rooms, beautiful verandas (particularly the two upstairs rooms), hardwood floors and a nice breakfast. I can't say enough about how helpful Massimo and his staff were, both during and after our stay. I left my tablet computer at the hotel, and Massimo went above and beyond to make sure it was safely returned to me. There is also a great beachfront restaurant right next door with affordable, fresh seafood and salads -- perfect for lunch on a hot day! I hope to return in the future. -Erin (Seattle, WA)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NWTravelingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

excellent restaurant to the left of the hotel. the place is paradise! thank you for your great service! nice walk into town. nice shops. great views. big room. wonderful staff. great views from the restaurants in town.
Julia Schiavone

Room Tip: we had the sea view it was beautiful with a nice terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank babydoll831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelnow0812
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2013

this charming hotel is located a few steps from a beautiful clean sandy beach. The upstairs rooms have balconies framed in greenery, looking out to the sea. While some of the furnishings are dated, it is very clean, the owners are very helpful and professional, and the breakfast on the outdoor patio is wonderful. In addition, we had secure, free parking, and slept to the sound of the waves. Not to be missed: the beach restaurant just outside the hotel's beach gate is surprisingly good and affordable. Try the octopus salad, or any of the fish dishes, with a cold beer you have a day in heaven!

Room Tip: definitely ask for an upstairs balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank travelnow0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed here during a holiday to the Amalfi Coast and Sicily. We rented a car and after a few days on the Amalfi Coast drove via Tropea to Sicily, staying at Villa Giada. Easy to find down by the beach and within easy walking distance of the old town restaurants (but many steps). We enjoyed it so much that we booked a stay on the return trip to Naples airport. The rooms and breakfast were very good and parking spaces were available inside the gate.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJJPFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed for two nights in Villa Giada in September. It was already off season there, but Tropea was still filled with tourists and the beach huts were open. The Villa has a beautiful garden and the breakfast was served on a terrace facing garden. Our room was on the first floor and we had a balcony towards garden. If you get a room higher up, you will have a seaview! The room had old, but tasteful furniture and had room enough for two of us. Actually we had an extra bed there too, so the room was originally for three persons. You could reach the beach by just going out of the back garden gate and have a look at Stromboli. As for parking, the Villa has parking lots in its secured court. I am definitively going back some time and recommend warmly this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluebellsloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tropea hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
#1 of 21 in Tropea
240 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Village Eden
Hotel Village Eden
#2 of 21 in Tropea
489 reviews
1.1 mi away
OldWell Hotel
OldWell Hotel
#4 of 21 in Tropea
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tropis Hotel
Tropis Hotel
#5 of 21 in Tropea
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
LABRANDA Rocca Nettuno Tropea
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa La Porta Del Mare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Giada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Giada

Property: Villa Giada
Address: Via Marina del Convento SNC, 89861 Tropea, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Tropea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Tropea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Giada is a small bed and breakfast, directly in the sea, and it is surrounded by a large garden that opens directly onto the sea, with lush Mediterranean vegetation. The garden is equipped with chairs and tables available to customers.Villa Giada enjoys a privileged location, between the sea of Tropea and the historical centre of this marvellous Calabrian town. The advantage of having to close one of the most beautiful beaches in Italy, if d you can then add the benefit of proximity with all services and comforts of a resort unique. In addition, after a day of seaside holiday, to accept your return you will be dining in the shade, if seated at a table or lying on one of the many chairs scattered here and there in the wonderful garden of the villa. Take advantage of Green Palm trees, baobab and cocoa plants, in an atmosphere of holiday that has few equals in Tropea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Villa Giada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Giada Tropea, Calabria, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing