We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will (hopefully) be back”
Review of Villa Giada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Giada
Ranked #21 of 77 Tropea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Giada. Admittedly we had one of the best rooms on the first floor, booked well in advance to make sure, and had only friendly staff to contend with. (Completely different experience to MalvernDumper).

Massimo was always helpful and the two ladies who help, Tina and Dina, were such characters. They don't speak English and we don't speak Italian, but with my phrase book we managed to communicate and even make each other laugh. NB if you don't speak Italian a phrase book will be very useful in Tropea as it is a little off the beaten track of tourism. The VG is definitely only a B&B so no bar and although breakfast is absolutely fine I would have liked some fresh fruit to go with it.
Of course, one could buy that in town and keep it in the fridge in your room.

The beach in front of VG is lovely and with a very good restaurant next door (Lido Tropical) you really don't have to move far from your sun lounger for an ideal beach holiday ....

Wonderful views out to sea with Stromboli in the distance, we actually saw clouds of smoke (or is it vapour) coming from the summit on our last day - very exciting! And the sunsets were glorious.

We will certainly return to Tropea and the Villa Giada, hopefully next year.

Room Tip: Rooms 7 and 8 face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandd395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had a lovely upstairs room with a view of the garden. It is a well located beach home away from the bustle of tourists in the town. Good parking, with restaurants in close walking distance. What more can you want?!

Room Tip: An upstairs room with a balcony is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Deeeffbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

It cost a fortune to get to this Hotel from the UK with two flights via Milan and then a 90 euro taxi and so it was with amazement and horror that we were greeted by a staff member who simply shouted that we could not have more than 4 people in the room .(as we has booked as 3 people we found this totally bizarre)

The expected room with a balcony/terrace/ view turned out to be a side room with no view apart from the back of parked cars. This really is a place that charges a lot of money for its prime asset - a great location. DO NOT BOOK unless you are sure which room you are getting.- Rooms 1 to 4 are not great.

The staff member who greeted us so badly continued to be unpleasant throughout our stay - guests were clearly people who annoyed her and spoilt her day ; the friendly and helpful Manager, Massimo, apologized but did not seem surprised at my comments

We had Room 1 - dark, smelly and in desperate need of refurbishment- as is much of the place. The fittings are cheap and poor . Breakfast is fine as far as it goes - it is just basic !
The rooms with a balcony or terrace are clearly worth the money - and make the most of the superb location right on the beach - and the lovely gardens.

Tropea is a little gem - it is easy enough to walk up into town for some great value restaurants and shopping but it is so much easier just to eat and drink at the Bars and Restaurants on the beach each side of the gate into the garden. The beach vendors wander up and down offering an array of products - and some great value clothes !

Our stay is a perfect example of how what should have been a great stay - worthy of all the rave reviews that have been posted - was ruined by one aggressive staff member and being allocated a poorly located room. Had we been greeted at least politely and been given the expected room, this review would no doubt have been better

The owners do not live locally and now seem to be "milking" the B & B (the lack of staff cover for most of the day and night preclude this from being a Hotel) by charging a high price without investing the money that is desperately needed to update the rooms and facilities.

By all means , book and enjoy a lovely spot - but make sure you get the Room you expect.

Travel to and from Tropea is best by hiring a car - the train from Lamezia (free shuttle bus from the airport) is very cheap but there are no taxis at the Station to get you to the Villa which is a long and challenging walk with suitcases. Beware the roads - and don't try and hurry !

Massimo , the Manager, has a good local taxi but timings can be a touch relaxed !!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 4 are side - no view - very dark - can be noisy from parked cars and smelly from Drains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalvernDumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Giada T, Proprietario at Villa Giada, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Good morning.
I'm, with my family, Villa Giada's owner.
As you said, we don't live locally but we are very often in Tropea. It was a pitty nobody of us was there during your stay.
I can assure you that we are not "milking" at anything. Every year we invest to make VG better. I'm also a bit offended for this sentence that I read on you review.

By the way.
You are right. Villa Giada is not an hotel. it is a B&B.
The person that wecomed you doesn't speak english so probably It was a matter of misunderstanding, as Massimo told you.

You booked a standard room and you had a standard room. Everybody can see pictures here and make a judgement about the conditions of our rooms and facilities. As everybod can notice, pictures are mostly made with a mobile phone with no photoshop treatment. Sea view rooms are for sure more fascinating. And they have a different rate, pointed out in every website that contains infos about VG.
In Vg you can find juices, coffe, yoghurt, cereals, jam, ham, salame, cheese, vegetables, eggs, bacon. Many clients in the past years suggested to improve our breakfast, that was actually basic some years ago. We are opened to every suggestion that our guests have for us, and we are happy to notice that our frequent clients noticed the improvement, as you can also read here on Tripadvisor.

Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

As owners of Pura Vida Ecolodge (a small eco-luxury retreat in Costa Rica) we are very familiar with how important location and the overall 'holiday experience' is when abroad, on vacation and trying to unwind. Villa Giada is a great little B&B right on the beach, exactly as pictured (the photos don't really do it justice) as you only really get the wonderful feeling of its location once you arrive! The villa and its rooms were clean and cozy, we had actually taken most of the rooms as we were a large group there for my wedding (friends & family)... The garden is really pretty and being able to swim in the sea and then pop back to the villa was perfect for our group. Anna & Massimmo (the couple that run the place) were friendly and helpful both during our stay and throughout the booking process. What a magical week - I'd also definitely recommend the restaurant Tropical next door, where we all ate many times! And the sun setting right behind Stromboli was unforgettable.

Room Tip: Personally, I think paying a little extra for one of the rooms that overlook the garden and sea is w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JoeLasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We loved this charming hotel nestled right on the beach, the parking was so convenient, drive in and park within the gates of the hotel grounds. We had a delightful upstairs room with a generous balcony looking straight out to the beach, looking across the deck chairs on the lawn.
The room was spacious, the bathroom modern and clean. A great location to wander up the steps to the old town, or chill out at the beach, doesn't get too much better than this!
We would highly recommend, ideal being so close to the old town, but just a little away from the crowds

Room Tip: We would highly recommend the upstairs room with large balcony, 7 or 8?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KiwiTravellers008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Villa Giada is in a prime spot on a beautiful section of the Southern Italian coast. The restored hotel is full of charm, with high-ceilinged rooms, beautiful verandas (particularly the two upstairs rooms), hardwood floors and a nice breakfast. I can't say enough about how helpful Massimo and his staff were, both during and after our stay. I left my tablet computer at the hotel, and Massimo went above and beyond to make sure it was safely returned to me. There is also a great beachfront restaurant right next door with affordable, fresh seafood and salads -- perfect for lunch on a hot day! I hope to return in the future. -Erin (Seattle, WA)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NWTravelingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

excellent restaurant to the left of the hotel. the place is paradise! thank you for your great service! nice walk into town. nice shops. great views. big room. wonderful staff. great views from the restaurants in town.
Julia Schiavone

Room Tip: we had the sea view it was beautiful with a nice terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank babydoll831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropea
0.9 mi away
Villa Paola
Villa Paola
#9 of 20 in Tropea
49 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
#1 of 20 in Tropea
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
LABRANDA Rocca Nettuno Tropea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Antica
Hotel Villa Antica
#17 of 20 in Tropea
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terrazzo Sul Mare
Hotel Terrazzo Sul Mare
#15 of 20 in Tropea
94 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tirreno
Hotel Tirreno
#1 of 14 in Parghelia
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Giada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Giada

Address: Via Marina del Convento SNC, 89861 Tropea, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Tropea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Tropea
Price Range: £103 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Giada is a small bed and breakfast, directly in the sea, and it is surrounded by a large garden that opens directly onto the sea, with lush Mediterranean vegetation. The garden is equipped with chairs and tables available to customers.Villa Giada enjoys a privileged location, between the sea of Tropea and the historical centre of this marvellous Calabrian town. The advantage of having to close one of the most beautiful beaches in Italy, if d you can then add the benefit of proximity with all services and comforts of a resort unique. In addition, after a day of seaside holiday, to accept your return you will be dining in the shade, if seated at a table or lying on one of the many chairs scattered here and there in the wonderful garden of the villa. Take advantage of Green Palm trees, baobab and cocoa plants, in an atmosphere of holiday that has few equals in Tropea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Villa Giada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Giada Tropea, Calabria, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing