We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning views”
other travellers have booked this property
View from main bedroom over private terrace which accessed from the living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from main bedroom over private terrace which accessed from the living room
Pool by day View of the beautiful town of Tropea from edge of private terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
View from main bedroom over private terrace which accessed from the living room
Pool by day
View of the beautiful town of Tropea from edge of private terrace
L'Isola the historic church in Tropea
New Kitchen
Walking out to the private terrace from Lounge/Dining Area
View out towards sea from the edge of the terrace
Open plan Lounge/Kitchen/Dining Area
Main Bedroom
View From Main Bedroom
Looking back at the apartment from the terrace
Pool beautifully lit by night
View from the terrace at sunset with volcanic island of Stromboli on the horizon
The second bedroom
View of Stromboli at sunset from the terrace
View of Tropea beach from the end of the main street
Looking up at the town of Tropea from the beach
Looking back at Tropea beach from the sea
Dolphins on boat trip between Tropea and Stromboli
Tropea beach
Cove at Tropea beach
Crystal clear waters at Tropea
Reverse view of Tropea beach from the end of the main street
Views over Tropea from the edge of the terrace
View of the Tropea Marina from the apartment
A particularly warm day in May 2015
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Tropea, Province of Vibo Valentia, Calabria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Felix G
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Views are fantastic, but”
Reviewed 29 November 2017 for a stay in September 2017

There is no doubt there are fantastic views but it’s all you gonna get.
When I booked the place, I was impressed by descriptions of the place by previous reviewers.
However, when I arrive to the place I realized that it wasn’t the fact.
Cons:
1. To get a key, you need to get to neighboring town. Which located around 30-40 min drive each way.
2. Finding the place: you are on your own. This is not an easy task. Printed map which was provided by management wasn’t adequate enough to make it easy. This particular property absolutely needs to be guided to for first time visitors.
3. Luggage: you need to carry your luggage probably about 200m to the door. For me it was four trips each way considering +35C it wasn’t fun at all.
4. The apartment : it’s a two bedroom place with a kitchen/ living / dining room without TV with run down furnishings, old couches& table with a few chairs . Unfortunately the beds were uncomfortable with worn out grayish color bedding and bad pillows. There are some mildews around the walls in the living room and cracks on the walls by the windows inside and outside.
5. Please note for your entertainment there is no TV or WI -FI or any kind of internet.

We stayed there in September for 5 nights at $175/ night, prepaid hoping for a heavenly kind of place.
We have decided to depart a one night earlier due to uncomfortability and to the storm . It kind of gave me the excuse to leave one day earlier.

It was one of the biggest waste of money I ever had.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wendy2712
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from our sixth visit to Tropea. We had a fantastic week just relaxing by the pool and visiting the quaint town in the evening.
The view from the apartment is fantastic and the terrace is perfect for watching the sun go down over the volcano.WeI would recommend the small complex to family's,couples and those wanting a relaxing holiday.
We look forward to our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: The complex,the apartment the tranquility
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
curlynirv...
curlynirvana
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Private terrace with amazing views on a quiet complex”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at holiday rental 113 for 1 week, and had a wonderful week. The terrace is large as shown in the pictures, and is very private and quiet. We would have liked to have more shade, as the umberella wasn't quite big enough for the two of us, although there are loungers and shade at the pool.
We ate all our meals outside on the terrace, and were lucky to have views of Stromboli a couple of evenings. The sunsets were stunning.

The views and terrace are what make this apartment really stand out.

We did feel that the approach to the apartment slightly let it down, the stairs looked a little dark and in need of a sweep, and the apartment could have been made to feel a little more homely, however, The apartment itself is fully functional although I would not say that the bed in the main bedroom was kingsize, the bed was comfortale, and having air conditioning in all the rooms was really good. The kitchen was well stocked with equipment and we cooked most meals each night.

There was only 2 of us staying in the apartment, and whilst there are beds for 6 people including the sofa-bed, we felt it would be rather crowded with 6 people staying, however, we thought it was excellent value for money.

The pool bar was also really handy and was also very good value. We didn't actually use the pool, but others did and looked like they were having fun.

If there were any tips, it would be that a car is needed, to shop in the local shops, take a phrase book and the locals really try to help.
We went to the American Bar every day to use the WI-FI and for a bit of nightlife, again, really friendly and lovely service.
If you can, take some citranella tea lights, we did have a few insect bites but couldn't find citranella in the local shops, although they did sell other items to help.

If you do one trip I really recommend Stomboli by night, we were stunned by the experience, it was more than we expected.

We went to the beaches a couple of days, and enjoyed the atmosphere there.

I would recommend this holiday rental to anyone who wanted a fairly quiet and private complex that is close enough to a local town or village to easily use the facilities. We had good responses from the owner and from the manager of the properties. If we were to return to the area, we would not hesitate to return to this holiday rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Terrace
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B
Leeds, UK
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Relaxing Week in wonderful surroundings”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Having made a last minute decision to try something different from the normal tenerfie/spain/portugal route to some April sun, I booked the apartment on a whim. The pictures looked fabulous and the area appeared to look pleasant in various travel guides. On the run up to the week, the weather reports did not look promising, cloudy, 15 Degrees, but there was nothing to worry about...at all! Apparently Tropea and the surrounding area has a micro climate which leads to much more sun and heat than accuweather had suggested, indeed even while we there the weather reports did not tally with reality in the slightest. it felt very warm in the sun which was fairly constant all week and let us make full use of frankly the nicest terrace of any apartment i have ever stayed in, which was complete with a couple of loungers, and outdoor furniture, so i would say that on the whole we probably spent 90% of our woken hours outside.

The terrace is not overlooked at all and the views are nothing short of spectacular. The apartment itself is very well appointed with everything you might need if you want to self cater (as we did). There is a double bedroom with kingsize bed, and a twin room, shower bathroom with good facilities along with the open plan kitchen lounge area which leads out to the terrace via french doors.

To say it was quiet when we were there (first week in april) is an understatement, the complex is perhaps 100+ apartments and we were the ONLY people on site. You will need a car to access the complex as its a very steep drive up from the secure gates in Parghelia, perhaps the better part of a mile to the hill side complex, certainly not something that anyone on a relaxing holiday would want to undertake on foot. The pool looked nice but was closed, apparently it opens mid May, so something to bear in mind, also there is no internet/WIFI and mobile signal is poor if you want to stay connected this perhaps isn't the best apartment to do so in.

So onto the area, Pargehlia is a very sleepy little village, there are a few shops and restaurants, Miseria & Nobilta is one i would recommend, pizza, pasta, all very nice and extremley reasonable. The bars in Parghelia are much cheaper than Tropea also. There are a few wifi hotspots, the american bar being one and then the small bar/shop on teh main street a few hundred meters down.

Into Tropea and there is much more to do, although at the time most stuff was closed, certainly nothing really opens up until after 3pm and really 7pm is the time the restaurants were opening up. There is a supermarket and butchers a few miles down the road offering everything you might need this is in Santa Dominica on the SP22 and is about 5 mins down the road from parghelia.

I would absolutely stay here again without hesitation, indeed i will be checking flight prices for later in the year shortly. One of, if not the nicest apartment i have stayed in globally. could do with a few minor improvements, a TV with DVD for the cooler evenings, proper duvets (not something the Italians are into i must stress) and perhaps some in apartment local descriptions, directions to things, but other than that, spot on. The owners are great (David and Oli) and helped to resolve a mix up with arrivals very efficiently, and Lorraine and her partner who manage the apartment seem lovely although we only met then as we were leaving

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: italian sicesta!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schwendi, Germany
Reviewed 13 February 2014 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The nice view over Tropea and to the Sea.
Liked least: Everything was ok.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing