We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portercole B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portercole B&B
Ranked #3 of 58 Tropea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Great B&B. Well designed, equipped and clean. The breakfast was good, had a variety of food choices and the staff was very helpful and kind. The B&B is located in a great spot in Tropea.
Parking in the area could be hard in the main season, but we are sure that the staff can help find a suitable space.
Be aware that Tropea in April is not in it's main season, so it can be hard to find attractions - for example, the cruises to the islands starts only at May.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
145
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have just had a great stay at this B&B. Sharon & Biagio, despite being relatively new to the business, are hosts who can't do enough for you and are always willing to help. The room was very clean and had a generously sized bathroom. The bedroom was easily dark enough to prevent you from being woken early by the sunlight. The location was excellent, central to most amenities and the beach. The provision of beach towels and flip flops is a nice touch. No noise was experienced although we did stay out of season.

The breakfast was excellent. We really enjoyed the scrambled eggs and cappuccinos. There is also a good range of pastries, fruits and yogurts. The custard croissants were especially enjoyed!

The B&B has been decorated sensitively, with exposed walls in places giving a hint to it's age. However, this also means that the steps can be steep and are quite narrow.

We would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyandCaroline2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This B&B is located right next to the pedestrian area with its shops and restaurants. Once you walk in, you quickly realize that lots of effort was put into this place. Rooms were nicely furnished, very clean and modern with all amenities including a minibar, beach towels and flip-flops. Breakfast was served buffet-style with a large variety of hearty, sweet as well as healthy items. Sharon and Biaggio took great care of their guests and were perfect hosts. We can highly recommend their B&B, just be aware that it only has 4 rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2keentotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is probably the best service we have ever received in any hotel/B&B we have ever stayed in in any country. Nothing is too much trouble from picking up guests from the station when arrival was late due to train delays to helping with pesky internet problems.

Both Sharon (who speaks impeccable English) and her husband have wonderful recommendations about local restaurants. We took their advice and ate splendidly.

Time to diet when we go home.

Although it is mid October, the sun is still hot and there are fewer tourists in the narrow streets.

Portercole is always full (only 4 rooms) and i'm not surprised.

Quality of room, sleep, bathroom/shower and breakfast is truly excellent.
What more can you ask?.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top are quiter but only for the fit. No elevator but help given with luggage on arrival...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYorks
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We arrived at the B&B and received the warmest and friendliest of welcomes. We had a room with a small balcony at the front of the building. The room was a good size, and very tastefully decorated with all mod cons. The bathroom was of an equally high standard. Both the bathroom window and balcony doors had fly screens that could be drawn if needed and there was even a small washing line outside the bathroom window, useful for drying swimwear, etc.
The B&B is well placed in this old town and easy to find. As others have commented, the breakfasts are excellent with choice of meats, cheeses, yogurts, breads, cakes and freshly made coffee. We have no hesitation in recommending this B&B.

On top of all this Sharon and Biagio are such wonderful hosts.Be sure to ask them recommendations for restaurants as they will direct you to places you might not find otherwise. Also, when we had trouble with our car, they were incredibly kind and generous with their help.

In the same week we also stayed in Pizzo (our 3rd visit) but the B&B Porticole is so good, I'm sure we will be drawn back to Tropea in future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lolaWYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I found this place looking for a break with my boyfriend to visit Tropea for one night in the middle of September. It's a very central location, that needs to be said, and the owners are very helpful and friendly. They really go out of their way to assist guests with all their needs. The breakfast is delicious, good selection, they really put an effort into this. The room we got was small, no window, except for a roof window which did let some light in. The bathroom was a generous size. But all in all, I believe it's overpriced for a b&b. No complaints really but their prices should be looked at.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaLele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

This was a fantastisch B&B. We were travelling trough Italy's south, and we encountered many hotels and b&b's on the way, but this one was the best.

The location is excellent: right in the historic center of Tropea. In the evening, there's a lot going on in the neighbourhood (bars; restaurants;..)

The room was fantastisch. It was modern, beautiful, and very, very clean. Especially the bathroom was great, it was very spacious, it looked like a bathroom of a 5*-hotel suite.

Breakfast was very nice, with a wide selection of things to eat. And to close of, the owners, a young couple, were extremely helpful. When my girlfriend had an allergic reaction to a mosquito bite, they immeaditaly provided us with ice to treat the bite. And they carried our bags all the way up to the upper floor for us!

In all: a great gem. If I ever return to Tropea, I'd stay here again. Definitely.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ketsjap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropea
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
#1 of 21 in Tropea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.6 mi away
LABRANDA Rocca Nettuno Tropea
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tirreno
Hotel Tirreno
#1 of 13 in Parghelia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
OldWell Hotel
OldWell Hotel
#4 of 21 in Tropea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residenza il Barone
Residenza il Barone
#2 of 58 in Tropea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Villa Vittoria
B&B Villa Vittoria
#6 of 58 in Tropea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portercole B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portercole B&B

Property: Portercole B&B
Address: Via Umberto Primo 9, 89861 Tropea, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Tropea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Tropea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portercole is in a quaint building, situated in the Ancient “Borgo”, a beautiful street in the centre of Tropea, very close to the sea and all that the town has to offer such as restaurants, shops and bars.Its location is ideal for enjoying all the wonders offered by the ancient city and it is an excellent base for exploring, not only the historical centre, but even the surroundings.The street of Portercole leads to a spectacular lookout, Largo Villetta (or Cannon Square), from which you can get to the sea thanks to an old but convenient staircase.The nicely furnished, comfortable and bright rooms are equipped with every comfort with the aim of making our guests spend a relaxing holiday.The friendly and quiet atmosphere will also make you feel all the typical hospitality and welcoming of our land so that we can make you feel at home.There is a wide choice at breakfast, a good way to start your day!It has the typical standards of a continental breakfast but also the typical Calabrian and Tropean’s culinary tradition so that you will be able to discover the flavours of our land.Guests can choose from a selection of cheeses, hams and salamis as well as cereal and eggs prepared as required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Portercole B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portercole B&B Tropea, Calabria, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing