We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Substandard accommodation, awful breakfast in Tropea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Giardino Marchese d'Altavilla Hotel
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Tropea
Reviewed 20 September 2006

On arrival at this hotel, we found it to be practically empty and the staff uninterested at best.

Rooms small, plain, tv not working, safe not working. Feels like a package kind of place, with no charm or character, an anathema to us as independant travellers.

A 10 minute walk from town, longer to the beach.

I felt unsafe here, partly due to a fire nearby that nobody seemed to be dealing with.

DO NOT GO HERE!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vicky76000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2006

My husband and I stayed here the 1st week of September, 2006. It was a lovely place to stay. We found the staff very pleasant, knowledgeable and helpful. They helped us arrange a boat trip to the Aeolian islands and even recommended the better company to use (there are 2 who have boat trips from Tropea).

There is a free shuttle to one of the paid beaches, which was great. The 7 euro price for an umbrella and two chairs was a great bargain, and the beach restaurant was absolutely delicious.

The surrounding gardens were beautiful - lots of flowers and trees. We also really enjoyed the terraces with fabulous views of Tropea and the sea - great place to enjoy a lovely bottle of Ciro.

We found the location great. Being just above the town makes the setting very peaceful. It's a 10 minute walk into the historic centre. However, be warned, the 1st 30 metres or so closest to the hotel lacks a sidewalk, and the road is narrow. It gets dark at night, and the hotel provides torches if you walk back at night. There seem to be quite a few taxis in town, however, so, if walking back in the dark is undesirable, it would be a cheap ride back.

The room itself was fine - nothing fancy, but it was clean and comfortable. The towels were fluffy by Italy's standards and were replaced regularly.

The breakfasts were good, too - yummy bread, croissants, cakes, cereals, etc. My husband's only complaint was that the coffee was from one of those vending-machine style contraptions, where you push a 'cappuccino' button. Otherwise, delish.

All in all, we were impressed and had a thoroughly enjoyable time.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mustmove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2006

The hotel is in a charming garden. The room was small but very clean, comfortable, the water hot and the towels fluffy. Nice breakfast. A short jaunt to town. One thing to be aware of, however, is if you have any specific needs for early morning or late evening such as taxis or tours, make arrangement ahead of time. No one is in the office after 8 pm or before 8:30am.

Stayed: June 2006
8  Thank sandye88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peppe842017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank PPPViaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Trisietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Elena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tropea hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#5 of 20 in Tropea
385 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa La Porta Del Mare
0.4 mi away
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#12 of 20 in Tropea
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residenza a Due Passi Dal Mare
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
#1 of 20 in Tropea
291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Il Vulcano
Il Vulcano
#11 of 20 in Tropea
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giardino Marchese d'Altavilla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giardino Marchese d'Altavilla Hotel

Address: Contrada Gornella, 89861 Tropea, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Tropea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Tropea
Price Range: £61 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Giardino Marchese d'Altavilla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropea Hotel - South Italy - Calabria - Hotel Marchese D'Altavilla, Bed and Breakfast Set in a lush garden above the historical town of Tropea, rooms offer our guests privacy and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Giardino Marchese d'Altavilla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giardino Marchese D'Altavilla Hotel Tropea, Calabria, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing