We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic Hotel in great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Virgilio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Virgilio
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Tropea
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Basic Hotel in great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We booked this hotel last minute and we were reasonably happy with our choice. The hotel rooms are clean and basic and in line with the price. The staff were friendly but not all of them spoke English which wasn't a big problem. The hotel is a short walk to Tropea town and the beach so we mainly ate out at the local restaurants and spent our days soaking up the sun of the beach. The locals are quite warm and friendly which made our stay even more enjoyable. Overall it is a basic hotel, at a good price, in a great town and location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DStran12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    42
    38
    25
    14
See reviews for
35
53
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We managed to get a room in this hotel at the last minute as we were desperate at about 8pm. We were relieved to find a room with a pretty good location at quite a good price. The room was clean, though the bed wasn't amazingly comfortable. The staff varied from being unfriendly (the guy when we checked in barely spoke to us and offered no help with bags) to incompetent (a lady had no idea how wifi worked). The breakfast experience was extraordinary, and not in a good way. As we walked into the room the waiter (the same guy who had checked us in the previous evening) handed us a croissant each. Clearly these were not on the buffet table because there was a strict one croissant per person policy. This wouldn't have been a problem if they had been restocking the buffet, which was virtually empty a hour before breakfast finished. After several people had requested more water and more yoghurt the waiter reluctantly restocked these products. Otherwise the only things available were cereal (no milk), french toast and apricot jam. There was some evidence that milk, salami, bread and cheese had been available but despite frequent promising visits to the kitchen the waiter didn't feel that these things needed replacing. We were in the room at about 0845-0915 (breakfast reportedly served till 1000) so felt a little short changed as we definitely hadn't left this till the last minute!

We only stayed one night before transferring to a delightful agriturismo.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tropea hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

Good, honest 3 Star hotel. Room was clean and tidy, nothing flash but the basics were all there. Restaurant dining menu was somewhat limited but the food was well presented and tasty. Hotel could do with a renovation. Overall, a good value hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sepecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

The hotel is located within a few minutes walking distance from Tropea centre which is great. However, there is noise made either by the cleaners as early as 7am, the church which is across the road, or other tenants of the hotel. I had to have the windows closed to block some of the noise out but there is air-conditioning. The staff is kind but the breakfast basic. It does not come at a greatly cheap price but I guess you pay more to be so close to the centre. However, in Tropea nothing is really too far away from the centre!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrismi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2010

The hotel did not provide the services advertised. The bed was so hard I actually turned the mattress over in the middle of the night thinking it had to be the wrong way up - but alas, no better. There is no soundproofing and I believe I was the ONLY guest, so I shudder to imagine what it would be like with other guests coming and going.
The meal in the restaurant was shameful and I paid an exorbitant price, but since I hadn't been provided with a menu it seems I had no recourse but to pay it.
If there is another hotel available...don't choose this one.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilysgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2007

Do not stay at Hotel Vigillio if you are thinking of traveling to Tropea. Our room looked filthy when we arrived and I don't think they cleaned the room after our first night. This I can't confirm, but I can confirm that they did not change our towels. The room had very old furniture and the beds was killing our back. The breakfast was the most poorly we have ever had when traveling in Italy. They served juice and water in disposable plastic cups, so was the teaspoon. To eat we had the possibility of conrflakes, white bread with jam og cheese and of course sweet croissants. We were going to stay at Virgilio 3 nights, but checked out after to. Hotel Virgilio has so far been the worst hotel we have stayed at in Italy. And for this we had to pay 120 Euro per night. Totally we have stayed at 13 hotels when traveling around in Italy. The people working at the hotel was nice and helpful.
In sted of staying at Hotel Virgilio you should saty at Villa Antica. This 4 star family run hotell 300 meters closer to the old town of Tropea is fantastic and a much better deal. The breakfast is fantastic, so is the rooms. And the family will do anything to make your stay as pleasant as possible. This hotel is rated 1 star higher than Virgilio and we paid 10 Euro less per night.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ToreDahle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tropea hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#6 of 21 in Tropea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
#1 of 21 in Tropea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropis Hotel
Tropis Hotel
#5 of 21 in Tropea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Antica
Hotel Villa Antica
#18 of 21 in Tropea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Pineta
La Pineta
#10 of 21 in Tropea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.4 mi away
OldWell Hotel
OldWell Hotel
#4 of 21 in Tropea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Virgilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virgilio

Property: Hotel Virgilio
Address: Viale Tondo 21, 89861 Tropea, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Tropea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Tropea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Virgilio 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Virgilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgilio Hotel Tropea
Hotel Virgilio Tropea, Calabria, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing