We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agree with "not quite what it seemed" !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cannamele Resort
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Tropea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I enjoyed the hotel itself & all its team: lovely Gessica & Marco; Mihaiela & Gabriela! You made my stay there. Thank you!
Here it is my critics - I almost agree with all Jan B. wrote - .... there was no restaurant close to the hotel - you had to go by car; the pool is not safe..; the rooms - the front facing room with sea view - you wake up with a train alarm! no drink or snack service available all day ...; bees were flying on the food... ;
If you go to this hotel, you must rent a car, otherwise you'll be stacked there!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeni-96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed for three nights at this hotel as part of a tour of Calabria. The staff were good - helpful polite and tried hard but clearly not resourced for the task they had to perform - although the website advertises a restaurant available we were advised it was fully booked for the week and had to drive out for dinner every evening - there was a damaged drain by the pool which was dangerous and just left with inadequate patching up . The rooms were fine but the front facing room with sea view also overlooked a railway line and main road - so not quiet! There was no drink or snack service available all day - and even getting a drink at 6.00p m was difficult - it could have been so much better!

Room Tip: Relinquish sea view and go for room at back overlooking pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Although I am feeling somewhat of an outsider writing the first English review of this hotel, I felt I needed to say how good it really is.
Unfortunately I only stayed for one night in October and wish I had stayed for longer. The weather for this time of year was perfect for the entire week (I had booked somewhere else for the rest of my stay).
Anyway, on with my review. Firstly, I feel a special mention should be made of Jessica on the reception desk. She was extremely helpful and cheerful, and if the management are reading this review, she deserves a pay rise!
I was shown to my room which certainly deserves the 'wow' factor. It was huge, especially for a solo traveller such as myself! I don't believe they have any single rooms, so I had to 'make do' with a double room with separate seating area, large very modern bathroom, balcony and sea view...all for the same price! I kept the room very tidy, which I would do anyway, as a mark of respect for giving me this beautiful room for just one night.
The breakfast was very good, with a wide range of good quality buffet food, and I didn't need to eat for several hours afterwards, even though I don't believe in making a pig of yourself just because it's there. I only wish other people on holiday took the same view!
I was the only English person there to my knowledge, which didn't surprise me as the whole region is devoid of our nationality anyway. ENGLISH PEOPLE, YOU REALLY MUST START TO COME TO THIS PART OF ITALY. IT'S BEAUTIFUL! Germans are out in force in this region, but I must admit that they are mainly slightly older and therefore seem to have better manners than any I have experienced on holiday before, although they do seem to stare at you a lot instead of just smiling!! I have no idea why.
The pool is small and adequate, especially after a hot day sight-seeing, and instead of criticising it I was just grateful there was one there at all. It seemed perfectly clean to me as well.
I didn't eat dinner there, so I can't comment on that, as I preferred to visit Tropea at night. Please note that, if you don't have a car as I didn't, you can get the train from Parghelia station in to Tropea (for which the nice inspector didn't even charge me in the evening!), but there is no train back. I really wouldn't recommend the 5km walk back after a meal, but I did it and have the sore feet to prove it! It is definitely do-able if you like walking and are reasonably fit. The most annoying part to me was how some (probably young) Italian drivers seem to take great pleasure in hooting their horn at a pedestrian walking at the side of the road, instead of possibly stopping and offering them a lift. Or is that just too much to ask in this day and age?? And here's me thinking that was something that only afflicted the English!
To conclude, I highly recommend staying here, but most people would probably think that a car was essential, even though it's actually not, it's just easier to get around with one. The train station isn't far away and I would highly recommend visiting Capo Vaticano just three stops away, as the scenery is stunning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Alistair01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer mit Meerblick sehr laut, Zimmer mit Bergblick ruhig aber uninteressant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwilhelm52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emilie-C07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tobias G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MichelaFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tropea hotels
2.3 mi away
Tropis Hotel
Tropis Hotel
#4 of 21 in Tropea
383 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
Hotel Rocca Della Sena
#1 of 21 in Tropea
287 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#5 of 21 in Tropea
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Village Eden
Hotel Village Eden
#2 of 21 in Tropea
588 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa La Porta Del Mare
2.7 mi away
LABRANDA Rocca Nettuno Tropea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cannamele Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cannamele Resort

Address: Via Diaz 12 | Parghelia, Tropea, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Tropea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tropea
Price Range: £37 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cannamele Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Cannamele Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cannamele Tropea
Hotel Cannamele Resort Tropea, Calabria, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing