We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”
Review of Hotel Cristallo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cristallo
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Varazze
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed for one night during our recent vacation to Italy.

Great service. Staff took good care of us from the moment we arrived. The hotel's carpark was full, but they found a nearby site.

The family's hospitality is the strenght of the hotel.

Room was clean and we had a good night sleep.

Breakfast is not impressive, but the breakfast table contained enough good food to keep me satisfied. We did not eat dinner at the hotel..

We stayed on the first floor. The lift is small, but staff carried my luggage quickly too my room.

Great internet connection. And free of charge. Other bigger hotels I have stayed at recently should learn from this 3 star hotel.

Varazze is a nice,place along the coast, The high season was moving towards its end and it was easy to get a table at a good restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retired43Oslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gcavanna, Proprietario at Hotel Cristallo, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Sir from Oslo,

It was a pleasure, for me, read your review. I thank you very much for the thought,specially adressed to the passion of our family in this job.
I am happy that you have had a comfortable sojourn at Hotel Cristallo, and I look forward to welcome you again.
This last period we had the pleasure to accomodate different guest from Norway, like you. Generally they were very satisfied, and so we hope to welcoming others Norvegian travellers.
Lovely to see you again in a next future.

Giacomo Cavanna on behalf
The Cavanna Family & Staff
of the Hotel Cristallo in Varazze.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    106
    42
    17
    4
See reviews for
40
97
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Family of 4 - stayed 3 nights in May 2013 at this hotel. It was very quiet and clean, we could use the parking in front of the hotel freely. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. The quality of the furniture: part of it wow and very recent, part of it old and wonderful, part of it OK and some parts good to be replaced - but just a few of them.
Good price/quality ratio. The twin bed was very relaxing, the room spacious.
Breakfast: good quality although not so diversified - maybe the fact that the season was just starting at the beginning of May.
We clearly recommend it as it is very close to the beach and Varazze is a wonderful town to visit - perfect size and not excessively touristic.

Room Tip: Try 108-110 to get a bit of view over the see. Otherwise there is just a view of the garden..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECI001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandria, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Really beautiful hotel, with10€ a day you can park your car into the garage (it is very very tiny and you have to park really carefully if you're driving a car longer then 4 mts).
Staff is very friendly, rooms clean and spaciuos with a nice balcony.
Minibar and safe in the rooms, maybe they can improve wi-fi signal.
Payed really a little fare for a 3 persons room.

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0seph_IS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giacomoCavanna, Proprietario at Hotel Cristallo, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Mr. Joseph
We are very happy that you have enjoyed our hospitality and the quality - price ratio.
We agree with you that our garage can, sometimes, be difficult for cars more voluminous, but we are always available to help when maneuvering or even park the car ourselves.
We take note of your suggestion to improve the wi fi signal, which remember, is free throughout the hotel.
For travelers on a motorcycle, the garage, as well as being obviously more accessible, it is also guaranteed and free.
Thanks it was a pleasure to host it and we hope you come back to visit us.

Giacomo Cavanna on behalf
Famiglia Cavanna & Staff
Hotel **** Cristallo Varazze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

I am on my motorbike heading back from Rome to the UK. Wanted to stop at a seaside town before Vence tomorrow. This hotel has a lockup garage for my bike and welcomes motorcyclists - the owner has a bike too. Paid €56 plus breakfast out of season. Room and bathroom clean and reasonably spacious with modern electrics and balcony. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AikiWodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giacomogiacomo, Owner at Hotel Cristallo, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear guest, it has been a pleasure to host you and we are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay and considered our hotel "friendly".
Yes, motorcyclists are welcome and parking is always free for them.
Thank you for recommending our hotel.
Dear guest, if you are still on the road... we wish you a safe return to home.

Giacomo Cavanna on behalf of the Cavanna Family & Staff
Hotel **** Cristallo Varazze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Definitely agree very nice hotel with caring staff.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Accidentaltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Rooms were from a good size, minibar included, we got rooms with view to the sea, very nice staff. Breakfast very simple, although you could order scrambled eggs, etc. Bed was very hard and internet very poor. Location very good, 100 meters from the sea. Overall a place I would come back for a short stay (3-4 days)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumbero66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giacomogiacomo, Proprietario at Hotel Cristallo, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your compliments to our rooms for our staff and location.
With regard to the breakfast will be even easier, but in our opinion well assorted:
hot and cold drinks, homemade cakes, jams, local and fair trade products, ham and cheese,
chocolate, honey, biscuits etc and - as you said - you can also order eggs at no extra charge.
Last but not least, breakfast is served until 11 am.
We apologize for the very poor internet signal. We proceeded to check an is currently working.
Remember it is free.
Unfortunately or fortunately, our mattress are a little hard because all new purchased by a leading company that provides the right balance between comfort and rigidity fo a resting healthy.
We are pleased to know that you will return.
We will reserve a warm welcome to you again.
Sure as eggs is eggs.

Giacomo Cavanna on behalf of the Cavanna Family & Staff
Hotel **** Cristallo Varazze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Friendly staff, who tried their best to provide information about the town of Varazze. Restaurant menu was translated into English. Room was spacious, quiet and comfortable with proper air-conditioning. Seaside town of Varazze is beautiful with plenty beaches and opportunity for walking along the coast.
Jan Du Pisani, South Africa

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dupisani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giacomogiacomo, Proprietario at Hotel Cristallo, responded to this review, 12 June 2011
It's never too late.... to say thank you dear guest!
Some time has passed but I remember clearly our converation about the World cup in South Africa, your homeland or our efficient secretary provide you all possible information.
We try to reserve all a warm welcome and a comfortable sojourn, especially for the lone travelers, coming from distant countries, searching an "home away from home"
Thanks dear Mr. Du Pisani, was a pleasure to have you our guest.

Giacomo Cavanna on behalf of the Cavanna Family & all the staff of Cristallo'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varazze hotels
0.1 mi away
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#4 of 48 in Varazze
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Camilla
Hotel Villa Camilla
#7 of 48 in Varazze
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Zurigo
Hotel Zurigo
#2 of 48 in Varazze
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astigiana
Hotel Astigiana
#1 of 48 in Varazze
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Residence Coccodrillo
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Roi
Hotel Le Roi
#19 of 48 in Varazze
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristallo

Property: Hotel Cristallo
Address: Via Francesco Cilea 4, 17019, Varazze, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Varazze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Varazze
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cristallo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located 150 meters from the sea and near the pedestrian streets of the historic centre .The hotel is situated in a very quiet location. It is also close to the train station and the touristic port Marina di Varazze. The hotel has a comfortable bar area and lounge, with some outside seating. Some rooms with view.Buffet breakfast is served till 10,30\11 a.m.Fitness Techno-gym at upper floor.Parking and garage ( free for motor-bikers ).Free of charge wifi access throughout the hotel. Hotel Cristallo reserve a warm welcome to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Cristallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Hotel Varazze
Minotel Varazze
Varazze Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing