We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Capolago
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Europa(Varese)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
116
206
79
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
206
79
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet hotelstayed for two nightseasy accesslimited choicefree breakfastbusiness hotelprivate parkingcomfortable roomstar hotelshort staywithin walking distanceswiss burgerbusiness tripfree parkinglake vareseroadhouselakes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We stay in this hotel quite often. Is located in a useful location , 20 min from Malpensa airport, 40 min from Lugano and just 10 min from the center of Varese. Not to mention 5 min from Varese lake. Rooms are small but comfortable. Rain shower, amenities kit and breakfast are included in the rate that , if you prepay is around Euro 70/ night per double room. They offer a dinner service with few but delicious dishes and are having bicycles to bike around the lake. If you are asking for odd number rooms, you have private parking with direct access to your room.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Danessia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stay in this hotel for 3 nights. We like it very much. It is quiet, the rooms is good, well maintained. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is good Internet in every rooms and the lobby too. The breakfast was good. Every day cleaning the room. There is large parking. The destination is very well. It is close to the highway, close to the centre of Varese.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice in my opinion.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RadoslavVasilev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel on the splendours of Italy tour we found the room to be large clean and comfortable . The staff were friendly and accommodating,The hotel is single story with the breakfast and dinner served on the upstairs mezzanine. The food was good quality and had plenty of options. The hotel is modern with great staff I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed at Hotel Capolago for 2 nights as part of the Splendours of Italy tour, the hotel is quite modern, and the rooms are comfortable and spacious, with a large, clean shower. The location of the hotel is in a quiet part of town, but with easy access to several lakes, the Swiss (Lugano) Border and Milan. There are lovely walks and you can use bicycles from the hotel and take a bike trail to a lake. We walked into the town to look for somewhere outside of the hotel to have a drink after dinner, but there wasn't anyone that would accommodate a group of us, there is no 'nightlife' in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the ground floor. My room faced onto the back of hotel, and was very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Hotel Capolago is a good place for a stop-over or for a two nights visit if you want to visit other places nearby, such as Lavena near lake Lago Maggiore. Try the cable train there! Or play golf on the local golf course of Varese. Splendid course and located on the " garden' of on old monastery, now being the clubhouse. Incredible!! Rooms are comfortable, although you have only a nice shower. Interior is modest and dull. On the same road you find a good and fancy restaurant. So you can walk the road back after having your wine there.
Breakfast was like eating in a cantina. Many businessmen stay here, and we know why. Prices are reasonable and the hotel is located very central.

Room Tip: Don't go for the room next to the service room. It's quit noisy in the morning there.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zinkviool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews