We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”
Review of La Perla

La Perla
Ranked #7 of 391 Restaurants in Varese
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
155 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

What a great meal. Very accomodating service, well prepared food, and comfortable environment. Specializing in seafood this location has a great business. Entry is by reservation and quality of meal is memorable. Only issue is for USA traveler who does not have credit card with electronic chip in card will have to pay by cash.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stilts16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    105
    25
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, surprinsing appetizer!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We have been here several times and not been disappointed once by the food; the service was good even if a bit unknowledgeable
about food and wine choices. Very very good appetizer plate, on the house. Don't order too much food! Great frogs' legs...

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSt0rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Como, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent food and ambiance - service could improve a bit”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

excellent food, very nice and elegant atmosphere. If you like fish this is the best restaurant in Varese.I will surerly come back.
Just one improvement suggestion on the service (I see other visitors noticed the same): they put the wine in the ice box 2 meters away from my table: good but after that nobody from the service was caring aboout filling the glasses during the dinner: each time I needed a refill I had either to call them or to walk by myself to take the bottle. Normally I do not mind, but for a restaurant of this level and cost I think this is not appropriate at all.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fabio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“poor service”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

very nice place and ambiance (elegant, with a lot of light); good food (fish in particular), with some nice surprise (the appetizer where excellent).
However, the service overall was very poor, and at times even unprofessional - e.g., we were ignored for about one hour, and when I asked the waiter to help us with some wine, he said we were supposed to call him and that it was our fault...then he went on with rude comments.
all in all, this place has potential, but they definitely have to improve their service and realize that clients come first

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank andrea g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Missed our reservation time because we couldn't find it but when we finally got there, our table was still open. The service was wonderful with the waitress/hostess helping us in her limited English and our limited Italian. We described what we were looking for and the chef made something even more delicious. "homemade!". No rush even at 11:30pm! Friends went another night and weren't crazy about the risotto but our "fruta de mare" and fish with mushrooms were fabulous!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachlaxmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Perla also viewed

Varese, Province of Varese
Varese, Province of Varese
 
Varese, Province of Varese
Varese, Province of Varese
 

Been to La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing