We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirkiest hotel I've ever stayed in:)”
Review of Repubblica di Oz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Repubblica di Oz
Ranked #2 of 28 Varese B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quirkiest hotel I've ever stayed in:)”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The hotel is slightly hidden away (there is no reception per say) but it is centrally located in Varese with fancy cafes/shops just across the road. Breakfast is served in one of these cafe's across the road. The hotel itself has been converted from a residential apartment and each room is individually decorated/themed using continental antiques as the owner is an antique dealer himself.

Rossella (co-owner of the hotel) is extremely helpful and welcoming and speaks very good English. She dealt with the bookings in advance via e-mail promptly. The rooms were very clean and huge with wifi throughout. As mentioned before, the rooms are individually decorated with antiques and I really enjoyed my stay there.

Considering the price/location and service of this hotel, I don't think you will get any better in Varese and I would highly recommend anyone to stay there. It's definitely an eye-opener of a hotel!

Room Tip: Take your own soap/shampoo
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shininghero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    22
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
63
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I have been recently in Varese and Milan for business purposes and I have discovered through tripadvisor an unexpected and unforgettable guest house I will daily remember. The name is “la repubblica di oz” and is located in a very nice area of Varese downtown plenty of restaurants, cozy bars and stores.
My arrival was warmly welcomed by a smiling couple (the owners) that immediately gave to me all necessary information with regards to the city in general and what to do/see/eat in that area.
I slept in the room Sherlock. The room is unique with a meticulous attention to details and furniture.
A highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

What can someone say about Republica di Oz?! We were very intrigued by its theme and despite the fact it was not in our way we had a feeling that it would be a unique experience! And boy it was! We stayed at Jester room where we slept under the watchful eye of our goat friend "Giankatsiko" (we gave him a name! Katsiki in Greek means goat). Every detail of that room was exceptional, from the handgun hair dryer to the antique secretaire. The location was also great just at the middle of a very busy pedestrian street. Last but not least Rossella, our hostess! Our meeting was short but Rossela made us feel very welcome and gave Republica di Oz more personal character! She is energetic, kind and fun so much that we are looking forward to meet again! 

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Panos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossella B, Proprietario at Repubblica di Oz, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Panos, Maria you are the ideal guests , guests who everybody would like to have!
thanks so much
kind regards
Rossella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I had a very pleasant and comfortable week in 'Repubblica di Oz' in Sherlock. The room was very nice with lots of antiques and a terrace. Rossella and Dante are extremely friendly and helpful.The B&B is in the center of Varese with plenty of good restaurants around you. Shops and public transport are all very near. It's a brilliant place and good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this bb. All other reviews are correct. Value for money is great. All items in the room are for sale.th breakfast at the other side of the street is at one of the best coffee bars I have ever been to. Really recommendation!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardbrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vught, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Friendly stay in the middle of Varese. Parking below the rooms.
Nice and clean rooms.
Wonderfull for a shopping weekend in Varese.
Next time i will book Repubblica de Oz again.
Note; no airconditioning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiel, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2013

What can I say? It really felt like coming home. Dante and Rosella a very kind hosts and we enjoyed the conversation during the aperitif. We enjoyed two wonderful nights in this fascinating place in the center of Varese. Unfortunately this was only a stop on our way two France, but it was the highlight of our whole holiday. I have never seen such rooms before, they were arranged with so much love. I hope to return to them in the next years...

Room Tip: Lola and the cat :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varese hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel di Varese
Hotel di Varese
#2 of 24 in Varese
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Art Hotel Varese
Art Hotel Varese
#9 of 24 in Varese
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palace Grand Hotel
Palace Grand Hotel
#6 of 24 in Varese
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Bologna
1.0 mi away
Atahotel Varese
Atahotel Varese
#1 of 24 in Varese
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#11 of 24 in Varese
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Repubblica di Oz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Repubblica di Oz

Property: Repubblica di Oz
Address: Piazza Giovine Italia 3, 21100 Varese, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Varese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive, unique and...to be experienced! Repubblica di Oz is a small guesthouse in a fascinating courtyard in the historical centre of Varese. Created with passion by the owner, antique dealer, Repubblica di Oz is willing to present 2 elegant rooms, rich of objects, details refering to arts, design. Private bathrooms, charming and unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Repubblica di Oz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing