We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food at a fair price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Ristorante Bologna
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Varese
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Albergo Bologna provides delicious, unpretentious food in a friendly, lively atmosphere. Hotel not the main business but the rooms are comfortable and large. A bit noisy because of bar and road below.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teach-9317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2009

I have stayed at this hotel 10-12 times over the past decade but this was my first visit for about 4 years. I discovered it when it was recommended by colleagues when I had to work in Varese and can pay no bigger compliment than to say I have returned 6 times with my wife and friends at our own expense, it has never disappointed. It is a true northern Italian experience.
As others have noted, the rooms are spacious and well equipped with nice, modern bathrooms. However what really sets it apart from the others are the fantastic restaurant which specialises in wonderful and plentiful Lombardian cuisine and the staff. The owner is the finest host I have ever encountered; I am sure he remembered us (if not he behaved as if he did) and nothing is too much trouble - even things you do not know you want are provided. We were here on New Year's Eve when the celebration meal alone was an event worthy of a report (though vegetarians might struggle).
This hotel is also fantastic value for money, it is the only place I have ever stayed where I wish the bill was larger!
There are prettier towns in Italy than Varese and it does not get many tourists, but it is very well placed for lakes Como and Maggiore and a climb up Sacro Monte, just outside the town, is very worthwhile. However, if nothing else attracts you, I still recommend Varese for this hotel/restaurant alone.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Skyraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2008

We stayed on a Sunday night, on our way back to Milan airport (about 1hr away), and having read excellent reviews about the restaurant, booked half-board. We were not disappointed!

The rooms (we had 2 rooms, as we are a family of 4) were spacious and clean, with lovely bathrooms. The air conditioning was very welcome. Our dinner was superb, with lots of local dishes, and the restaurant was packed, mostly with locals - business men, families, couples - it was a lovely mixture. It was also great value for money - 140 Euros/night/room half-board.

As we had a car, an added bonus was that the car park (with electronically-controlled gate) was very handy. The one-way system in Varese was complicated, but there were signs to the hotel from several streets away - at least it wasn't as bad as driving round Bologna.

It was a lovely end to our holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJHLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2006

What more can I say? Room was great, with a huge bathroom. Restaurant is undoubtedly one of the best in Varese, if not the entire Milan area. The coffee bar attached, run by the same family, was a happening place with great service. Include a place to park your car, which they have less than a half block away, and what more could you ask for. Reasonably priced as well. Service was superb.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marco_di_Fano-Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2006

Stopped in here for one night just by chance before flying back to USA the next day. The room was decent size and the bathroom was nice especially by European standards. What really was unbelievable was the restaurant as the place was packed, the food was amazing and the prices were quite reasonable. I ate a lot of good food in Italy and this place was right at the top. The owner is a sharp, nice guy too and took great care of us.
If I ever get back to the Milan area this is definitely where I will stay.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chril2us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Ajka, Hungary
410
Reviewed 19 November 2005

I spent 3 days at this hotel. I enjoyed it, because the boss is a gentleman, the staff is kind and the rooms and the restaurant are excellent. You must try it!

  • Stayed: October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Hamburg
11
Reviewed 10 October 2005

I just stayed there for one day, but I enjoyed it very much. Espacially the restaurant was very good.
The only thing is, that you should order a room that is not behind the neon sign of the hotel. That sign hums the whole night.
The rooms have dvd-players. Don't forget your dvd's.

  • Stayed: October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varese hotels
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Varese
Art Hotel Varese
#11 of 23 in Varese
282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel di Varese
Hotel di Varese
#2 of 23 in Varese
192 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel ibis Styles Varese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Palace Grand Hotel
Palace Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Varese
471 reviews
1.5 mi away
Relais Ca dei Santi
Relais Ca dei Santi
#14 of 23 in Varese
84 reviews
1 mi away
Atahotel Varese
Atahotel Varese
#1 of 23 in Varese
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Ristorante Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ristorante Bologna

Address: Via Giuseppe Broggi 7, 21100, Varese, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Varese
Price Range: £65 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Ristorante Bologna 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located in the historic center of Varese, is part of an antique monastic complex of 1550, called convento S. Antonio. The management during the last 60 years was made from family Lorenzini which take care of creating a family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Ristorante Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Ristorante Bologna Varese

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing