We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ditto -- Outstanding in all aspects ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Ristorante Bologna
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Varese
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ohio, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ditto -- Outstanding in all aspects ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2006

What more can I say? Room was great, with a huge bathroom. Restaurant is undoubtedly one of the best in Varese, if not the entire Milan area. The coffee bar attached, run by the same family, was a happening place with great service. Include a place to park your car, which they have less than a half block away, and what more could you ask for. Reasonably priced as well. Service was superb.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marco_di_Fano-Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    46
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
18
28
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2006

Stopped in here for one night just by chance before flying back to USA the next day. The room was decent size and the bathroom was nice especially by European standards. What really was unbelievable was the restaurant as the place was packed, the food was amazing and the prices were quite reasonable. I ate a lot of good food in Italy and this place was right at the top. The owner is a sharp, nice guy too and took great care of us.
If I ever get back to the Milan area this is definitely where I will stay.

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chril2us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2005

I spent 3 days at this hotel. I enjoyed it, because the boss is a gentleman, the staff is kind and the rooms and the restaurant are excellent. You must try it!

  • Stayed October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2005

I just stayed there for one day, but I enjoyed it very much. Espacially the restaurant was very good.
The only thing is, that you should order a room that is not behind the neon sign of the hotel. That sign hums the whole night.
The rooms have dvd-players. Don't forget your dvd's.

  • Stayed October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2005

We stayed at the Bologna because it was close to Malpensa airport and we just kind of stumbled on it the night before our flight home. Very humble little b&b type place.
True, grandpa who also runs the bar downstairs, does not speak any English but through the magic of hand signals and my few words of Italian we got a nice room, found out where to park and made dinner reservations.
Dinner that night was superb! No menu to speak of - just lots of food brought to the table, course after course. The waiter asked if we wanted this or that and brought everything we asked for. A total surprise ending to our trip. This meal was outstanding, very inexpensive, and so casual and so much fun that I'd go back just for dinner if I had to go through Malpensa again.
The hotel was adequate, nothing fancy, but clean and reasonably quiet. Again, very inexpensive. Varese is a nice little town with some good shopping and a wonderful little town center for walking and window shopping.
This beats staying at the airport Hilton or Marriot by a mile! It's close to the airport but you don't feel like you're wasting a night by just waiting to go home the next day. It's part of the vacation and we often talk about what fun we had at Grandpa's charming little hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mistermooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
212 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 666 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2004

This 3 * albergo is part of a former monastry from the 16th century right in the old town centre of Varese adjacent to the very nice pedestrain shopping zone. It is family run and sometimes you will be welcomed by Granddad, who does only speak Italian, but by using hands and feet, you'll get along. Rooms are renovated, very clean, offer TV, mini bar, hairdryer and bidet. My room (# 105) was very spacious, others were rather tiny. The host family runs a very nice in-house ristorante offering delicious specialties from Lombardy, either in the main dining room, on the street in front of the house or in a winter garden. A - for Italian standards - good breakfast buffet including all you can drink Cappuchino or Latte Macchiato is included in the room rate. A word of warning: those with a light sleep - avoid this hotel, because almost every room faces a road busy 24/7. All the others: go there - it is more than sufficient and unexpensive. Reservations: try calling them in the evening, send them a fax or use their website www.albergobolgna.com, but don't expect a written confirmation - after all, it's Italy! ;-)

Helpful?
5 Thank JanBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varese hotels
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Varese
Art Hotel Varese
#8 of 23 in Varese
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#11 of 23 in Varese
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel di Varese
Hotel di Varese
#1 of 23 in Varese
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Varese
City Hotel Varese
#13 of 23 in Varese
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palace Grand Hotel
Palace Grand Hotel
#7 of 23 in Varese
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Vecchia Riva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Ristorante Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ristorante Bologna

Property: Albergo Ristorante Bologna
Address: Via Giuseppe Broggi 7, 21100 Varese, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Varese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Ristorante Bologna 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located in the historic center of Varese, is part of an antique monastic complex of 1550, called convento S. Antonio. The management during the last 60 years was made from family Lorenzini which take care of creating a family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Ristorante Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Ristorante Bologna Varese

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing