We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in Varese”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Varese
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed in Varese because we wanted to explore the Italian Lakes. It is situated very near to Lakes Maggiore, Como and Lugano. The hotel was very comfortable and had parking facilities even though it is in the pedestrianised zone of Varese. The staff were lovely and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was simple but good. We also tried the restaurant in the courtyard of the hotel and this was very good. We thoroughly enjoyed Varese which has its own sites worth visiting such as Villa Panza and the Sacromonte. There are countless restaurants and excellent shops. We would certainly stay at the Europa again. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Room Tip: We liked the room facing the pedestrianed area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vikmik2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights while on business in Varese. Check in was painless as was check out. Staff is friendly and quite well versed in English. The building is Historic in nature, it used to be a convent. The breakfast is included, but is of the continental variety. The lady who was looking after the breakfast was a sweetheart, she even baked a special breakfast cake just for our group one morning. The hotel is a 1 minute walk to the pedestrian only "old" town centre, the shops and restaurants are amazing, so I can't review the hotel restaurant because I preferred experiment with the little restaurants in the old town core. The room was 75 euros per night. I will say this, it's situated on a busy street corner, busy 24/7, It can be a little noisy, the windows have heavy sound blocking shades...use them they work.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guitar_player_NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four nights during the European Rowing Championship as our son was competing for GB. It is situated 10 minutes' walk from the railway station and five minutes walk from the bus stop we needed to reach the lakeside (otherwise over an hour's walk down a steep and busy road).

We were fortunate to have a room on the rear of the hotel as we heard from other guests that it had been very noisy at the front, adjacent to a small square on the edge of the pedestrianised "historic centre" of Varese, with people leaving bars in the early hours, slamming car doors as they left. Our room was well-appointed, with a very comfortable bed, sufficient storage, effective shower and plenty of towels, toiletries and a supply of additional pillows and blankets in case we needed them.

The hotel staff were welcoming, provided us with information we asked for such as where to purchase the bus tickets we needed, made suggestions as to which restaurants we might like to try, etc. There was also a secure private car park which would have been useful had we arrived by car.

The breakfast room, which occupied the basement, was well laid out and offered a generous choice of items which more than satisfied us.

This is a hotel we would return to and are happy to recommend.

H&MB

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel to avoid the noise of people leaving the bars of the old tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bod504c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We arrived late in the evening and were greeted in the parking lot! The concierge was great helping us to park, helping with our bag, showing us to our room, and a place to have a late meal. All this with no expectations. Just friendly and helpful. The location was perfect. Right on the edge of the walking streets of town. Breakfast was good. Above the normal bread and coffee with very friendly and helpful service. The room and hotel were very clean. Our biggest negative was mold on the bathroom ceiling.

Room Tip: We were in room 71 which fit 2 adults and 2 children well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slocor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

For our trip to Umbrie we booked a familyroom with Hotel Europe. Three days before the planned stay they informed us that they had double booked the familyroom. They offered us another familyroom in a closeby 4 star hotel, hotel Europe paid for the difference. We had a great time, we also saw hotel Europe which is located very well close to the city center. This service was perfect!

Thanks once again.

Room Tip: You can trust these people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Wim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Just what we needed. Calm hotel, friendly and flexible personel. Very close to the centre with a very good restaurant close by (Bologna). Typical Italian environment.

Kind regards,

D.N.M. Meijer BTicino

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DNMMeijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We were In Varese on a school partnership trip and a group of us stayed in this hotel. It in a perfect location and we enjoyed our stay. Rooms clean and quiet with nice continental breakfast . Staff very friendly and helpful with good English. The only problem is their bar don't attempt to have a drink there as they had to send out for gin and vodka and had no mixers . There is also a restaurant but we didn't see anyone eating there ever. The bar isn't a problem however as the hotel is only minutes away from some lovely little squares with lots of bars and restaurants and perfect for people watching . There is wifi in the rooms for a very small charge .Varese itself has a lot to offer for a short stay and a trip to Sacre Monte is a must. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel where you can get a bus to some lovely little mountain villages Everyone we met on this trip was extremely friendly and helpful .

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varese hotels
0.8 mi away
Palace Grand Hotel
Palace Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Varese
464 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atahotel Varese
Atahotel Varese
#1 of 23 in Varese
456 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Hotel Varese
City Hotel Varese
#15 of 23 in Varese
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Stelvio
Hotel Stelvio
#13 of 23 in Varese
100 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Capolago
Hotel Capolago
#4 of 23 in Varese
399 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel ibis Styles Varese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Piazza Cesare Beccaria 1, 21100, Varese, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Varese
Price Range: £59 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located at the entrance to the town's historic centre (with private internal parking), in an area well-known for its typical restaurants, pubs, wine shops and superb inner courtyards. Close to the conference centre of Ville Ponti, Villa Panza (Guggenheim museum of modern art), Palazzo Estense, the law court and the racetrack. A National Trust listed neoclassical building (1830), the structure has been used as a hotel since 1978 (it features an original fresco and a brick tavern). Rooms equipped with all modern comforts:satellite TV, radio, fridge-bar, modem connection for PC, safe, double glazing for sound insulation, air conditioning. All furnishing was renovated in April 2002: all single rooms are provided with a three quarter bed. 24 Hour reception and service, large hall and cocktail lounge. Restaurant "Da Vittorio" boasts a long tradition since 1950 and make international cuisine. Conveniently connected to the lakes district, the highway and railway systems. 20 Km from Malpensa International Airport. This Hotel is ideal for both business travellers and vacationers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing