We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely - breakfast with a view!”
Review of Hotel Al Borducan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Al Borducan
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Varese
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely - breakfast with a view!”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This hotel is in a lovely Art Nouveau building in the picturesque village of Sacro Monte. The owners were friendly and helpful, and the rooms are spacious - ours had a mezzanine level with a desk and comfy chairs - and the bed was very comfy! Breakfast was great - a buffet which included home-made breads and cakes (the pineapple upside-down cake was amazing!), and eggs cooked to order, all eaten on the veranda with spectacular views of the surrounding area. We had dinner one night here, and the food then was good as well - the meal finished with the Borducan Elixir, a delicious orange-based liqueur and the hotel's speciality. The bar also had a good selection of Austrian beers which we both enjoyed! Sacro Monte is a medieval village full of narrow passageways and cobbles, and so parking is a few minutes away up and down hill - worth bearing in mind if mobility is a problem. But we had a lovely stay here, and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eggy_sandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    18
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
61
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This hotel is really beautiful, inside and out. The views are spectacular and the hotel has been lovingly restored to it's 1920's heyday. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the lake and mountains is something very special. We had a lovely dinner at the hotel on the first night and we were accommodated for our vegetarian predilections. The recommended bottle of Prosecco was also fantastic.

It is not really that difficult to get to, the drive up is a bit daunting at first but it is worth a bit of extra effort. Also anyone who is very fussy about cleanliness will be very happy here. You could eat lunch out the bidet!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cornishwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Sacre Monte is a lovely romantic, charming village. It's set very high so the views are fantastic. After settling into our room we had dinner on the virander (Oliver had pre reserved us a table outside with us being patrons). Dinner was lovely, very relaxing and picture perfect views to constantly look at. Breakfast was also lovely and in particular we enjoyed a long chat with Oliver. We intended to go back to borducan at the end of our holiday but just didn't have the opportunity. We would fully recommend this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: There are two rooms with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soxsnronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My girlfriend & I stayed here in July, after a winding drive up the hill/mountain side you come to Hotel Borducan, a very well kept hotel and set to maximise the views out towards the lakes.
Parking is a bit of a pain, very tight roads and not a lot of space. Which also means short but steep walk up to the hotel, you drive up to the door and drop off but you'll have to reverse back down. We had a room with a balcony which was lovely, the room was well equipped and had everything we needed. The hotel has a restaurant which is personally ran by the hotel owners, the decor and views are stunning but the food wasn't up to the 4 star standard of the hotel (nice enough but in my view overpriced & lacking in presentation/ingredients), my advice would be to enjoy the view at breakfast and eat dinner before you get back for the night.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglishMonkey2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

All other reviewers have given this place a good review, and for good reason. It's a nice place. Sacro Monte is some drive out of Varese, high up in the hills and so has great views out over the plain below. It's a very charming village, with lots of litlle paths, stairways and passages among charming old houses and religious buildings. There's a very pretty church at the top. I went in Novemeber, and it was nicely quiet, I imagine it can get busy in the summer.

The hotel staff are charming, friendly and very helpful. We were upgraded to room with a view from its own balcony - another bonus of off-season travel. The room was good value for money, not fancy but had character with it's mezanine sleeping level. The restaurant is in a nice circular dining room, cleverly decorated with trompe l'oeil wood pannelling. The food was good, if not memorable.

Room Tip: you need a room with a view to get the most from this place, i think most of them have this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonLeedsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We are the couple that travelled with Jackie and Tony in late August to several European destinations, including Verese, Italy. What a wonderful experience we had meeting Oliver (the owner) and his wife at Villa Hotel al Borducan. The food was excellent and the hotel was immaculate. A perfect romantic getaway. The views from the Restaurant balcony were breathtaking and we would not hesitate to stay here in the future. Tim and Marion, Toronto, Ontario Canada.

Room Tip: Each room is very different so I would recommend to see them and choose the one that is perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Oliver was a gracious host. he speaks excellent English for the guests. The restaurant is outstanding and the balcony seating has an outstanding view. Each room is unique. The area in which ithe hotel is located is quaint and right out of a story book with its cobble stones and narrow streets. Oliver serves a speciality liquor which we just had to bring home
Parking is down the street, but well worth it.
We highly recommend this place.
we were two couples travelling and had a wonderful time
Tony and Jackie, Toronto, Ontario Canada

Room Tip: Romantic Room, great view and a small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackiefrombrampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varese hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonne
Hotel Colonne
#4 of 23 in Varese
203 reviews
2.8 mi away
Palace Grand Hotel
Palace Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Varese
425 reviews
2.9 mi away
Art Hotel Varese
Art Hotel Varese
#11 of 23 in Varese
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Capolago
Hotel Capolago
#6 of 23 in Varese
374 reviews
2.6 mi away
Atahotel Varese
Atahotel Varese
#2 of 23 in Varese
421 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel di Varese
Hotel di Varese
#1 of 23 in Varese
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Borducan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Borducan

Property: Hotel Al Borducan
Address: Via Beata Caterina Moriggi 43 | Sacro Monte, 21100 Varese, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Varese
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Varese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Borducan 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel-restaurant „Al Borducan“ , a vintage manor house, has been completely refurbished without disturbing the original Art Nouveau style of the 1920s.To this day each room has kept its unique charm of the former Bregonzio residence and choice pieces of vintage furniture further the congenial atmosphere of the manor house. It goes without saying, however, that modern facilities like sat-tv, telephone, safe, free of charge wireless internet access, minibar and en suite bathroom cater to the convenience of our guests.Incastonato nel borgo medievale del Sacro Monte di Varese, immerso nel parco naturale del Campo dei Fiori, questo piccolo, raffinato hotel è studiato appositamente per gli ospiti che cercano qualcosa di speciale…L’hotel- ristorante “Al Borducan” gestito da una giovane coppia itala – austriaca, è un’antica villa del 1924 in stile liberty, completamente ristrutturata lasciando inalterato l’aspetto originario, una splendida cornice per ogni tipo di evento ed uno scenario esclusivo per momenti indimenticabili.Il tè pomeridiano, un buon bicchiere di vino degustato in terrazza, la lettura di un libro in giardino o il riposo in una delle dieci romantiche e confortevoli stanze, regalano preziosi momenti di relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Al Borducan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing