We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in town, greatest service, highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Vasto
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel in town, greatest service, highly recommended”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Very tastefully decorated property, big rooms, extremely comfortable bed, huge wardrobes, ultra modern white furniture, amazing bathroom, one of the best showers that I saw in hotels, huge balcony on the sunny side and you are able to sunbathe or have lunch. Beach is very nice, sandy, you get loungers and towels, everything is set up for you and brought to the beach, perfect weather, But the most amazing part was staff and service. Ana from reception made our stay most comfortable and enjoyable, helping with directions, shopping, bring travel adaptors, connecting internet, getting breakfast outside of breakfast hours as I overslept, best service I ever experienced, thank you. Would definitely stay there agin and recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 503
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helena1827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    135
    39
    8
    6
See reviews for
119
88
8
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I stayed with my family at Residenza,, the hotel staff was extremely warm and helpful starting with our original contact by email to the administrator to the friendly waiter and helpful cleaning ladies. The hotel provides laundry service for a fee, The facility is very clean and renovated. The breakfast buffet is very rich, and the overall atmosphere is very child-friendly. Parking available at no extra cost. The only (minor) comment I have is that WIFI connection was very weak in Residenza, but excellent in hotel lobby.

Room Tip: You can ask for hotel amenities (daily service etc..) but in the residenza location (more spacious a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The service at Excelsior is very professional and warm. The staff is exceptional. The food was excellent. We were always greeted with smiles. The residenza at Excelsior was just perfect for my family. The beach was lovely. The Adriatic Sea is beautiful. I was very appreciative of the lovely gifts upon our arrival and departure. The local organic oil is delicious!! Definitely would revisit. Chiara.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Our stay in my wife's home town of Vasto was most pleasureable due in large part to our to our stay at the Excelsior. The hotel's courteous and very friendly staff, clean and spacious air conditioned suite and ample breakfasts, got us on our day's excursions in a most positive frame of mind. It was easy to get to the beach from the hotel and to the umbrellas, towels and chaise lounges provided by the hotel. Parking was available at all times. There was no balcony for the suite we had; this didn't detract from our accommodations. This hotel is an excellent venue for visiting Vasto, Vasto Marina and for exploring other areas of Abruzzi!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The Excelsior is a great place to stay for a trip to Vasto. Many of the hotels on the Marina are old and the rooms have not been modernized. This hotel is an exception, with modern spacious rooms with all the amenities - clean room, air conditioning, wifi in the room free of charge, free parking, outdoor terrace, free breakfast, etc. The Excelsior is just on the border of the Vasto Marina. It is far enough away to provide an even more relaxing atmosphere, but close enough for travel into the main tourist area. The beach is beautiful and easily accessible - 5 minute walk.

The view from the room is incredible with a panoramic exposure of the beach and hillside. The suite is even more spacious with a beautiful shower, and bright, white interior.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone in the area and plan to stay there again when I come back to Vasto.

Room Tip: The suite does come with a trade off ... It is huge, but does not have an outdoor terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpbooch27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This hotel is situated just inside the city limits of Vasto and has just been fully renovated with all rooms offering a ocean view and air conditioning, Internet (wifi) is available and is free through out the hotel with plenty of free and private lockup parking available and a private access to the beach from the hotel.

There is not public transport that travels past the hotel in the off season but from what we were told it does travel in the peak season, but if you walk to the train station (about a 10 min walk) towards the city you can catch the 2 city circle route buses that run every 30 minutes through the marina and into the city and return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Notellu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2011

discovered this hotel back in 2009 & been coming back regularly since then (last time was just a month ago) ... affordable price, great quality, top cleanliness, very nicely refurbished & above all a professional & very kind staff ... very easy/safe access to the nice sandy beach in front of the hotel ... stone beach also avaialble in the area ... the lovely old village of Vasto is nearby ... will come back ...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vasto hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Acquario
Hotel Acquario
#1 of 5 in Marina di Vasto
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palace Hotel Vasto
Palace Hotel Vasto
#13 of 26 in Vasto
246 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rio
Hotel Rio
#1 of 26 in Vasto
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Principe Residence
4.8 mi away
Villa Vignola Hotel
Villa Vignola Hotel
#3 of 26 in Vasto
92 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#12 of 26 in Vasto
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Property: Hotel Excelsior
Address: Strada Statale 16 Sud 266 | Loc. Buonanotte, 66054, Vasto, Italy
Region: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of Chieti > Vasto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Vasto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing