We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit Run Down”
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Verbania
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“A Bit Run Down”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This hotel must have been truly beautiful during its prime. It is a majestic building that sits on the shore of Lago Maggiore and is conveniently located within walking distance to several cafes and restaurants. The entire hotel was refurbished in 2005, but it appears not much has been done since then for maintenance and upkeep as it is currently a bit run down. The carpet on the steps does not look like it has been cleaned since the refurbishment, and the air conditioning did not work. On the bright side, the staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine, but the wait staff was overworked. It may not be paradise, but it is a relatively inexpensive hotel, with a good location, that reminds you of better days.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IBSTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    88
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
67
97
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

After a car breakdown, we ended up at the doorstep of this hotel by coincidence. Hotel staff were immediately very helpful helping us in with all the luggages we were carrying. Given our unforeseen stay in the hotel and the fact that the hotel was +/- fully booked during this busy August period, everyone helped to look for solutions to extend our stay in the hotel on a day-to-day basis. We could not have come to a better address. Thanks again to all staff members! Apart from the excellent service (including multi-langual staff), the hotel offers spacious, clean and comfortable rooms. Breakfast is good but could perhaps be upgraded by providing for example more variation in terms of bread.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy_dw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Nice and comfortable rooms, very clean and comfortable with AC. Good breakfast buffet in the morning. The reception was very professional, spoke several languages, was extremely helpful to find free parking and also provided a great dinner tip (our meal at the restaurant next door was excellent). And all that in a very lovely place at the lake. Pity we could only stay for one night... would love to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We spent a wonderful couple of days at the Belvedere-San Gottardo. Everything went just the way it should: My online request through their website was answered immediately with all the requested information. Our room - facing the lake - was ready at noon. The reception was very friendly. The room was clean and spacious, so that we had enough space for our baby crib and even some more for our little girl to play a bit. The bathroom was spacious too. Nothing fancy but very much ok. It's true that it's a bit difficult to get one of the free parking spots right outside the hotel, but there are other free parking places not far down the road - still a couple of minutes walk, but as the hotel provides parking outside the reception for loading and unloading the luggage, that's not a problem. Breakfast is good. All in all a very comfortable and friendly place for a good price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoSiYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We planned to spend two days and one night in the Lake Maggiore area so that we could visit the Borromean Islands, particularly Isola Bella. However, the prices for hotels in nearby Stressa (which is a very lovely and elegant town) were very high. Our Italian cousin suggested that we find a hotel in Verbania, instead.

Hotel Belvedere was a terrific find. It is located immediately across the street from the lake and has a beautiful lake and villa view. One of the boats that go to the Borromean islands departs across the street from the hotel. Our room was large and comfortable with two double beds and a very ample bathroom. We had a lake view room with a balcony. Breakfast was credible and the hotel was within easy walking distance to restaurants and shopping. For those who need it, the hotel staff speaks reasonable English.

Stressa is only a 15-20 minute drive from the hotel and Locarno, Switzerland is about 45 minutes by car.

Room Tip: Definitely get a lake view room. It is worth the extra money. Also, no need to pay for private par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouTag32082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel is in a great little village and is the perfect setting for relaxation and enjoying Italian culture. Hotel San Gottardo is accross the street from the lake with a great view and centered near shopping, restaurants and the boat ramp for trips to the islands and other towns. I was pleasantly surprised with how nice the hotel was considering the location and price point. All of the staff speaks excellent English and is very friendly.

Breakfast was average for an Italian hotel (a couple meats and cheeses, a few breads, some sweets, yogurt, fruit and coffee) and I would not pay extra for it, but it came with the cost of the room.

I booked online out of season and was able to get the room at a great discount. We booked Hotel San Gottardo, which we found out is next door to Hotel Belvedere and shares management when we arrived. I booked a lake view room and requested an upgrade if available when booking, and was upgraded to a room with a terrace at the nicer Hotel Belvedere next door. At full price, I would not rate the hotel so high, but at the price point I paid with the upgrade, it is an amazing hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabeha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We have just returned from a magical 4 night stay in this hotel. Everything about it for us was just perfect, great location, lovely staff, lovely room overlooking the lake. Verbania is lovely as well, we found that in every restaurant and cafe we were in had the same level of great friendly service. thanks Verbana and Hotel Belverdere we will be back!

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteHutch30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verbania
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Majestic
Grand Hotel Majestic
#3 of 14 in Verbania
473 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Gottardo
Hotel San Gottardo
#2 of 14 in Verbania
189 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ancora
Hotel Ancora
#1 of 14 in Verbania
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pallanza
Hotel Pallanza
#6 of 14 in Verbania
219 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
2.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#4 of 15 in Baveno
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Property: Hotel Belvedere
Address: Viale delle Magnolie 6, 28922, Verbania, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Verbania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Verbania
#2 Romantic Hotel in Verbania
#3 Luxury Hotel in Verbania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An excellent example of the Art Nouveau architectural style of the early 1900s, hotel Pallanza with its 48 rooms has recently been completely refurbished. While respecting the criteria of traditional elegance, the hotel is provided with the most modern comforts. Located in a beautiful, panoramic position, most of the rooms look out over Lake Maggiore and the shore that is just a few metres away. Air conditioning, garage. Open all year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere Lake Maggiore/Verbania, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing