We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Verbania
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Old charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Centrally located, in a rather calm spot of Verbania region, right in front of the boat terminal to the lake islands, old times charm but comfortable.
Not much to do or see around but close to Stresa by boat and Intra by car.
Very spacious rooms and bathroom
Very bright and airy room, good matresses but bad pillows, no air con but fresh air coming through the windows.
Ok breakfast, nothing special, no cooked dish but you'll find something to eat.
Wifi very bad, unfortunately.
Parking is possible near by, but could be a problem during peak season.

Room Tip: Front lake view is fantastic but could be a bit noisy because of cars passing by as there is no air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amalia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    85
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
63
88
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel in July 2013. It has a beautiful location, right in front of Lago Maggiore and the ferry terminal. However the hotel is old and not that clean nor pretty. Our bathroom was run down, neon light was blinking and barely any pressure in the shower. Breakfast was very ordinary and it took forever just to get coffee and extra utensils for the kids - the people working the breakfast seemed simply overwhelmed. My main complaint about the hotel is that I had specifically asked, before booking, if the room was air conditioned, and they said that it was. When we got there, we quickly realized that although there was, technically, A/C in the room and that it was, technically, running, all it did was shoot regular air (like a fan) and not cold air at all. So the room was super hot, to the point that it was extremely uncomfortable to sleep in and the kids had to sleep with wet towels on them. Unfortunately because of the noisy street and the lack of mosquito screens on the windows, we could not leave them open. When I called the front desk they argued with me that the A/C did work, tried a few things and ended up telling us there was nothing they could do because the maintenance guy was not available until next day. The next day he came when we were out of the room, and when we came back the front desk said that he basically did nothing, because the A/C worked. But it truly didn't. So after two nights of very little sleep, the hotel brought us a fan they had in the hotel somewhere, which made for a so-so third night, definitely not air conditioning but more bearable in the very hot weather. When we checked out I complained again about the lack of A/C and the fact that it was an essential requirement to my booking, and all they did was offer me a 50$ discount on the room. Not pleased with our stay at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tvling_annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed in the San Gottardo. Great location just opposite the ferry mooring. Reception very friendly and helpful with advice about parking. Our room was great with a fantastic view over the lake. Everything was clean and others have noted the AC did not work - though I think in retrospect this is because the state sets a minimum temperature level - and its wasn't that hot. The public areas are all a bit jaded and there are no facilities other than dining. Breakfast was good though the staff struggled to cope at busy times. We did not eat dinner at the hotel. Reasonable value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grastejoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
293 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

This hotel must have been truly beautiful during its prime. It is a majestic building that sits on the shore of Lago Maggiore and is conveniently located within walking distance to several cafes and restaurants. The entire hotel was refurbished in 2005, but it appears not much has been done since then for maintenance and upkeep as it is currently a bit run down. The carpet on the steps does not look like it has been cleaned since the refurbishment, and the air conditioning did not work. On the bright side, the staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine, but the wait staff was overworked. It may not be paradise, but it is a relatively inexpensive hotel, with a good location, that reminds you of better days.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IBSTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

After a car breakdown, we ended up at the doorstep of this hotel by coincidence. Hotel staff were immediately very helpful helping us in with all the luggages we were carrying. Given our unforeseen stay in the hotel and the fact that the hotel was +/- fully booked during this busy August period, everyone helped to look for solutions to extend our stay in the hotel on a day-to-day basis. We could not have come to a better address. Thanks again to all staff members! Apart from the excellent service (including multi-langual staff), the hotel offers spacious, clean and comfortable rooms. Breakfast is good but could perhaps be upgraded by providing for example more variation in terms of bread.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy_dw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Nice and comfortable rooms, very clean and comfortable with AC. Good breakfast buffet in the morning. The reception was very professional, spoke several languages, was extremely helpful to find free parking and also provided a great dinner tip (our meal at the restaurant next door was excellent). And all that in a very lovely place at the lake. Pity we could only stay for one night... would love to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We spent a wonderful couple of days at the Belvedere-San Gottardo. Everything went just the way it should: My online request through their website was answered immediately with all the requested information. Our room - facing the lake - was ready at noon. The reception was very friendly. The room was clean and spacious, so that we had enough space for our baby crib and even some more for our little girl to play a bit. The bathroom was spacious too. Nothing fancy but very much ok. It's true that it's a bit difficult to get one of the free parking spots right outside the hotel, but there are other free parking places not far down the road - still a couple of minutes walk, but as the hotel provides parking outside the reception for loading and unloading the luggage, that's not a problem. Breakfast is good. All in all a very comfortable and friendly place for a good price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoSiYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verbania
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Gottardo
Hotel San Gottardo
#2 of 16 in Verbania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ancora Hotel
Ancora Hotel
#1 of 16 in Verbania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Majestic
Grand Hotel Majestic
#4 of 16 in Verbania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pallanza
Hotel Pallanza
#3 of 16 in Verbania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.5 mi away
Il Chiostro
Il Chiostro
#7 of 16 in Verbania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Property: Hotel Belvedere
Address: Viale delle Magnolie 6, 28922, Verbania, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Verbania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Verbania
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Verbania
#4 Luxury Hotel in Verbania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An excellent example of the Art Nouveau architectural style of the early 1900s, hotel Pallanza with its 48 rooms has recently been completely refurbished. While respecting the criteria of traditional elegance, the hotel is provided with the most modern comforts. Located in a beautiful, panoramic position, most of the rooms look out over Lake Maggiore and the shore that is just a few metres away. Air conditioning, garage. Open all year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere Lake Maggiore/Verbania, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing