We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visit to Viareggio”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Katy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Katy
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“visit to Viareggio”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The Hotel is perfectly located just around the corner from the beach and the main walkway and is situated in a quite street ,the staff were frienldy and polite and the buffet breakfast was excellent.We had a room to the front with a balcony which was a real bonus as with most hotels in this area the rooms are small but very well presented and the beach is only across the road as with Italy you have to pay for chairs and umbrellas on the beach which cost €25 per day..
If you are in this area for a few days this hotels location and standard are excellent and is not far from Pisa which you can travel to by bus or train.
We will be back to stay here.

Room Tip: Room to front with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank padraig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    71
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
76
146
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My husband, son and I stayed at Hotel Katy for 6 nights in mid-September. This is a lovely, smallish well-managed hotel in an excellent location - l00 yards to the beach and 10-15 minutes walk from the railway station.

My husband and I chose a room with balcony and it was nice to sit there but as it happened the sea view from our son's room was just as good, maybe better.

Storage space in bedrooms was good and the bathrooms reasonable size also. The whole hotel is spotless. There is a lovely bright breakfast room and breakfast was good. There is also a comfortable TV lounge

The provision of beach towels in a handy bag is a wonderful service now that weight is a real issue with airlines. Lovely towels and no charge. What wonderful customer service. It is that kind of attention to detail which makes a stay in the Katy such a pleasure.

My only problem was that mattress and pillow were both very firm. Obviously nothing could be done about the mattress but I was given another pillow which was not quite so firm. I appreciated that an effort was made to resolve the matter for me. You do feel that the owners want to do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable

Hotel Katy is a top-of-the-range 3 star hotel which I would recommend without reservation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We have just got back from spending 2 nights at Hotel Katy, the rooms are clean, breakfast is good with lots of choice and close to the beach .Mainly the staff are so lovely and helpful, lending us beach towels, happy to get train times and just overall lovely people ! Thank you so much for your hospitality !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed here 4 nights in the beginning of sept. 2013. We decided to get a room with balcony! Best decision: Great view of the ocean and not located too close to the main road to hear all the tourists and cars along the promenade. Rooms were spacious and clean and the bathroom very nice. The reception was also always very friendly and available for any problems. Even the breakfast was decent, especially for italian standards (fresh fruits, eggs, toast, etc.). Parking permit for most of the promenade and the side streets for 6€/day. They have a great deal with one of the beach clubs for 15€/day (this is cheap for italy; it was sept though).
The only real critique we had was the WiFi which costs 5€/day (and device!!!) or 12€/3 days (they are a bit liberal if you have 2 devices though).
Would highly recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: For us, the balcony rooms our front were amazing since you get a view of the ocean and it's not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
298 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

About advantages. Sympathetic and friendly personnel. The successful arrangement, proximity to the sea and the downtown, isn't so noisy. Tasty coffee for a breakfast which is made by the professional. Plentiful tasty breakfast, mainly fruit and baking, natural juice. English-speaking personnel.

Few minuses also have place. Noisy conditioner. Not any electrodevice can be turned on in the socket in number. (the adapter is necessary). The discount was't provided to hotel clients on the nearest beach though it was declared by hotel.during booking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The best place to stay in Viareggio!

Based on other reviews I chose this hotel to stay, so I hope it will be useful for other travelers as well.
Family run hotel with cozy atmosphere, everybody was so friendly and helpful, so it was a complete pleasure staying there. Giusy and Georgia are the great ladies, they have best advice regarding everything: starting from what to do around and which beach better to go and what to do in Florence or Pisa, in case you are planning to go there and supply you with the map as well!

The overall experience was fantastic: good breakfast, daily cleaning of the room, good location of the hotel, 2 minutes away from the beach, where you have special rate from this hotel, clean and nice room with a satellite TV.

Thanks again for making my stay such a memorable one!

Room Tip: We were staying in the room on the highest floor with a huge terrace from one side and panoramic win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EkaterinaDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Situated close to the beech in the centre of town close to the pine forest/park. The hotel is family run and the hosts know their town. All their restaurant recommendation were excellent although some took some hunting down. The room was spotless and very spacious although draw space was limited. Bed linen and towels changed daily. the rooms also have a small fridge which was also very handy and the owners had no objection to us holding our own drinks in it. The hotel is a little dated but very clean and well presented and has a very warm feel. Another nice touch was the provision of beech towel and a arrangement with one of the private beeches. The breakfast is also worth a mention as it was a amazing - a wide ranging buffet, from a different hot dish each day, through cold meats, cheese, fresh fruit, fresh croissants, cakes, cereals, fruit juice and what ever tea or coffee you fancy,
I have never been to an Italian seaside resort before but I loved the Viareggio experience and I am glad I chose the Hotel Katy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butterball-49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#3 of 53 in Viareggio
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tirrenia
Hotel Tirrenia
#5 of 53 in Viareggio
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.5 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#6 of 53 in Viareggio
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Tina
Hotel Villa Tina
#17 of 53 in Viareggio
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Katy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Katy

Property: Hotel Katy
Address: Via Flavio Gioia 12/14, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#2 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Katy 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Katy is a completely renovated 3 star hotel. Situated a few feet away from the Viareggio promenade in an advantagious spot, a few metres from both the sea and the pine woods.The hotel offers its guests very comfortable rooms, all equipped with air-conditioning, colour tv, fridge, safe and telephone.The hotel offer bed and breakfast service. The breakfast buffet is served from 8:00 to 10:30 in the breakfast room. For hotel guests, special agreement with bathing establishments and restaurants nearby. Bicycles can be rented in the nearby pine forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Katy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Katy Viareggio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing