We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maureen ....UK”
Review of Hotel Katy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Katy
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Maureen ....UK”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at Hotel Katie for 5 nights late July 2014, it was an excellent find, room with a balcony was large and very clean, breakfast was fresh and to a very high standard, the staff work so hard to ensure that everyone has an excellent stay, they could not do enough for their guests...excellent location right by the beach...

Room Tip: just ask....i am sure they will do their best .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMEngland2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    73
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
77
149
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in room 105. Room small but fine for one person, view to the back of the hotel. Room was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated I also had a mini bar. The breakfast was lovely everything freshly prepared each morning and real coffee. The hotel is a cross the road from the beach and a 15 minutes walk to the train station. The staff were all friendly and helpful providing train time tables and maps for lucca, pisa and sienna. One of the better three star hotels offering good value for money I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay in the Hotel Katy. Excellent choice. Well located and exceptionally clean. Breakfast was fresh with a great variety. Real family atmosphere. Located 2 mins from the beach.
As all the beach is private and you have to pay for your bed, they recommended us to go to "Maurizio" as they have a deal with them, there we met Stefano. He gave us some great advice. Helped with recommendations about where to eat and where to see. The facilities at the beach are fantastic.. private changing rooms, toilets, kids play area, drinks machine, restaurants and bars, absolutely everything to make it a comfortable day.
Stefano gave us directions to Pietrasanta, a nearby town, maybe a 15 min drive. It was a great recommendation, it's a must see! We ate that night in a lovely restaurant, it was called "Vineria Osteria" It's into the village and take the first right, really worth finding.
In Viareggio there is a great restaurant around the corner from the hotel, Antico Locando. They have a fish tasting menu for 28 euro each, if you like your fish this is for you!! Wine was included !!
Would definitely return to this hotel and Viarreggio.

Room Tip: Room 402 has a private terrace, 401 has a terrace located across the corridor which comes with the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dj4daly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Clean, friendly, bright, balcony with a side view of the sea at a reasonable cost. Good breakfast helpful staff. Best shower of our trip to Italy. What more could one ask. Apparently help get one of our travel belts with credit cards, passport and travel money to us on the road. They went out of their way to make sure our trip was not ruined by our oversight. We picked this hotel as we could not find anything reasonable in Pisa and, boy, am I glad we did.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are slightly more, but well worth the few extra Euros
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in hotel Katy in early June and had a very pleasant stay.
The staff were competent and nice and breakfast was good. We especially liked the fact that there was a barista there to make our coffees fresh. The coffee was of a good size and was tasty.
We had a humming noise in our room when we first checked in and this was promptly sorted out.
We really liked the night desk clerk! His English was pretty much non existant but it was no problem as he was very friendly and helpful.
There are a couple of very nice and tasty restaurants about a block away from this hotel as well.
We would recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed a night in the perfectly situated and family operated hotel in Viareggio while being on a road trip through northern Italy. We had a small, but sufficing room which was clean and equiped with a/c, fridge and safe. Parking was available on the street(s) in front of/next to the hotel. The breakfast was for italian standards very nice and contained e.g. tasty fresh fruits and scrambled eggs.

However, two cons need to be mentioned: first, there was no free wifi, which might be a little uncomfortable for the one's beeing on the road. The second (and from our point view major) point is the fact that the rooms are very noisy and you can hear a lot from next door and above (e.g. toilett flushing, shower, telephone calls). I for myself am not as sensible on that issue and had a perfect night, but my girlfriend didn't sleep that well. So if you're not as sensible for noise, the hotel is perfectly fine for a stay in Viareggio.

PS: if you like fish make sure you'll visit the trattoria "buonumore", which is only a couple of minutes away by foot. We had one of the best dinners of our lives...

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wealsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

At a slick resort like Viareggio you don't need the facilities of a five star hotel, and the Katy is a cracking place just off the promenade that cannot be faulted at the price. We had a side sea view room with a wee balcony, and spent many an hour there on the warm evenings. The rooms are a good size, well furnished, spotless and very comfortable. The hotel is immaculate with all mod cons and the breakfasts were as good as any of the six hotels we stayed in on our tour of Italy. The coffee was the best anywhere, ask for a coffee with milk and you get a jug of hot coffee and another of hot milk, three cups mixed to your preference. The staff are very helpful with everything, and supply beach towels in an excellent carry bag free of charge if you ask on the desk. Loved it, will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#3 of 53 in Viareggio
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tirrenia
Hotel Tirrenia
#5 of 53 in Viareggio
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sina Astor
Sina Astor
#10 of 53 in Viareggio
493 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#6 of 53 in Viareggio
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Katy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Katy

Property: Hotel Katy
Address: Via Flavio Gioia 12/14, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#2 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Katy 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Katy is a completely renovated 3 star hotel. Situated a few feet away from the Viareggio promenade in an advantagious spot, a few metres from both the sea and the pine woods.The hotel offers its guests very comfortable rooms, all equipped with air-conditioning, colour tv, fridge, safe and telephone.The hotel offer bed and breakfast service. The breakfast buffet is served from 8:00 to 10:30 in the breakfast room. For hotel guests, special agreement with bathing establishments and restaurants nearby. Bicycles can be rented in the nearby pine forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Katy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Katy Viareggio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing