We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viareggio's first (and possibly still) nicest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
Wotton-under-Edge
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Viareggio's first (and possibly still) nicest”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

In a seaside town about which many Italians roll their eyes when you mention it (and quite a few Anglos have never heard of) there's not a huge amount of choice of 4-star hotels. The Plaza is firmly on the list--and has been since the 1870s. Although its 'downtown' location is more in the clatter and rattle of the seaside's particular dynamic, the Plaza sits facing the slightly ragged Piazza d'Azeglio with its side to the Mediterranean promenade. Once inside, daytripper's world is definitely kept outside the door. All marble, beautifully decorated lounge--indeed elegant--and the delight of a wonderful 4th-floor rooftop Terrace Restaurant with superb views, excellent service and good food, too. A little pricey, perhaps, but I believe worth the extra to enjoy a meal here. A return visit after eight years is risking disappointment, happily nothing could be further from the truth. In dealing with the hotel direct (online) I was very pleased to have received a great special offer and my request for a room on the Piazza side was acknowledged promptly and confirmed speedily. On arrival, check-in was seamless and the room was as I'd been promised. A very comfortable room with all mod cons, lovely balcony, airconditioning that actually cooled without excess noise. Very clean room and the luxury of new bedlinens every day. What I consider real luxury. We had one dinner and six lunches in the Terrace restaurant. Breakfast up there, too, very generously laid out and on the terrace if desired (it can get breezy, but pleasant in the summer). Staff were all extremely friendly and efficient. We'll stay again

Room Tip: Rooms on the seafront side will be hotter, so a cooler choice would be ones facing the piazza. Take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulWuE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    149
    56
    31
    8
See reviews for
51
146
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This hotel was to our taste, the staff were friendly, helpful and very polite. This in our case was a perfect holiday. Room smallish (third floor superior) but perfectly formed. When we arrived the wash basin would not hold any water as plug was funny. One request to reception and it was fixed when we got back from a stroll. We had a complimentary gala dinner, again one word to reception and the chef did three vegetarian courses, perfect for me. Complimentary bottle of fizz, although this may be for superior rooms only. The whole hotel was spotless, the restaurant on the top floor (fourth) and looked out over the sea. The breakfast was superb. There was plenty of choice for everyone. However if you did want full English that was extra, although bacon and scrambled eggs available for everyone. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The hotel is situated on a main road, but we were not disturbed, as air conditioning in room. Ours w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivybridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This is a 'small boutique' style of hotel, which means that the number of guests in the hotel was not overwhelming and they have plenty of staff to provide a very high level of service. Anything we needed or wanted was dealt with immediately.

The reception staff provided information on trains, buses, taxis etc. without it being any trouble to them. The breakfast staff where amazingly efficient too and the breakfast food was always replenished when running out, and fresh.

The rooms where very good sized, we had Superior rooms) and the bathrooms where too. Towels where changed daily.

The location of the hotel is toward the Harbour/Marina, which is one end of the area, we found plenty of places to eat, with great food in most.

If we go back to Viareggio, we would stay here again.

The only minor drawbacks are the lack of outside space of the hotel itself, and because the windows are wooden, traditional style, sometimes you could hear noise from the bars opposite.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Right on the strip for the beach and shopping, although I was there for business. There is a nice lobby and sitting room with a computer, although wi-fi was included in my room rate. The room was on the small side but had all the amenities including a desk and minibar and plenty of hangars. The decor is attractive and the front desk team could not be better. The best part is the top floor terrace restaurant which serves a breakfast buffet and also lunch and dinner. The food is excellent. At dinner there is a fixed price corporate menu for €30 which is a good value because wine is included. If you are there during shoulder season, you may not want a Seaview room as noise from the street will make you shut your windows in self-defense.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carate Brianza, Italia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This 4 star hotel is located on the seaside promenade, in the Art Deco area of the town, which dates back to the beginning of the 19th century.
The interiors are beautiful, with both vintage furniture and all modern and techological comforts.
The restaurant (La Terrrazza) is situated on the top floor of the Plaza e de Russie and from here you can enjoy wonderful Mediterranean cuisine and a unique view over Viareggio landscape, from the sea to the mountains.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LuisaZambrotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Turbie, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2013

First impression is very positive and the reception staff are efficient friendly and very polite. I have been staying here on and off for the last 2 weeks and have had a chance to sample 3 different types of rooms (sngl, dbl and superior dbl) and all are adequate to really quite nice and stylish. Beds are large and comfortable and the shower or bathrooms (depending on the room) are quite spacious. The downside is that it could do with a little maintenance, a few licks of paint here and there...and the rooms are badly soundproofed if at all. My girlfriend thought someone had walked into my room while we were on the phone together...it was the room next door but you could hear it that loudly and clearly.
The BIG disappointment is the restaurant - breakfast looks a lot better than it is. Stick to the cakes and yoghurt because all the rest is really awful, stale bread and pastries, inedible scrambled eggs and bacon full of cartilage, etc... I also ate there for dinner and that was absolutely terrible. I was on my own and ordered a grilled fish with roasted vegetables. 42 minutes later (I could time it precisely because I had just received a message on my phone as I was ordering!) the whole fish comes out on a trolley to be promptly destroyed by the head waiter...he managed to leave 1/2 the fish on the bones, literally pile the remaining mashed fish on to the plate with a tiny splash of olive oil then handed me a side plate of chips...not what I asked for. he saw my reaction and asked me if all was ok...I said no, this is not a grilled fish with roasted vegies, this is a mash of basic fish n chips! He did offer to change the fish for another dish which by this stage I was already late for a meeting so I simply pointed out that the fish was not the problem! He was completely unphased and continued to swagger his way around the restaurant making sure that people took note of his high-importance. Why would you pay €18 for a plate of mediocre fish n chips?
I am trying hard not to let the restaurant experience ruin my whole stay in the hotel...I still have 2 nights left there...

Room Tip: 2nd floor superior doubles are the best! Don't be tempted by the 3rd floor thinking you'll h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza001, Direttore at Plaza e De Russie Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear Sir / Madame,

With reference to your message received yesterday, it is a surprise for us receive a complaint regarding your stay as you didn’t notice any kind of problem, during your stay and at check out, to our front desk in order to do our best to solve what mentioned.

At the same time, we would like to clarify as follow:

. soundproof for our rooms : we've got soundproof glasses but we are not able to do anything else as we are the oldest hotel (opened 1891) and we are not able to move / modify anything (something not depending from us but from the Italian low). For the same reason, we can't modify the floor in our restaurant

. restaurant: first complaint received this year regarding breakfast and dinner.
Stale break and pastries: always fresh (received every morning around 7.00 a.m except on sundays. Day off in Italy for bakers)
Scramble eggs and bacon: freshly made during breakfast time (4 / 5 times from 7 till 10.30 pm). Cartilage is due from the cut of the meat

. grilled fish: we usually serve a fillet of fish per person (the rest of the fish, remained on the bones). We regret, also, for the delay (42 minutes, usually it takes max 15 minutes: what comes out from our cuisine is "made at the moment") and misunderstanding for vegetables (only potatoes served)

. our Restaurant Manager is working with us since 1999 and we know is very important for all our guest (never acting in the way you describe: we had received, as well this year, lot of compliments for the service done)

We believe the opinion of all our Guests is very important in order to improve our hotel where we can and we invite you to our restaurant as our Guest (dinner per 1 person à la carte on a complimentary basis, house wine and water included).

At your disposal for any further information you may need, we do remain

With Our Best Regards.

Simone Lupori
Hotel Manager
Hotel Plaza e de Russie
Piazza d'Azeglio, 1
55049 - Viareggio (Lu)
Tel. 0584 - 44449
Fax. 0584 - 44031
s.lupori@plazaederussie.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Lovely hotel - character, clean, comfortable , friendly, helpful staff.
Central location so handy for shops, beach etc. We travelled by train from Viareggio around Tuscany.
Gourmet evening meal in the hotel was delicious.
The October weather was perfect - far nicer than the "summer" we had endured in UK.

Room Tip: I was glad we were upgraded to a room with a balcony from where we could see the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.7 mi away
Sina Astor
Sina Astor
#10 of 53 in Viareggio
504 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#3 of 53 in Viareggio
508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#9 of 53 in Viareggio
287 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#6 of 53 in Viareggio
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza e De Russie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza e De Russie Hotel

Property: Plaza e De Russie Hotel
Address: Piazza Massimo d'Azeglio 1, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#8 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza e De Russie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the waterfront, just 40 meters from the beach and the center of a context exquisitely Liberty, the oldest luxury hotel in Viareggio, built in 1871 along the route of the Grand Tour, pays tribute with his name to the Russian nobility who used to spend its long beach holidays right here. At 800 meters from the train station, 2 km from the A12 motorway, 25 km from Pisa Airport. located on the promenade, the hotel is at the center of the area Liberty sort in the early '900, the period when Viareggio become an international showcase where the glories of worldliness join the literary and artistic fervor of the time. Thanks to the environmentally sound management and its history, the atmosphere of the hotel invites the guest to indulge in a trip down memory lane. Secluded lounges, Murano chandeliers, refined antique furniture recreate the taste for the finer things of the past, which is flanked with discretion, all the tools and technologies to a business meeting or a business meeting. At the Plaza and de Russie the unique sensation of walking on an old wooden floors or soak in a tub framed travertine is completed by the air conditioning and all the modern comforts. We believe it is possible only in very few other situations bring together the suggestions of the environment with the charm of the scents and flavors of the kitchen. From The Terrace, the magnificent restaurant located in the attic of the Plaza and de Russie in Viareggio, you can admire a beautiful landscape that goes from Viareggio to the Gulf of La Spezia. From the tables of the restaurant La Terrazza the view encompasses the sea and the Apuan Alps. The unforgettable sunsets is accompanied by a fine Mediterranean cuisine. Few conference venues in Italy can boast a location as the Hotel Plaza e de Russie, beautifully situated on the promenade of Viareggio. A scenic and pleasant place for breaks of the work and for the extension of the stay of the participants and, if desired, their families. The organization's staff is reliable, professional, young and constantly updated on the latest conference needs. The property has a conference room with all the modern amenities and services and a Press Room adjacent to 30 square meters in natural light and completely darkened. PRISTINE NATURE There are many reasons that make Viareggio and Versilia overtime. The first is its beautiful beach, characterized by a fine white sand that stretches over 20 km in length and 200 m in width and that, dipping gently into the sea, gives anyone a bathroom safe for the regularity of its shallow waters. Its vast pristine pine forests, which run parallel to the sea, welcome those who want to enjoy their cool climate and fragrant, and Lake Massaciuccoli is a surprising gem. CULTURE AND HISTORY LIVES FOREVER The area offers intact its history and its culture: here, on the route of the Grand Tour, the aristocrats of the late nineteenth century would gather in living rooms Liberty, and then in the years around the beautiful world and Italian international has continued to attend these places. Among the most important annual events, to signal the Carnival, famous throughout the world; the Viareggio Literary Award, the most prestigious, and the Puccini Festival in Torre del Lago, where Giacomo Puccini lived and composed most of his works and where his house-museum is open to visitors. And a few miles, Lucca, and the art cities of Tuscany, goals at hand to live unforgettable experiences. The Hotel is accessible from the A12, exit Viareggio / Camaiore following directions to Viareggio and continue for about 3 km. Turn left at the second traffic light, continue for 1 km, at the second traffic light, turn left and continue along the promenade for about 4km. The Hotel Plaza e de Russie is on the left. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza e De Russie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza e De Russie
Plaza e De Russie Hotel Viareggio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing