We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel President(Viareggio)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sina Astor(Viareggio)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Eden(Viareggio)(Great Value!)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tirrenia(Viareggio)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Marchionni(Viareggio)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Lupori(Viareggio)(Great Value!)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte(Viareggio)
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$258
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
92
159
63
33
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
159
63
33
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelsea viewtop floorcomfort roomroof terracerestaurant breakfasta michelin starred restaurantbooked a superior roomchairs and umbrellasbreakfast is servedrestaurants and shopsreception staffthe main stripan upgradebeach clubthe air conditioningcinque terre
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Viareggio has a real old world charm about it and this hotel, being the oldest is a lovely place to stay. It isn't perfect by modern standards, our room was smaller than I had anticipated and though nice was not luxurious, but it was comfortable enough. We were fortunate in having a sea view - nice also to look out on the pretty main street. Being so central there is some traffic noise but it is not a rowdy town and there is more of a general hustle and bustle of restaurants and shops, no loud music or noisy bars. The breakfast offered quite a wide choice though of average standard. The view from the restaurant floor and terrace was fantastic. Staff - civil enough, though as we found elsewhere in Northern Italy not perhaps so approachable and customer focused as we have come to expect but no complaints really. The beach facilities yes over the road but literally only a minute away, as was everything you could want. We were lucky enough to visit on the night of a spectacular street carnival - look out for it, its worth seeing! If you're going here this hotel is fine, better than fine, its actually very nice.

Room Tip: Personally thought the sea view room was great despite a little traffic noise
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The rooms are very small and plainly furnished. The noise from the road is awful. The 'balcony' is no more than a railing in front of the window, which overlooks a noisy road. The public swimming pool, which hotel guests can use, is across the road and through a passageway. The 'sea view" is over the top of the shops, and seems very far away. The music from the cafe opposite prevents one from getting to sleep. There is nowhere to sit,except indoors.

Room Tip: I would advise that you avoid this hotel
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 290ElizB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Would probably urge a little caution, we were not aware that this hotel was right in the centre, so if you are looking for peace and quiet, this is not the place as the town does not go to sleep early. But it is not loud music, disco, bars etc, just general street noise.

Despite that the Hotel is very pleasant, clean, the staff are friendly and very helpful. The major headache is the parking - not a lot of it and only in certain areas at certain times.

Eating at the Hotel appeared expensive, so we did give it a miss and found some very good local restaurants only across the way - Cafe Margherita being one of them, excellent both on choice and price.

The art deco buildings along the front appear to have had some renovation and the improvement work is obviously ongoing but not intrusive.

Plenty of shops, restaurants, bars, ice cream shops along the front which is in excess of 1 mile, so lots of choice.

The only way to get on the beach is to pay, there is a very small free beach right next to the harbour. However, the hotel do have a deal with one of the beach clubs, which is probably the cheaper option to access the beach with costs of the sun beds varying from €18-€30 per day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Staff was polite but pretentious and not really friendly. The bathroom was small, even for a single room. A lot of space in the already small shower was taken up by some ornaments. I couldn't even turn around. The hotel location is ok, but parking on the street is actually a major headache. The advertised view over the sea from the roof terrace was there, but only standing up. Due to a side wall that was just too high to look over you can't enjoy it sitting down. The rooms are clean. Unfortunately, the staff can't get the carpets in the common areas clean anymore; they will need to be replaced.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLVos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaza001, Direttore at Plaza e De Russie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear Sir / Madame,

With reference to your message and regretting for our very late , it is a surprise for us receive a complaint regarding your stay as you didn’t notice any kind of problem, during your stay (and at check out) to our front desk in order to do our best to solve what mentioned.

At the same time, we would like to clarify as follow:

Staff polite but pretentions and not really friendly: we have lot of note from all our guests with helpfull and courteous staff. This sounds us very strange.


Small shower: size and furnishing are the same in all our single rooms. Inside the shower, there is a little marble tray where you can put shampoo, soap etc. All our guests are happy with it

Public parking place: It is something belonging the town council and is hard to find a place available due to a lot of turists in town

Sea view from the terrace + side wall: All our Guests enjoy the view and we have no need to modify the architectur (the wall will be always there)

Carpets in common areas: we have no carpets in common areas (do you mean "on the stairs"? They are cleaned on a daily basis and changed once per year. In our opinion, they are in good condition.

At your disposal for any further information you may need, we do remain

With Our Best Regards.

Simone Lupori
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We spent one night at the Plaza e De Russie Hotel in Viareggio on our way to Tuscany from Milan. Viareggio is a seaside vacation spot that has seen better days. The beach is lined with some lovely art deco buildings that could use some tender loving care. The Plaza faces Piazza d'Azeglio across the street from the start of the beach bars, restaurants, and shops. It is one of the oldest hotels in town and Soft Living Places is doing a nice job of refurbishing this grand old resort. The lobby is lovely. Check in was excellent with Ylenia. She was a great help to us and showed us where to park in the Piazza, paying only 6 euros a day. Perfect! Our room was in the back part of the hotel and probably on the list for a "re-do." But the room was perfectly clean, with a comfortable bed and nice appointments. The bathroom was dated, but clean and stocked with nice toiletries. The star of the hotel is the 4th Floor, rooftop terrace restaurant. From there, you have an outstanding view of the sea. Lovely decorations, table linen, and china. The dinner menu had a very limited selection but the food was very good and the wine even better. The breakfast selection was much better than dinner and equally as good. The staff was very pleasant, especially Gianluca. His attitude, attentiveness, and helpfulness is a true asset to The Plaza. Soft Living Places should be very pleased that they have Ylenia and Gianluca on their staff. How people are treated is so much more important than a picture perfect environment. We love staying in the older hotels that recapture the grandure of the goldern age of travel. The Plaza is a real plus for Viareggio and worth a visit if you are looking for a nice seaside resort. The staff is wonderful!

Room Tip: Next time I will ask for a room with a view of the sea or Piazza d'Azeglio.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2forever1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews