We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“View of the Beach. Great breakfast, Helpful staff!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
North Dakota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“View of the Beach. Great breakfast, Helpful staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night, April 30, 2014. Arrived around 3:00PM met by a very nice and helpful staff, our room was ready and check-in was a breeze. The hotel was located across the street from the beach and our room had a view of the beach. Plenty of unsecure parking, City parking pass was $10.50 for the day and they did have an offsite secure parking lot for an additional cost. The room was large, tile floors, good free wifi and had everything we needed. The hotel was in a good location near beach and had plenty of dinning close by. Breakfast was included and was great! We want to thank the staff for their great service. We would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bs4u2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    157
    30
    5
    2
See reviews for
83
293
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I recently spent 16 days at Hotel President. The staff were very attentive and did everything they could to assist me. Marcello and Jessica at the front desk spent time with me to enable me to send an email back home. I do have technical challenges. Successfully a message was dispatched.
When we misplaced our room key, someone was dispatched immediately by Marcello and was waiting for us.
The rooms were spotless and the cleaning staff were never intrusive.
In the dining room, Franco and Julie were pleasant and attentive to our travel groups needs. Marcello also assisted as needed. Julie helped me to learn the names of some foods and juices.
The meals were excellent and of good proportions. The chef and his sous were very talented.
I hope that the staff are appreciated as much by management as they were by myself and fellow travellers.

Room Tip: If you wish a balcony stay below the 4 th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adellafromthecounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We stopped in Viareggio on a lark on our way to Cinqueterre. Without reservations we looked at a couple two star hotels along the beach then decided to see Hotel President. For a small amount over the other hotels we got a beautiful view room with a balcony and all the extras of a four star hotel! Hotel President is great! Besides everything being perfect the breakfast is unbelievable! Made to order omelettes, French toast, crepes all included! So if you want to splurge during the season or get a good deal off-season, Hotel President is the place to stay!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Mrcbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night only whilst on busness in the area.We were late arriving and were greated by a smile and a 'nothing is too much trouble 'attitude. The room was lovely and clean with a view of the sea. Breakfast was full of choice and the staff friendly and smiling. When we checked out we were met with a smile and friendly banter. I hope we return to the hotel again one day. My lasting impression is of a happy hotel with a touch of class.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scaryDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
President_Viareggio, Managing Director at Hotel President, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Guest,
I am delighted to read all your positive comments and particularly those referring to our room and service.
Your perception is exactly hitting the mark of what we want to be, an elegant Hotel where guests however can feel at home with a relaxed atmosphere and attentive staff.
Hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you again on your next trip to Viareggio.
Kindest Regards
Alessandra Cilia
Managing Director
Hotel President Viareggio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My boyfriend and I just dropped in for lunch (from off the street) during the Carinvale, as other restaurants on the promenade were too busy and snobby to let us in.

At 1.30pm we were told by the other restaurants it was too late?!

My boyfriend came up with the fabulous idea of popping into a Hotel to see if their Restaurant was available (as I am pregnant and couldn’t wander much more without food). We also wanted something more than re-heated side-walk pizza slices.

The Hotel President’s Restaurant was just fantastic.

The Hotel’s Receptionist greeted us in a lovely friendly manner, and we asked her if it were possible to dine in their restaurant for Lunch away from the busy Carnivale. She checked with the Chef and came back with ‘no problems’ and a smile.

She then went off to print two menus for us especially in English and she ended up looking after us because we could see the other waitress was busy clearing up and closing down for the next dining session.

I’m not sure if she usually waits on tables, but she was superb. She was friendly and helpful and even opened the curtains so that we could watch the Carnivale parade whilst dining.

We were promptly given water and a selection of freshly made breads with butter once we were sat. We then both had pasta – which was clearly made fresh and was delicious! Along with mineral water, my boyfriend had half a carafe of Chianti and a side. Our lunch was wonderful and then we left to enjoy the rest of the day.

It was a short but such a top experience! The pasta certainly didn’t disappoint. It goes without saying, we tipped well, as it was well deserved. Our lunch came to 46 euros without the tip and was worth every cent!

We are considering staying at this hotel next time we visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sassyzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
President_Viareggio, Reception Team at Hotel President, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about us on Tripadvisor.
My name is Laila and I'm the Restaurant receptionist who has greeted and assisted you during your lunch at Carnival.
I was very happy to read that you have enjoyed our restaurant cuisine.
Our aim is to meet our guests expectations and make them feel at home so it is very rewarding for us to read such a nice review and learn we have reached it with you.
Please contact me if you may come back to Viareggio in the future, I'll be very happy to take care of you again.
Best wishes from all of us for your baby!
Kindest regards
Laila
Reception Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Great little hotel. Extremely helpful/accomidating staff. The rooms were what we expected in a 4 star hotel. Great jumping off point for Lucca, Chinque Terre and Florence. I would definitely stay they again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roaminginitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
President_Viareggio, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel President, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice posting. I am delighted to read your positive comments and particularly those referring to our Staff.
We couldn't agree more that Viareggio is a special resort with all the most popular cities at a short distance to visit.
We all hope to have you here again soon and once again thank you.

Kindest regards

Alessandra Cilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serre-Chevalier, France
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed for a couple of days here on a mini trip to Tuscany. Well located with view directly over the sea. Breakfast good. Staff all very nice. Clean and good sized rooms. Well located and easy to walk most p,aces from here. We arrived end of September and it was pleasant. I really cannot imagine what viareggia would be like in August!

Would recommend this hotel. We used the bar - pleasant but lacked a little ambience - shame because we probably would have used it more if it was a little bit more modern & trendy...

Never ate in the restaurant so we cannot comment. This is because the lights were very bright at night.... Not what we wanted

Overall a nice hotel

Room Tip: Balcony & sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SCrealreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.3 mi away
BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal
0.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#5 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sina Astor
Sina Astor
#10 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tirrenia
Hotel Tirrenia
#6 of 53 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Property: Hotel President
Address: Viale Carducci 5, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Viareggio
Hotel President Viareggio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing