We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For business rather than beach holiday”
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
Espoo, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“For business rather than beach holiday”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed two weeks at Hotel President in Viareggio. The location is excellent next to the beach promenade, service is very professional and the breakfast was excellent with both a'la carte and buffet options included in our standard room.

Our standard room was very small for two people staying there two weeks. Our room (510) didn't have a balcony, Air conditioning worked fine and the room was kept very clean. The house keeping was very flexible.

I loved the late breakfast from 7:30 to 10.30 AM. You could order omelettes, creppes, toasts, fruit smoothies and fresh orange juice made on order. Nice addition to their extensive buffet breakfast! There was even a glass of sparkling wine available.

What I missed was a balcony (only in a few rooms for quita a large extra charge) and at least a small terrace outside.

On some online booking sites they show pictures of a swimming pool, but that's a separate service about 400 metres from the hotel, and of course for an extra charge (25 EUR a day).

I ordered transfer from the Pisa airport to the hotel in advsnce by e-mail. We were charged 90 EUR for this service. Our friends staying in other hotels in Viareggio only had to hay 60 or 75 EUR for airport transfer. It appears Hotel President took us quite a big margin from this service.

Free WiFi included in the lobby and our room was a positive surprise. It worked fine most of the time.

However, if I choose to return to Viareggio on my vacation, I will probably choose another hotel with at least a small outside terrace and offering a reasonably priced room with a balcony. The hotel description and photos on Booking.com and Hotels.com mislead us a bit.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tero Lehto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
President_Viareggio, Guest Manager at Hotel President, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,
I am glad to read that you have enjoyed the location, the professional service and the excellent breakfast with both options à la carte and buffet included in the standard room rate. The air conditioning and the cleanliness of the room. The free wifi in the lobby and in the room.
You wrote a wonderful description of the Hotel and all my staff and I really appreciate that.
With reference to the transfer from Pisa airport, the price of the service could be higher than rates made by other Hotels, because the Hotel President offers a personalized service with driver and beautiful cars. However, the Hotel does not take any margin from the service.
The Hotel has lots of superb rooms with balcony (Deluxe, Prestige, Exclusive, Junior Suite and Superior). If you would like to come back to Viareggio please contact me directly (alessandracilia@hotelpresident.it) and I will personally take care of your reservation, in order to give you a suitable room with a reasonable price.
Kindest regards,
Alessandra Cilia
Guest Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    164
    33
    5
    2
See reviews for
87
308
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

He hotel is in a great central location on the beach and has access to 2 beach clubs (15 - 20 euros per room). The rooms are slightly larger than the norm in Europe with excellent views of the Mediterrean from front and sides of the hotel. The side view unfortunately includes an empty lot which will be work in progress for some time. The staff (Alessandro) was very helpful in all regards, the breakfast was plentiful and of good variety. The hotel bar area has original oil paintings and chandeliers which give the hotel some charm. We used Viareggio and this hotel as a central point to visit Luca, Pisa, and Cinque Terre which were all about 1 hour drive away. I would definitely recommend and stay at this hotel again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aftalarico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
President_Viareggio, Guest Manager at Hotel President, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind review.
I was very happy to read you have appreciated the service provided and honestly to learn you have like style of the Hotel and its charme.
Pleased you have have gathered the atmosphere full of ancient aesthetic values.
We all look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Viareggio.
Kindest regards.
Alessandra Cilia
Guest Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at The President in May/June and from the moment we arrived to the time we departed the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms were immaculate. We stayed half board and couldn't fault the food and the variety. My husband ordered a birthday cake for me as a surprise and again it came as ordered and was excellent. We enjoyed our stay so much we are returning in September.
It would have been nice to have an outside space to sit and have a drink but the lounge is very comfortable and there is a huge promenade to stroll down just outside the hotel.
You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin3701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
President_Viareggio, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel President, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review, I was truly delighted to learn you have appreciated so much of the Hotel, the sense of hospitality of our staff, the food, the immaculate room and the comfortable lounge bar.
Thank you for sharing your opinion with Tripadvisor users, your kind words are very important for us.
We look forward to taking care of you in September.
Best regards

Alessandra Cilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is an Excellent hotel and it surprises me that it does not have 5 stars. The hotel is located across the road from the beach. The room I stayed in had beautiful views out to sea and a delight to wake up to each morning. The rooms were large and very tastefully decorated with free wi-fi that had a strong signal. The breakfast selection in the morning was fresh and in abundance, there was a real buzz in the breakfast room in the morning and the staff were a delight. The front of house team could not to enough, very knowledgable great recommendations. Will be going back soon, fabulous hotel and staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowSimonglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
President_Viareggio, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel President, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dearest Guest,

thank you very much for your amazing review, we were so happy to read your notes!
Thank you also for having underlined some of our best services such as our breakfast selection and the courtesy and acknowledgement of our Front Desk team. It was really nice to read your comments about "the buzz in the breakfast room" and the romantic "wake-up to beautiful views of the sea".
Once again thank you, we all can't wait to have you back here at the Hotel.
Kindest regards

Alessandra Cilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel twice and we are going to return there. It' s the best hotel we've ever stayed in Italy. Our room was nice and very comfortable. There were two balconies, a coffee machine, a safe, a large TV, slippers and bathrobes. All staff was extremely hospitable and helpful, especially Jessica at the reception and Ann - the housekeeper. Breakfast was various and tasty! The beach Irine was just in 2 minutes on foot and also very comfortable. We had beach toilets and vouchers. Thanks for unforgettable time we've spent there!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

On a return trip after a 13yr absence to the President Hotel,to find their standards have not changed,if not got even better.We stayed half board both breakfast and dinner (4 courses) were excellent.Served by a very professional and friendly team overseen by head waiter Franco who was there on our first visit.Liala who took our orders spoke very good English and had a excellent
knowledge of all the choices on the menu.Reception staff also very friendly with a special mention to Jessica who we found was more then helpfull with information for visiting Florence,Luca,Pisa.Like to mention Nadim the very cheerful barman.The location is ideal for the beach,shops buses and trains.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrison056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fressingfield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We have just returned from a 8 day holiday at the President and if you are reading this review to help you to choose a hotel in Viareggio look no further than the President it truly lives up to all the high praise which has been mentioned in previous reviews and i could also add the food, cleaniness and location but the main point to this hotel is none of those it is the wonderful staff of the President. We were in a party of four staying in standard rooms (part sea view ) and from the moment we arrived we were made very welcome the staff go that extra mile for any enquires you may have . If you have any allergies to any food ( I need a Gluten free diet ) this is the hotel for you !! We stayed half board ( which i strongly recomend ) and all my meals were cooked seperately so there could be no cross contamination ! To sum up if you come to Viareggio stay at the President you will not be dissapointed !!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.5 mi away
Sina Astor
Sina Astor
#11 of 51 in Viareggio
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#6 of 51 in Viareggio
492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#10 of 51 in Viareggio
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
#12 of 51 in Viareggio
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Property: Hotel President
Address: Viale Giosue' Carducci 5, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Viareggio
Hotel President Viareggio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing