We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but beware the potential of noise of summer city celebrations”
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed several nights in August while attending the Puccini Festival at Torre del Lago.
The first night was a disaster due to a Viareggio festa which feature an ultra loud hard rock band playing until midnight a 100 meters from our window. Even with the very good sound proofing and ear plugs, the gigantic base pounded through the room and kept us up. This is a problem with the City of Viareggio, not the hotel, since the City authorizes but does not properly control rock concerts in a hotel area. Nonetheless you may want to inquire as to such concerts before reserving in August.
The hotel itself is well-maintained and very nice. The staff spoke good English and were very helpful. The included breakfast buffet was outstanding. If you want a quality hotel across the street from the beach, this would be a good bet.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ringhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
President_Viareggio, Guest Manager at Hotel President, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,
thanks for your nice review, we are glad that you chose the Hotel President to see the Puccini Opera in the near city of Torre del Lago.
I am sorry that your stay was disturbed by the music played till midnight in occasion of a musical event in the square opposite the Hotel.
Unfortunately, as you underline, when such events happens the Hotel can do nothing since these are organized and authorized by the City Hall.
I was very happy to read that you have appreciated the Hotel, the staff and our outstanding breakfast.
In case you would love coming back to Viareggio do not hesitate to contact me directly (alessandracilia@hotelpresident.it).
I will be glad to suggest you a quiet room or a period in which are not planned musical events.
Kindest regard
Alessandra Cilia
Guest Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel should be a 5 star! Very classy! Our room was on the 5th floor over looking the ocean. We had HUGE windows with an amazing view of the ocean and the walking promenade across the street. We spent 2 days relaxing & suntanning on thee cleanest beach! Rented lounge chairs & an umbrella for the day. Restaurant / Bar just steps away from your lounge chair. Cabanas to change in. Hotel guests get a discounted price for chairs/umbrellas. We enjoyed a FANTASTIC breakfast each morning. Our room and bathroom were beautiful! We rented bikes close by and rode on the bike path for miles! Very close to MANY shops & restaurants. Free/ Great WiFi
Highly recommend Hotel President!

Room Tip: Make sure you get an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annlee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
President_Viareggio, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel President, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your kind review.
I'm happy to read you have enjoyed your stay in Viareggio and have appreciated Hotel President.
Thank you for highlighting the quality of our breakfast, to which we pay a lot of attention, and for sharing the special location of the Hotel, just a few steps from the sea, restaurants and shops.
We all hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards

Alessandra Cilia
Guest Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed two weeks at Hotel President in Viareggio. The location is excellent next to the beach promenade, service is very professional and the breakfast was excellent with both a'la carte and buffet options included in our standard room.

Our standard room was very small for two people staying there two weeks. Our room (510) didn't have a balcony, Air conditioning worked fine and the room was kept very clean. The house keeping was very flexible.

I loved the late breakfast from 7:30 to 10.30 AM. You could order omelettes, creppes, toasts, fruit smoothies and fresh orange juice made on order. Nice addition to their extensive buffet breakfast! There was even a glass of sparkling wine available.

What I missed was a balcony (only in a few rooms for quita a large extra charge) and at least a small terrace outside.

On some online booking sites they show pictures of a swimming pool, but that's a separate service about 400 metres from the hotel, and of course for an extra charge (25 EUR a day).

I ordered transfer from the Pisa airport to the hotel in advsnce by e-mail. We were charged 90 EUR for this service. Our friends staying in other hotels in Viareggio only had to hay 60 or 75 EUR for airport transfer. It appears Hotel President took us quite a big margin from this service.

Free WiFi included in the lobby and our room was a positive surprise. It worked fine most of the time.

However, if I choose to return to Viareggio on my vacation, I will probably choose another hotel with at least a small outside terrace and offering a reasonably priced room with a balcony. The hotel description and photos on Booking.com and Hotels.com mislead us a bit.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tero Lehto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
President_Viareggio, Guest Manager at Hotel President, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,
I am glad to read that you have enjoyed the location, the professional service and the excellent breakfast with both options à la carte and buffet included in the standard room rate. The air conditioning and the cleanliness of the room. The free wifi in the lobby and in the room.
You wrote a wonderful description of the Hotel and all my staff and I really appreciate that.
With reference to the transfer from Pisa airport, the price of the service could be higher than rates made by other Hotels, because the Hotel President offers a personalized service with driver and beautiful cars. However, the Hotel does not take any margin from the service.
The Hotel has lots of superb rooms with balcony (Deluxe, Prestige, Exclusive, Junior Suite and Superior). If you would like to come back to Viareggio please contact me directly (alessandracilia@hotelpresident.it) and I will personally take care of your reservation, in order to give you a suitable room with a reasonable price.
Kindest regards,
Alessandra Cilia
Guest Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

He hotel is in a great central location on the beach and has access to 2 beach clubs (15 - 20 euros per room). The rooms are slightly larger than the norm in Europe with excellent views of the Mediterrean from front and sides of the hotel. The side view unfortunately includes an empty lot which will be work in progress for some time. The staff (Alessandro) was very helpful in all regards, the breakfast was plentiful and of good variety. The hotel bar area has original oil paintings and chandeliers which give the hotel some charm. We used Viareggio and this hotel as a central point to visit Luca, Pisa, and Cinque Terre which were all about 1 hour drive away. I would definitely recommend and stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank aftalarico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
President_Viareggio, Guest Manager at Hotel President, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind review.
I was very happy to read you have appreciated the service provided and honestly to learn you have like style of the Hotel and its charme.
Pleased you have have gathered the atmosphere full of ancient aesthetic values.
We all look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Viareggio.
Kindest regards.
Alessandra Cilia
Guest Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at The President in May/June and from the moment we arrived to the time we departed the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms were immaculate. We stayed half board and couldn't fault the food and the variety. My husband ordered a birthday cake for me as a surprise and again it came as ordered and was excellent. We enjoyed our stay so much we are returning in September.
It would have been nice to have an outside space to sit and have a drink but the lounge is very comfortable and there is a huge promenade to stroll down just outside the hotel.
You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin3701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
President_Viareggio, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel President, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review, I was truly delighted to learn you have appreciated so much of the Hotel, the sense of hospitality of our staff, the food, the immaculate room and the comfortable lounge bar.
Thank you for sharing your opinion with Tripadvisor users, your kind words are very important for us.
We look forward to taking care of you in September.
Best regards

Alessandra Cilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is an Excellent hotel and it surprises me that it does not have 5 stars. The hotel is located across the road from the beach. The room I stayed in had beautiful views out to sea and a delight to wake up to each morning. The rooms were large and very tastefully decorated with free wi-fi that had a strong signal. The breakfast selection in the morning was fresh and in abundance, there was a real buzz in the breakfast room in the morning and the staff were a delight. The front of house team could not to enough, very knowledgable great recommendations. Will be going back soon, fabulous hotel and staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlasgowSimonglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
President_Viareggio, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel President, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dearest Guest,

thank you very much for your amazing review, we were so happy to read your notes!
Thank you also for having underlined some of our best services such as our breakfast selection and the courtesy and acknowledgement of our Front Desk team. It was really nice to read your comments about "the buzz in the breakfast room" and the romantic "wake-up to beautiful views of the sea".
Once again thank you, we all can't wait to have you back here at the Hotel.
Kindest regards

Alessandra Cilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel twice and we are going to return there. It' s the best hotel we've ever stayed in Italy. Our room was nice and very comfortable. There were two balconies, a coffee machine, a safe, a large TV, slippers and bathrobes. All staff was extremely hospitable and helpful, especially Jessica at the reception and Ann - the housekeeper. Breakfast was various and tasty! The beach Irine was just in 2 minutes on foot and also very comfortable. We had beach toilets and vouchers. Thanks for unforgettable time we've spent there!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Elena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.5 mi away
Sina Astor
Sina Astor
#11 of 51 in Viareggio
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#6 of 51 in Viareggio
513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#9 of 51 in Viareggio
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
#10 of 51 in Viareggio
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Address: Viale Giosue' Carducci 5, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range: £79 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Viareggio
Hotel President Viareggio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing