We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carnivale weekend in Viareggio”
Review of Sina Astor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sina Astor
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Carnivale weekend in Viareggio”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Lovely hotel!! We booked it for a weekend away and it turned out to be their local 'Carnivale' weekend. The floats and the town was amazing! Highly recommend you go when it's Carnivale. The kids took over the hotel (be prepared) and all the locals were staying in the hotel, it reminded me of kids running around with streamers and confetti after a wedding! ...others might get annoyed, but we loved it (even though we are just a young couple - no kids)!! A fantastic family feel to the whole area, not just the hotel.

The hotel could to with a bit of updating, but for the price, we couldn't complain.

The hotel included a buffet bfast... it's not a hot america buffet, but it was a fantastic continental buffet (if you're familiar with European bfasts - it was great in comparison).

The hotel staff were super helpful and so kind.

We had an awesome in-house massage, 60Euros for 1 hour. Well worth it.

The in door pool was available and warm, but I had to wear a swimming cap, so opted out of using it. There's also a jacuzzi, steam room and sauna, but they were crowded when we wanted to use it...but that's not the hotel's fault. There is also an amazing view from the 6th floor Sun Deck... any guest can go up there, so do it! Just go for a wonder.

My only suggestions would be free Wifi instead of 3euros per hour - although you can go to a cafe which offers wifi for free... and that the rooms could do with tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but in saying that, they did have mini bar, in-room safe, TV, cotton buds, shampoo (not conditioner), body moisteriser, soap, bubble bath and a very basic hair dryer. We also recived slippers and robes. So now you know what you need and need not, to bring ;-)

The bed and pillows were super comfy, the bathroom had a shower and a bath and everything was very clean.

We were completely happy with this hotel, in a great location (15-20 mins walk from the centre of all the action), 20 min walk to the train station. Unfortunately we paid 80euros to get a cab from Pisa Airport, but that is b/c RyanAir didn't get us in a reasonable hour... after 1:30am, so we had not choice, but going back, we took a train (Viareggio to Pisa), and then the shuttle bus from Pisa train station to the airport - allow a good hour and a half to get there in good time. Oh, and the shuttle bus tickets can ONLY be bought from the cafe or newspaper stand... don't wait in line at the train ticket booth only to find this out later (huff).

BTW... everyone needs to checkout the markets in town if they're staying in Viareggio! No one thinks much of it, but we did!!... If it's winter and nothing better to do, then go. (Start at the corner of Via Cesare Battisti and Via San Martino...) just do it!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the sea or at least on the corner with a balcony... it was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sassyzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    231
    115
    31
    16
See reviews for
87
248
19
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Just returned from italy staying at the astor.The staff are all very friendly and helpful.The food was very good.Breakfast was continental which concerned me a bit but because i am used to full english but it was more than enough and I enjoyed it espcially the the cakes etc and i dont eat a lot of these normally.The dinners were firs class.

Room Tip: ask for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our room was excellent with a large terrace, views to both mountains and sea. Viareggio beach was across the road. Massive street market on Thursday morning selling all types of clothing, accessories, and some very expensive designer shops. Restaurant opposite was good value - the hotel pricey (but breakfast included). Only English language TV was CNN - the only disappointment.

Room Tip: We had 6th floor room - superior. Very spacious and well furnished corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suebarnaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caracas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

the location was great , but the hotel was average. No charm o especial features. Staff was cold and did'nt go th extra mile . It was clean but old . No air conditioning. I went for the opera in Torre del lago ,which was great. The hotel did not offer tours o especial guidance about places of interest or restaurants . The wiew from the dinning room was perfect. THe breakfast was good but service of the coffe slow

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ytzander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed here for a weekend recently.
Super rooms , spacious and clean . Take a studio.
The hotel has all the amenities of a decent European 4 star including a pool , gym and spa. Equally a 2 minute walk takes you to the private beach.
Terraced restaurant offers a very good buffet breakfast and a delicious array of italian food in the evening.
The service is very good and the staff have to be commended on their attentiveness and care.
Super hotel for couples , families, singles.
I shall return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeddingSinger56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

With a warm friendly greeting from reception staff, we were welcomed back to the Astor for what must now be our 5th stay with them. We were delighted to be shown to the exact room that we requested after feeling so much at home in the same fantastic panoramic sea view room during a previous stay. The positioning of the hotel is also a massive attribute for our return visits here, with just a stones throw to set foot on the beach with the buzz of designer shops and quality beach restaurants all the way along the sea front and acres of parks and woodland just a short walk inland, all draws us back here. We chose to eat at the Astor as the high standard of breakfast is equalled at evening dinner, which could be taken out on the terrace with the good weather were fortunate to enjoy. The restaurant staff are extremely obliging as in all our previous stays here. Not to forget to mention that our room, as is the whole hotel, was cleaned to a very high standard. The newly heated indoor pool just adds to the choice of outstanding leisure facilities here and I think it goes without saying we will return as soon as we possibly can!

Room Tip: All front positioned rooms we have stayed in have great sea views, in particular the central front r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DHugh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My wife and I have just returned from the Astor and had a very pleasant experience.
The room we had (229) was very comfortable with a sea view and small balcony.
We found the staff to be very helpful and courteous at all times.
The evening meal had a wide choice to suit most and the breakfast was also very substantial.
We hope to return when next visiting Viareggio.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jab58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#3 of 53 in Viareggio
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#6 of 53 in Viareggio
490 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
#12 of 53 in Viareggio
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#10 of 53 in Viareggio
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sina Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sina Astor

Property: Sina Astor
Address: Viale Giosue' Carducci 54, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#7 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sina Astor 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the elegant promenade, the Astor has a special view of theViareggio seafront. Completely restored, the hotel has a striking young and modern architectural appearance.The rooms, all modernised and made more comfortable, reflect a contemporary and attractive style. Among the most highly rated restaurants in the city, “La Conchiglia” owes its reputation to the freshness of its products and their skil preparation.The SINA Wellness Club offers an equipped gym, sauna, indoor swimming-pool and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sina Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sina Astor Viareggio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing