We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 4 star hotel with modest prices”
Review of Sina Astor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sina Astor
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Viareggio
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is very close to the beach with excellent rooms and with a perfect service. The breakfast was of a very good international standard. The room was very tidy.
Just in front of the hotel you can have excellent seefood at very modest prices.
I can higly recommend the hotel Astor in Viareggio

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arthur237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We booked last minute for a weekend in viareggio. An Art Deco resort with faded glory but still worth visiting. We booked a deluxe double but were upgraded to a junior suite with a good size balcony overlooking the seafront. Good breakfast and we used the spa facilities . Looks like one of the better hotels on the seafront. Good value for money, good service and good location .

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank FamilyofFourItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Lovely hotel!! We booked it for a weekend away and it turned out to be their local 'Carnivale' weekend. The floats and the town was amazing! Highly recommend you go when it's Carnivale. The kids took over the hotel (be prepared) and all the locals were staying in the hotel, it reminded me of kids running around with streamers and confetti after a wedding! ...others might get annoyed, but we loved it (even though we are just a young couple - no kids)!! A fantastic family feel to the whole area, not just the hotel.

The hotel could to with a bit of updating, but for the price, we couldn't complain.

The hotel included a buffet bfast... it's not a hot america buffet, but it was a fantastic continental buffet (if you're familiar with European bfasts - it was great in comparison).

The hotel staff were super helpful and so kind.

We had an awesome in-house massage, 60Euros for 1 hour. Well worth it.

The in door pool was available and warm, but I had to wear a swimming cap, so opted out of using it. There's also a jacuzzi, steam room and sauna, but they were crowded when we wanted to use it...but that's not the hotel's fault. There is also an amazing view from the 6th floor Sun Deck... any guest can go up there, so do it! Just go for a wonder.

My only suggestions would be free Wifi instead of 3euros per hour - although you can go to a cafe which offers wifi for free... and that the rooms could do with tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but in saying that, they did have mini bar, in-room safe, TV, cotton buds, shampoo (not conditioner), body moisteriser, soap, bubble bath and a very basic hair dryer. We also recived slippers and robes. So now you know what you need and need not, to bring ;-)

The bed and pillows were super comfy, the bathroom had a shower and a bath and everything was very clean.

We were completely happy with this hotel, in a great location (15-20 mins walk from the centre of all the action), 20 min walk to the train station. Unfortunately we paid 80euros to get a cab from Pisa Airport, but that is b/c RyanAir didn't get us in a reasonable hour... after 1:30am, so we had not choice, but going back, we took a train (Viareggio to Pisa), and then the shuttle bus from Pisa train station to the airport - allow a good hour and a half to get there in good time. Oh, and the shuttle bus tickets can ONLY be bought from the cafe or newspaper stand... don't wait in line at the train ticket booth only to find this out later (huff).

BTW... everyone needs to checkout the markets in town if they're staying in Viareggio! No one thinks much of it, but we did!!... If it's winter and nothing better to do, then go. (Start at the corner of Via Cesare Battisti and Via San Martino...) just do it!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the sea or at least on the corner with a balcony... it was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sassyzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Just returned from italy staying at the astor.The staff are all very friendly and helpful.The food was very good.Breakfast was continental which concerned me a bit but because i am used to full english but it was more than enough and I enjoyed it espcially the the cakes etc and i dont eat a lot of these normally.The dinners were firs class.

Room Tip: ask for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our room was excellent with a large terrace, views to both mountains and sea. Viareggio beach was across the road. Massive street market on Thursday morning selling all types of clothing, accessories, and some very expensive designer shops. Restaurant opposite was good value - the hotel pricey (but breakfast included). Only English language TV was CNN - the only disappointment.

Room Tip: We had 6th floor room - superior. Very spacious and well furnished corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suebarnaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

the location was great , but the hotel was average. No charm o especial features. Staff was cold and did'nt go th extra mile . It was clean but old . No air conditioning. I went for the opera in Torre del lago ,which was great. The hotel did not offer tours o especial guidance about places of interest or restaurants . The wiew from the dinning room was perfect. THe breakfast was good but service of the coffe slow

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ytzander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed here for a weekend recently.
Super rooms , spacious and clean . Take a studio.
The hotel has all the amenities of a decent European 4 star including a pool , gym and spa. Equally a 2 minute walk takes you to the private beach.
Terraced restaurant offers a very good buffet breakfast and a delicious array of italian food in the evening.
The service is very good and the staff have to be commended on their attentiveness and care.
Super hotel for couples , families, singles.
I shall return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeddingSinger56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.5 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#3 of 51 in Viareggio
528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#4 of 51 in Viareggio
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercure Viareggio
Mercure Viareggio
#9 of 51 in Viareggio
508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 51 in Viareggio
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sina Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sina Astor

Address: Lungomare Carducci 54, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#7 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range: £86 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sina Astor 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the elegant promenade, the Astor has a special view of theViareggio seafront. Completely restored, the hotel has a striking young and modern architectural appearance.The rooms, all modernised and made more comfortable, reflect a contemporary and attractive style. Among the most highly rated restaurants in the city, “La Conchiglia” owes its reputation to the freshness of its products and their skil preparation.The SINA Wellness Club offers an equipped gym, sauna, indoor swimming-pool and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sina Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sina Astor Viareggio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing