We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Grand Hotel in Viareggio and found it to be excellent. The position is perfect and you get use of their private beach opposite. Buses run from outside the hotel to Pisa and Lucca and many other less well know destinations. It is all Very clean and well maintained. Our first room looked over onto a roof however at an extra 10 euros a night we moved to a side sea view with a small balcony which was excellent

Room Tip: Go for sea view or side sea view on 2nd floor or above
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesleymary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,270)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 1,270 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Standing proudly on the beachfront promenade in Viareggio, The Grand Hotel Royal has a certain historic pedigree that exudes classic Italian style complete with turrets! We found ourselves quite captivated by its charisma & elegance, with its high ceilings, beautiful chandeliers & traditional furnishings, it reflects beautifully, a glamorous era long since passed. Housekeeping standards were excellent, meals in their lovely restaurant were of a good quality & well presented.The staff were professional & friendly, especially our favourite waiter Elpidio with his welcoming smile. As a wheelchair user, I concur with a previous comment that the ramps outside should be wider & more permanent, especially the one in through the narrow exterior wooden door which was regularly being moved, requiring my Husband to re-align it in order to access the doorway! Keeping the double doors permanently open would have been most helpful. I would respectfully ask the manager to consider this point. We had the most memorable 10 day stay to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. The hotel even left a bottle of Prosecco on ice in our room with a card on return from our overnight stay in Rome. The hotel is very well located, allowing us to visit Pisa, Lucca, Florence & the exquisite Porto Fino. We would heartily recommend this charming old hotel and would most definitely return. Thanks to all. Claire and Michael Edwards, Swansea, South Wales..

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Michael and cla... e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much your wonderful review. We were truly touched to receive your comments and are delighted that you enjoyed spending your very special wedding anniversary at our hotel.

We can assure you that we will immediately address the issue of the wooden ramp at the entrance and sincerely thank you that this problem has not altered your opinion and overall rating of the Grand Hotel Royal.

Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a grand hotel, big, yet charming. Parking available. Spacious garden and pool area behind the hotel. Rooms are big. Ours had a balcony (at an extra charge of €40 per night) and seaview and was on the fourth (of five) floors. Breakfast ample. Service good. Discount on the entrance fee to the "spiaggia"/playa just across the road. We would love to come back!!

Room Tip: A room with seaview is a must (even if the Mountains you can see from the rooms facing that way are...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanochBarbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest
I appreciate your kind feedback and was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel actually looks like a castle and it is fantastically located in front of the beach promenade of Viareggio. Just abandon your car and walk around. The top feature however is the garden with the pool - one of the most relaxing experience ever. Personnel very kind and efficient. Rooms are big even though quite vintage - but eventually the entire building is vintage and that's part of its charme. The rooms in the front must have a great view although they might be noisy as they face the main road. We had a room on the side at the first floor and it was fine. Good breakfast. Didn't try the restaurant although the fish choice in the menu was not overexciting considering that you are in a sea town. There is a beach connected with the hotel, very well kept, but you will not find good food there, it's just a bar. Other beaches have better restaurants.
Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YdeGomera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for kind review. We are pleased you had an enjoyable
holiday.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

When abroad, and especially on a tight schedule of a business trip, I am always looking for Location-Location-Location! Best Western is what I was looking for. The hotel is literally less than 1min walking to the beach and 10 mins walking to the center. You can even rent a bike to see and enjoy the town.
The hotel is very clean and the staff are always smiling and ready to assist. The breakfast and the dinner at the hotel is quite good, but would expect a little extra from an Italian hotel. Must have a glass of wine at the bar!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandraDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments and I am very pleased you had a good time during your stay with us. I hope you will visit again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

we stayed for a couple of days. a very grand hotel indeed with lots of charm and history. rooms are a good size and breakfast buffet was simple but suited. pool was unheated in may so pretty cold. but the beer is good and the staff are freindly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear guest,
I appreciate your kind feedback and was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a very large side sea view room 209 complete with separate bathroom. The comfort and cleanliness were exemplarily although the bathroom tiles would have benefitted from an upgrade. We went half board and can recommend the breakfast buffet and dinner menus which changed daily. First class service from the reception and dining room staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Definately go for side sea view rather than front as the rooms are bigger.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the thorough review of our service and facilities and I am delighted that we performed so well.
Hope to welcome you once again soon
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.1 mi away
Sina Astor
Sina Astor
#11 of 51 in Viareggio
526 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#3 of 51 in Viareggio
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#6 of 51 in Viareggio
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#9 of 51 in Viareggio
305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
#12 of 51 in Viareggio
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection

Address: Lungomare Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Royal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range: £71 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection Viareggio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing