We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Surpassed our expectations”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel was a fantastic value. It was clean and spacious. We loved their swimming pool (there were not any screaming kids, only well behaved ones :) , their clientele (all nice people, no rude, vulgar and loud "rif-raf" here) and overall atmosphere. Liked the birds and the hammock in the garden, food was delicious and not overpriced. We found their airport shuttle rather expensive (we were offered to share the bus with another couple at €70 per person!) so took a bus to the airport instead (€3 pp, bus stop right outside the hotel, buy the ticket in the main bus station - it is about 10-15min walk from the hotel). The little shops (expensive ones but also reasonably priced ones) on the promenade were also cool. It was very relaxed and we would come back here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 007_Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Emma,
I appreciate your kind feedback and was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you.
Just to clarify and in any case please accept our apologies for any inconvenient caused but usually our transfer Minibus cost for one way to Pisa Airport 70€ for 2 or 4 person not per person!!
Hope to welcome you once again soon
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    782
    328
    77
    26
    16
See reviews for
269
642
39
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have just returned from a week's stay on a half board basis. By making our reservation through the hotel direct, we managed to get a very good half board package which also included transfers to and from Pisa airport and access to a beach club. On arrival, we were greeted in a very professional and friendly manner and given the key to our room. The foyer of the hotel is imposing and retains the 1920s art deco quality which makes it something of a rarity these days.

Our room was a side facing double with high ceilings and a large en suite shower room. We had views of both the beach and the mountains and were very pleased with our allocation. Everything was spotless, with bedding changed regularly and toiletries replenished as and when required. Clean pool/beach towels were provided every day, if required. The room also included free use of a fridge and safe.

Breakfast was the usual continental affair with a good selection of fruit, pastries, cold meat and cheese. However, the hot food was not replenished often enough and was never hot enough, especially toward the end of our stay when there were more guests than at the beginning. Breakfast was served in a quite spectacular room with high ceiling and glass panelled walls.

Evening meals were served outside in a marquee effect extension which, again, was quite special. In general, the food was OK although not too great a choice. We ate at the hotel every evening except one. One suggestion I would make is to dispense with the buffet style meal on Saturday evenings. This was the worst meal experience of our stay, as it was something of a bun fight and the staff struggled to keep up with demand. The rest of the week was much better and we were glad that dinner was not served in this fashion for the whole of our stay.

All members of staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and provided as much information as required, whether it be where to find the nearest supermarket to the best travel options for any destination we wished to visit.

The free wifi was a bit hit and miss - worked fine while in the main central parts of the hotel, but was virtually non-existent in our room or by the pool.

Giuseppe in the American bar was very friendly and polite and we always got a warm greeting whenever we visited.

Apart from a couple of small gripes, we had a great stay and would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Viareggio.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th and 5th floors have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marionsk1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Grand Hotel Royal for your recent stay in and for taking your time to submit this review. Constructive guest comments greatly assist us in constantly evaluating the level and quality of our services and facilities and therefore all comments are thoroughly looked into.
I am sorry that you had a mixed experience in the dining room but again, you persevered and were able to see past the minor lapses in our usual high standards
I look forward to welcoming you back to The royal another time.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel has classic interior but it doesn't look old-fashioned. It's a bit old but that actually adds to it's charm. I loved the high celing of the room, so big, with a nice bathroom. Breakfast is also great and the staff is very friendly. The pool is made of marble and it's quite big.
This hotel is not overpriced and was one of the best I stayed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatiana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel
We would like to thank you for your comments
Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I cannot praise this hotel enough from the very friendly helpful staff to the exceptionally clean room all taken care of by Monica lovely lady. The food got better and better with each passing day thanks to Daniel Renato and a big thank you to Giuseppe the Head bartender who was professional and very experienced well done. I will be going back in September again because we had such a lovely trip thank you to the grand x also the beach was superb everything about this trip was spot on and being my first trip with Citalia well worth it thank you all.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much. I could not agree with you more - it is the staff and the service they provide which I believe makes The Royal such a special place to visit. I am very grateful to you for mentioning how well you were looked after by the team here, and I will ensure that your comments are passed on to all concerned.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The Grand Royal is situated about midway along the boulevard. The Hotel hotel is great, a bit classic. The rooms are large with views of the sea in front and mountains behind. Breakfast was good. The garden is beautiful with a large swimming pool and pool bar where you can order and eat your lunch. Lastly the bar is just great with the nice snacks and the friendly bartender Guiseppe who gave us some good advices about the restaurants and the area. The bathroom is bit small and old. We didn't like the beaches in Viareggio. Actually you can't see the beach because of all the beachclubs.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DaniNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,
I appreciate your kind feedback and was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you.
Thanks for the compliment to Giuseppe!
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton on Sea
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I have just come back from a week at this hotel and would definitely recommend it the reception staff were absolutely fantastic and helped us in every way, like printing of Bus and train timetables and helping us get the best from our stay.

the restaurant was very nice and the food was excellent although a little bit samey but excellently prepared and cooked the only negative that we had was that when the restaurant was full there didn't seem to be enough waiters to cope

However we would definately go back to this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel were much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greyfriars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments and I am very pleased you had a good time during your stay with us. I hope you will visit again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saarburg
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Viareggio is a wonderful place to spent some vacation at the sea while being in Toscana and enjoying the incredible cultural richness of this region of Italy. The hotel is very friendly with a competent and nice staff. It is situated in a beautiful house. The rooms with view to the sea are in the sun street but once the windows closed not noisy at all, despite the activity of the Main Street. Rooms are well equipped with the comfort of a 4 stars hotel. Breakfast is correct, although with a somehow limited choice (rather typical for all of Italy). One of the main strengths is the gorgeous swimming pool, with a little restaurant where to take a meal for lunch, behind the swimming pool there is a very nice garden with hammocks. TV is small and the choice of programs somewhat limited. Very important:if you travel by car make a reservation for one of the 15 parking lots!

Room Tip: Specify the you want a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marino_Patruno, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much. I could not agree with you more, Tuscany is a wondeful Region to visit, we think the best in Italy.
Hope to welcome you once again
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.4 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#3 of 53 in Viareggio
508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sina Astor
Sina Astor
#11 of 53 in Viareggio
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#6 of 53 in Viareggio
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#10 of 53 in Viareggio
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
#12 of 53 in Viareggio
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection

Property: Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
Address: Lungomare Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Royal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection Viareggio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing