We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lack of privacy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lack of privacy”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The principe di piedomente has serious problem with the privacy. The reception give aways information to the persons who ask for you. The manager Aiudier is a quite guy that also with a little bravery also tell the people the persons who visit you in your room,

There is no way that you can go in or out of the hotel with guest, friends or family and immediately anyone can be informed of your whereabouts.

Its a real shame, cause is beaitufull and eat well, but nobody minds their business.

I gonna be reporting this to higher instances.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maria r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    297
    120
    50
    29
See reviews for
213
542
22
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Retford, Notts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a week in June 2011 with my husband and daughter, having last visited with my husband 24 years ago. Then, the hotel was rather shabby but it has undergone a complete transformation and has been tastefully and thoughtfully redecorated. The staff were very helpful although not many spoke English but I found that difficult only because since my last visit most of my holidays have been to the US and Australia so I think I have become lazy! (Mental note to learn some Italian before my next trip!!).
The hotel is in a lovely position with a very clean (although expensive-50 euros a day for the three of us) beach and nice boutiques, cafes and restaurants along the road running parrallel with the shore.
There aren't hoardes of Brits either, as it is a resort that a lot of Italians seem to visit.
Due to the cost of using the beach we retreated to the hotel pool after the first day which was lovely, situated on the hotel roof with a view of the sea. Comfortable sunbeds, towels and sun umbrellas were provided free of charge, although we spent more than 50 euros a day being served drinks and food!!
Viareggio is a lovely resort and getting to Florence, Pisa and Forte dei Marmi is an easy bus trip although on this occasion we opted to laze around at the hotel the whole time as we went for R&R more than anything else. Budget permitting, I would be very happy to spend a week here every year!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are lovely, having been refurbished. More expensive ones will have sea or hills vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazydaisy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firenze, Toscana, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

What a great hotel! I just went there for a short weekend & I was upgraded to a from sea room. A great service, very clean & very nice people working there! Especially Alessandra, Lara & Giovanni!!!! Will be back very very soon!!!! I recommend to any body this great hotel!!!! Eitan Bezalel FIRENZE [ -- ]

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eitanfirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We spent 3 nights in this hotel and were a little disappointed. Whilst the hotel was pleasant enough it did not meet the same standards of other hotels that we stayed with on our holiday, despite the fact that they had an equal star rating. The rooms were clean but felt a little dated and the staff were not particularly helpful or go out of their way to be friendly. All in all, it was just OK but a little pricey for what it is.

We had a sea view room but other guests who had been smoking in the room above dropped ash onto our balcony area. I have no doubt that the hotel once had a very prestigious and luxurious feel but it seemed to us that the hotel was living on a borrowed reputation. I am also unclear why the hotel would want to sell rolexes in their reception foyer??

Also note that wi-fi was over fifteen Euros per day which seemed unreasonable given that other hotels we stayed at offered wi-fi free.

Room Tip: The hotel has two restaurants: a Michelin star restaurant and an "ordinary Tuscan bistro"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_1767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Lovely hotel with excelent service and v pleased to get an upgrade to a balcony room.
Superb recomendations of the staff for local authentic italian restaurants.

Only down sides were very basic breakfast and the cost of drinks was so prohibative that we would not stay in for dinner incase drinks bill was too high ( 15 euros for a small gin and tonic )

on whold though great place to stay

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lance-gauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Viareggio is surely the best place and structure.
We have been around for Italy my husband and I decided to end our holiday in Viareggio Old but still beautiful, staying for 4 nights at the Prince of Piedmont.

Upon arrival, warm welcome by Laura kindly update us on who knew alltrattive can visit in the area and how to spend our first night, obviously hungry from the trip, we decided to try the gourmet restaurant that the hotel is home to the fifth terms of its structure.
As soon as you cross the elevator doors, the windows you can see what all the hotels of the Versilia admire the prince, and that is that you can enjoy breathtaking views from the pool.
Atmosphere tense and a little dark on arrival at the restaurant, where we were greeted by what should be the head nurse in a cold and detached.
Obviously, given the hunger we have opted to choose a la carte, leaving the fate of advice and the excellent work of the sommelier who has managed to perfectly match the wine to our food.
Elaborate and rich dishes that the whole "we think" could be much praised by the hall staff. Good, however, as a whole.

In the morning, wake up early to capture your day, making breakfast in the huge hall dell'alberego that with its rich buffet and continental clients of the hotel offers everything you'd expect from a 5 star hotel, leaving a little to be desired service with which the dishes were rinpiazzate, from one girl who seemed to be too busy to talk to two minutes with a customer near our table. Maybe two more people, could make a complete service to those who choose 5-star hotels for their stay

In the evening returned from a very tiring journey, rather than opt for the advice given to us by the receptionist, we were eating at the restaurant "normal" of the hotel.
Tuscan cuisine, with a discreet, perhaps exaggerated, but the wine list, which as compared to star-rated restaurant, could offer much more choice to its customers.
Cold Service by the maitre d ', seen only once and then entrusted to a young boy, with a smile and sympathy, was able to cuddle, advising the typical dishes of Tuscan cuisine and entertainment at its full capacity even in our language.

overall we were very good, clean, spacious, efficient service spa, breathtaking views and sunsets from dizziness, which is, in Viareggio is the top

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Recently returned from a two night stay at this property. Overall, my husband and I enjoyed it. The location is beautiful with the view from the gorgeous rooftop pool showcasing the sea in front of you and the Apulan alps behind you...The building is very pretty and makes a striking impression from the street. There are nice details inside the hotel such as blown glass chandeliers and stained glass. We found it convenient from the Pisa airport(15 min by car) and to the cinque terre (50 minutes or so by train). the rooms are small but clean enough. The staff was accommodating and helpful. We got a good offseason price and felt it was a pretty good value. Massimos restaurant is a close by walk and was very good. Plenty of locals eating there.
We were happy and I'd recommend the hotel. Also the spa is beautiful and we had lovely massages.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristinjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Viareggio
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#3 of 53 in Viareggio
501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sina Astor
Sina Astor
#9 of 53 in Viareggio
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#6 of 53 in Viareggio
484 reviews
1.0 mi away
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
#12 of 53 in Viareggio
325 reviews
1.9 mi away
UNA Hotel Versilia
UNA Hotel Versilia
#1 of 52 in Lido Di Camaiore
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte

Property: Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
Address: Piazza Puccini 1, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#5 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#9 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte 5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This storied luxury hotel on the seafront promenade in Viareggio is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Built in the early 1920s, restored to the height of its charm in 2004 after 19 months' refurbishment work, today the Principe is without doubt one of the world's most exclusive and refined historical hotels. The 106 rooms, including 19 suites, on five floors decorated in different styles, represent an ideal cross-section of elegant hospitality over the ages, through to the contemporary design of the sun-drenched rooftop swimming pool. The "Piccolo Principe" and "Regina" restaurants have also made their own contribution to the renown built up over the years by the Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte in Viareggio. The Two-starred Michel restaurant "Piccolo Principe" offers sophisticated cuisine against the magnificent backdrop of the panoramic roof garden, where guests dine in summer, while the "Regina" restaurant offers traditional Tuscan fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Viareggio
Grand Hotel Principe Di Piemonte Viareggio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing