We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You just can't beat old world charm and courtesy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2009

How can anyone not fall in love with this hotel? The sea views from our 4th floor window were everything you could hope for. The room itself was beautiful in its design, although if you are used to more modern hotels it may have felt a little small. The reception staff could not have been more helpful and charming from the moment we checked in. Yes it is expensive, but so is most of Italy. My only slight quibble was that the bar and verandah were taken up with bikes (I assume there was some sort of conference on). Next time I will ask for a room on a different floor as the 4th floor semed to be the only floor which didn't have balconies...

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaygirl055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,136)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 1,137 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2009

We did lots of research before we went to Italy, because we have a 2.5 and 6 month old, and we wanted to find somewhere where we would all enjoy.

The hotel transfer took 20 minutes, so painless with children. The hotel itself was lovely- staff were friendly, professional and excellent at accommodating the children. The room (we had a sea view suite) was big, but not huge, but apparently Italian hotels of the older type don't have the huge rooms we're used to in newer luxury hotels. The row of beach clubs infront of the hotel was great (once we'd got over the shock of having to pay extra to use the beach), we went to the Excelcior (the one they have a deal with) most days but also tried the one directly infront of the hotel, principe di piemonte, which was probably a bit nicer- pool was bigger- but more expensive. The roof pool was great, and good in the day when it wasn't too crowded (before the evening cocktail scene started...)

But the BEST thing about the holiday was the fact that every night we went out for a lovely meal along the promenade, bringing our toddler and baby- and were welcomed into every place we went. Restaurant staff looked happy to see us (we're not necessarily used to this- living with two young children in central london), immediately provided highchairs and brought the children's food first. This is the first holiday where we haven't had to compromise everything/eat room service every night because of having children. The kids just had a long nap in the afternoon (bliss for us- cold glass of wine on balcony) and came out in the evening. Like the Italians. Two good restaurants were one the hotel recommended on the via michaelangelo buonaroti behind the hotel, and the one in the principe di piemonte beach club opposite.

We also checked out the local supermarket (a 5-10 minute taxi ride away) to buy baby food and nappies for the week and it had everything we needed for our holiday.

Only criticism was that we did find the hotel to be very expensive- perhaps too expensive for what it was- it was nice but not the grandest place we've ever stayed. But then we booked quite last minute, perhaps you could get a deal if you were more organised. If it were cheaper, it would have been a 5* holiday for us.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angelfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

It was like living in the lap of luxury, I feel very lucky to have had the pleasure of staying at this hotel. The rooms were 1st rate, the breakfast fantastic and the staff friendly, though I gave service 4/5 as my husband felt one or two staff members looked down as we did not arrive with a full set of Louis Vuitton luggage, but thats him! We had 1 meal at the hotel, (not the michelin *one) which was OK, we had just as good if not better meals in one or two of the restaurants in the town. I would recommend Il Puento Divino as the place to eat in Viareggio.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getoutmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

We have just returned from a week at the Principe Di Piemonte and didn't want to come home!

Great hotel, great location. Very friendly staff, fantastic public areas and great bedrooms. Make sure you ask for a sea view - it is a bit noisy as it overlooks the main road in Viareggio, but there is never a dull moment while you're sitting out there! However, although a noisy road, you can't hear the noise in the room once the doors are closed.

My only complaints would be no tea and coffee making facilities, and that the restaurants in the hotel are very pricey. Five minutes walk across the road gives you a wide range of eating places, ranging from the cheap to the expensive, all offering very good quality food (the main restaurants and bars are along a very long strip on the sea front). We would recommend walking down the end of the strip to a restaurant which is set slighly back from the main road called Seagulls - not the cheapest restaurant, but beautiful menu and service.

Also if you like fine restaurants, in the middle of the strip there is a restaurant linked to a very large bookshop - go through the bookshop out the back to their garden area for a table, rather than sit out the front - it is beautiful. Good service and good food here too.

You will need to know a bit of basic Italian if you visit Viareggio (or even anywhere in Versillia) as not many people there speak English. Take a phrasebook or dictionary, as most menus are in Italian only.

There are many trips you can take from Viareggio - we did Pisa and Lucca (a half day trip) and also the Isle of Elba (full day - this is a very early start and a late return and is tiring, but well worth the effort).

If you walk down the side of the hotel and keep going towards the pinewoods, you can go through the woods to find bikes for hire, pony rides and a market every morning all taking place within the forest (perfect as it gets very hot during the day). There are also lots of shops and restaurants down this way in the main town area (approx 10 minute walk), however we never ventured there of an evening, only during the daytime.

If you are a beach lover, be prepared to pay to go on the beach. We were told it would cost us between 30 and 40 euros for the day! You are allowed to walk along the beach, but not stay on it without paying.

The pool area at the Principe is beautiful but very small and the pool is really only a plunge pool, so again, if you are a swimmer or enjoy being by the pool a lot, you would be better off finding a hotel with a bigger pool area. It was also too hot during the afternoon to be able to sit by the pool anyway, especially as this pool is on the roof!

This is a good place for couples who enjoy a good drink and good food. I wouldn't recommend this spot for younger people as there are no nightclubs or lively bars during the evening, however the whole place does come alive at nighttime and is never boring!

All in all, great place to stay and we will be going back!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloverwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

The building is elegant (dating from the early 1900's) .The interior design is absolutely beautiful, the rooms (not all though) are very large and equally beautiful (there are 3 different types of style, I prefer the colonial).

Staff are extremely helpful and polite, the roof terrace with swimming pool is relaxing and charming and trendy at night.

Breakfast is abundant in choice and of good quality. Restaurant I don't know as we always went to other places. Location is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzannaMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Although the building is indeed beautiful and the rooftop pool is spectacular, the hotel appears to be in trouble/in decline. Here are a few illustrations of our experiences:
1) Immediately after arrival, we asked the concierge to change banknotes into coins (we wanted to tip the bellboy). She told us that she has no change, then suggested that we (the clients!) find change elsewhere in the hotel. Although we followed her direction, no such place was found (the bellboy kept waiting....). Five minutes later, a second concierge appeared at the desk and, without second thought, opened a drawer and gave us change. Clearly, the first receptionist had simply lied to us. No explanation, no apologies, nothing. Not a good start to a 250 Euro per night vacation.
2) The fan in our room did not work and needed to be fixed (this was done promptly)
3) It took three calls to the reception desk - and a total of more than three hours (!) - to get two glasses and a shower mat, which are present in every one-star hotel. Again, no apologies!
4) One elevator was out-of-order during 2 of 3 days. The other two elevators were alternately being serviced throughout our stay.
5) Our request for a heating pad was shrugged off (this time by a friendly receptionist). No effort to help us out.
Overall, we had the strong impression that this hotel in understaffed and probably in financial trouble (our interpretation). What a shame considering the beautiful building. We should add that some personnel were friendly and professional. We really tried to have a good time and do not want to over-criticize. But this is simply no four-star hotel when it comes to management and personnel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Disappointed32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Highly recommended!

We had an absolute wonderful stay at this hotel. It is immaculate and the staff are super friendly. I would recommend the restaurant on the 5th floor. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was relaxed with the most stunning view of the sea.

The room was super cleaned and very welcoming!
The breakfast room was very organize and very neat with super fast service.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
Thank Margherita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Viareggio
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Sina Astor
Sina Astor
#10 of 51 in Viareggio
524 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#3 of 51 in Viareggio
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#6 of 51 in Viareggio
506 reviews
1.9 mi away
UNA Hotel Versilia
UNA Hotel Versilia
#1 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
1,164 reviews
1.0 mi away
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
#12 of 51 in Viareggio
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte

Address: Piazza Puccini 1, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#5 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#9 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
Price Range: £96 - £597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte 5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This storied luxury hotel on the seafront promenade in Viareggio is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Built in the early 1920s, restored to the height of its charm in 2004 after 19 months' refurbishment work, today the Principe is without doubt one of the world's most exclusive and refined historical hotels. The 106 rooms, including 19 suites, on five floors decorated in different styles, represent an ideal cross-section of elegant hospitality over the ages, through to the contemporary design of the sun-drenched rooftop swimming pool. The "Piccolo Principe" and "Regina" restaurants have also made their own contribution to the renown built up over the years by the Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte in Viareggio. The Two-starred Michel restaurant "Piccolo Principe" offers sophisticated cuisine against the magnificent backdrop of the panoramic roof garden, where guests dine in summer, while the "Regina" restaurant offers traditional Tuscan fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Prestigia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Viareggio
Grand Hotel Principe Di Piemonte Viareggio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing