We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find...See you again next year!”
Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Eden
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
London, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a find...See you again next year!”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My girlfriend and I just returned from a long weekend to Viareggio, where we stayed at Hotel Eden. We would be extremely hard pushed to find anything bad to say about the hotel, but have no problem at all telling the World just how good it is. I wanted to sit and write this review now in hopes of combating some of the post holiday blues we are both experiencing after returning to rainy England.

The service was excellent and very welcoming. The gentleman who greeted us upon arrival was a real professional who had a great knowledge of the local area. All the staff we engaged with had a smile and a greeting for you. Everyone was very capable at their jobs.

The room was outstanding. Very clean, reasonably stylish and a good size. When we walked into our room (#402 on the 4th Floor) a shutter was down. My girlfriend said "oh does that lead to a balcony". "Nahhh their won't be a balcony, bebs" I replied. We pushed the button to raise the shutter. To my surprise and both of our delight, it did indeed lead to a balcony...a cosy fenced off patio area that joined onto the roof terrace. The roof terrace was spectacual, catching every bit of sunshine and providing an amazing view. We spent every sunset up there. The bathroom also deserves a special mention, it has all the mod cons and the shower packs a punch.

Breakfast was excellent...an all you can eat self serve buffet. A mans man I hit the eggs and bacon hard, whilst my girlfriend (the carb lover) was in heaven with the selection of pasteries. There was something for everyone and the options were vast. The food was fresh and when something started to run low, the kitchen staff were quick to replenish it.

The location...wow, the location! Hotel Eden is situated in what I would call the best spot in Viareggio. A 4 minute walk from the bus station, on the main street and just 1 block from the beach. It is in the heart of it so you are smack bang in the middle everything. The Desk Manager gave us a friendly tip to try "Sa Player" for dinner (its a restuarant almost directly oposite the hotel). The food there was phenomenal and reasonably priced...two of us each having a starter, main and drinks was coming out at about 45 Euros. The portions were big and if you're into seafood then you will not find anywhere better.

The hotel in general is perfect for a short or long stay. We've now done the short, which has encouraged us to stay for longer next year. Viareggio, staying at Hotel Eden will be our main holiday in 2013. Viareggio is a vibrant, friendly and beautiful place, buzzing with vibrant, friendly and beautiful people...I took more than one left hook from my girlfriend for my wondering eyes. You'll love Viareggio and you'll love Hotel Eden.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danthewrestler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    90
    37
    4
    6
See reviews for
32
92
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We've just got home from a wonderful week in Viareggio, staying at Hotel Eden. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly, some spoke more english than others, and all seemed appreciative of our limited efforts at Italian!
The breakfast was plentiful, if a little basic, served in a very clean environment just off the hotel lobby. All rooms had a balcony with chairs and a small table. The shower was great, powerful and always hot. The air conditioning was easy to use. Our room was looking over a small side street, and all rooms seemed to have some view of the sea, some more "limited" than others! The roof terrace was a lovely addition, especially in the evening, watching the sunset with a bottle of chianti.
A couple of small "complaints" would be the safe situation, there were safes located in reception, rather than the rooms, and a lack of umbrellas on the roof terrace. The beaches are clean, but being on the Italian coast, cost money. A typical 2 sun loungers and umbrella set up cost around 15-20 euros per day, and you don't get to choose where you want to sit, the "lifeguard/beach manager" directed you to your allotted location.
If you're seeking a typical beach holiday, then this is probably not the location for you. The "free beach" was about 10m wide, stuck down the end of the private beaches. If however you're looking for wonderful food, a great location for exploring the area (florence, lucca and the cinque terre boat trip are a must, and all very easy get to on the train, so no need to bother with the travel company excursions) then Viareggio is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenvic80s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This hotel is ok if you just want somewhere to sleep,no where to sit at all only bedroom,did have balcony but to noisy tosit on traffic noise fumes day, night.Roof terrace with tables,chairs but no sun shades.at temp 36 to hot to sit on..The Resort itself is quite run down,If you like Blackpool, you will like this resort. Avoid room 307 we had ants ondressing table and floor .

Room Tip: Avoid room 307 ants on dressing tale and floor also traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojoPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2012

If you want a good base to explore Tuscany, this is it. You get the breeze and relaxing sea side resort with lots of places to eat, (you must try 8etti on the road behind the hotel to the right, better value and fantastic food), but with a 10 min walk to the train station you can explore with a 90 mins ride to Florence and 20 mins to Pisa. The hotel staff were all friendly and spoke a bit of English as did most of the waiters at the restaurants. The room was comfortable, clean with a nice balcony and sun lounger on the roof giving great views. We really enjoyed our stay here, it wasn't fancy, but it had everything we needed.

Room Tip: Rooms that have a sea view will be on the main road and therefore in full public view, if you want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cak29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Don't be put off by negative comments - this is a very good hotel. The room we stayed in on the first floor was a decent size, comfortable bed, excellent shower/wc (but no bath), fridge & hairdryer, balcony (over a side street so no view) and was cleaned to a high standard. We found all the staff friendly and helpful.No safe in room but you can ask for one under the stairs in the main reception area free of charge. There is a good choice at breakfast, cereals, fruit, yoghurts, croissants, bread rolls, eggs - boiled & scrambled, bacon, cold meats, toasting machine & a coffee machine with hot water option if you want to make tea from the extensive teabag collection. On the roof of the hotel there is a great roof top terrace with sun loungers & plastic chairs & tables - lovely for watching the sun go down with a bottle of Chianti.The hotel is in an excellent location right on the front and good for getting around, just ten minutes or so walk from the train station with hourly trains to Florence, Pisa, Lucca & Montecatini Terme. Viareggio itself is laid out in a grid system so it is easy to navigate. There is a daily market just 5 mins from hotel, plenty of shops, and two supermarkets within 5-10 mins walk. For culinary diversity there is a decent Chinese restaurant 5 mins from hotel, at least 2 good kebab shops nearby & even a Burger King on the front (£6 for a burger though!). Viareggio is expensive but is a really pleasant place to stay - no lager louts here.Oh and if you like your ice cream you must try Grom opposite the Grand Hotel on the front.You won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chubby001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST LINN
Level Contributor
129 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Was not sure we would be staying in Viareggio so I made late reservations for August. Hotel Eden was in the right spot, at the right price, a wonderful breakfast included and a rooftop terrace to share a fine chianti with friends and watch the sun go down.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rraschio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oradea, Romania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Very nice hotel ... clean, comfortable, with polite and helpful staff (they printed us the train schedule, ordered a taxi for Pisa airport, etc). Very good breakfast, with all kind of pastry & cakes, fruits, cheese, eggs and bacon, coffee... Close to the sea and promenade with shops and restaurants. The rooms were lovely, newly refurbished and cozy. They also have a roof terrace with sea view.
It was a very good choice and I would return there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdellya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#3 of 53 in Viareggio
501 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.6 mi away
Sina Astor
Sina Astor
#10 of 53 in Viareggio
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
Plaza e De Russie Hotel
#12 of 53 in Viareggio
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tirrenia
Hotel Tirrenia
#5 of 53 in Viareggio
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Property: Hotel Eden
Address: Viale Daniele Manin 27, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eden 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Viareggio
Hotel Eden Viareggio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing