We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Eden
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Viareggio
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This hotel is situated in the main street in Viareggio, so is a stones throw from the beach and is surrounded by shops and restaurants.
Free safety deposit boxes are available near reception and the hotel is extremely clean and tidy.

The hotel staff are friendly and helpful, and arranged for us to have an early breakfast on our last day as we had an early flight home.

Comfortable rooms, and air con just right.

All in all a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DianaL068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Eden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

Just returned back from Hotel Eden in Viareggio, we had a great time on the Tuscan Riviera. The hotel is very clean and a great choice for breakfast. The hotel is on the main strip right opposite the beach. Unrelated to the hotel is a bit of a gripe. Be prepared to be hassled non stop on the beach by traders selling fake watches, bags etc. It is non stop all day long, being rude or nice makes no difference. The beach is 14 kilometres long from Viareggio to the Wonderful Forte Dei Marmi. Worth a visit or two but make sure you take loads of cash.
The beaches are expensive 18euros per day for two beds and an umberella!!
Overall great hotel in a good location but what ever you're planning to spend in town Double It!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slicknick66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location and very welcoming. Good breakfast, plenty of choice. Roof terrace a must to watch the sunset. Plenty of good bars and restaurants nearby. Good rooms, comfy beds and perfect air con. Worth every penny

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cpblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The hotel offers a pleasant reception, helpful staff and a well laid out breakfast area – the breakfasts are good and offer a broad range of ‘self service’ food and drinks. The rooms (38 in all) are well furnished with a comfortable bed, decent shower, mini-bar fridge and a small balcony. Our room (307) overlooked a busy side street but we didn’t find this distracting, however it meant we couldn’t have the balcony door open at night (there is air-conditioning to keep the room cool). Wifi available for €7 per week with good signal.

Roof terrace is a real treat, quiet location for sunbathing & relaxing with great views over promenade and beach. It lacks any form of shade which is a real shame as it can become unbearably hot mid afternoon.

The hotel is just 10 minutes walk to the train station, 5 minutes to the bus station, and has easy access to shops, restaurants and the marina. A well stocked supermarket (Conad) is just 5 minutes away (Via P Bonaparte).

Almost all the restaurants are Italian, many alternatives being fast food type establishments. Whilst pizza and pasta are fine they dominate what’s on offer thereby limiting one's choice. We visited a different restaurant each evening (over a week) and found our favourite on our last night – the Eden Restaurant (not connected to our Hotel) which is located on the promenade towards the marina end. Good service, wide menu choice, comfortable and reasonably priced – well worth a try. Some of the others we tried included;

Sa Playa - good food and fast service at value for money prices.
8 etti - conundrum - good food, service & broad menu /wine list - poor presentation & outdoor seating adjacent to busy road, indoor seating had 2 TVs which didn't match ambience of the restaurant.
Balthazar – a bit ‘left field’ but good food, extensive wine list and friendly service.
Bar Gelateria – enjoyed lunch here several times, the salmon and anchovy Panini was tasty.

Viareggio as a destination & travel base

Viareggio lies on the Tuscan coast with a transfer time from Pisa airport of around 40 minutes. It offers excellent rail and bus links to Pisa, Lucca & Florence with journey times of 20 m, 20 m and 1hr 40 m respectively. Rail travel is reliable, tickets easy to obtain from user friendly machines (in several languages including English), trains are clean & comfortable the fares are cheap (€6.60 return to Pisa or Lucca and €18 return to Florence – 2013 prices).
Viareggio offers a fine selection of hotels, restaurants and café bars, has a marina, clean beach and an extensive range of shops and a local market. Beach lovers should note however that the beach is controlled by local businesses and hotels, with fees payable to use deckchairs, parasols, etc. Circa €12 per day per person. The layout of deckchairs/sunbeds was rather too regimented for our liking, with little choice of which deckchair/sunbed you were allocated. There is a free section of beach near the harbour, but it is only about 10m wide. Some hotels provide free access to their beach facilities, and this is worth checking in advance.

Notes on places visited during stay.

Pisa
Took train to Pisa S Rossore station as this is the closest to the main attractions.
Pisa is rather a one sight wonder, the famous tower and duomo are well worth seeing, however the location is very busy with long queues for access to the attractions and the toilets.
Having toured the Piazza de Miracoli we made our way south through the town to the river. The river offers little of interest, bridges are modern concrete structures, banks lack cafes and bars. However do look out for the small church S Maria della Spina on the south bank, beautifully decorated & well worth a visit. We continued south down Corso Italia which offers a fine range of shops and cafes and opens onto the large Piazza Vittorio Emanuele not far from the main station (Pisa Centrale).

Lucca
Lucca is a pretty walled city of historic interest and architectural heritage. It has a wide range of shops, bars and restaurants. There is much to see and it would be easy to spend a full day exploring the town. Lucca is flat and many locals and visitors travel by bicycle (you can hire bikes from 3 euros an hour). In our opinion, Lucca is considerably more interesting and varied as a destination than Pisa.

Florence
Definitely worth a visit, so much to see and do, and so many well known sights in one place. A tourist magnet with prices to match. Centre is quite compact and it is possible to view many of the most popular sites in around 4 - 5 hours (including lunch), but you'll need much longer if you want to visit the museums and galleries. Boboli gardens are often referred to as public gardens, but there is an entry charge of €7. Refreshments can be expensive, but we found an excellent and inexpensive café Moka Arra on the Via dei Banchi not far from the rail station.

Forte dei Marmi
Along the coast from Viareggio and easily accessible by bus or bicycle (circa 11km) Forte dei Marmi is very clean, neat, pleasant shopping venue (many designer shops) with a good selection of cafes and restaurants. But it lacks atmosphere and history. It is pleasant but a little sterile. Worth visiting if you need a shopping fix. Found a good café, Nelson Club on the Via Roma – good food, coffee and beer at sensible prices.

Richard and Elizabeth

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank RHMStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Recently returned from a week at Eden Hotel. The hotel is spotlessly clean, towels changed daily and bed linen every two days. Great being able to use fridge in room to keep drinks and snacks cool. Only downside no Tea/cofffee making facilities in room apart from that its got it all.
When you enter the room it seems dark but lift the shutters and a small balcony with table and chairs...the roof terrace is a great addition and i imagine will get busy in high season. There is about 8 or so sunbeds and a few tables and chairs but being so close to the beach it will appeal to all.
Hotel is located very central. Bus station less than 5 minute walk. Train station 10 minutes. Transport to Pisa, Lucca, Florence, Sienna very regular and cheap. 5 minute walk to the harbour.

We found all of the stafff in the hotel friendly and helpful especially Bruno who gave us weather forecast every night and arranged good restaurants for us when we asked....Cheers Bruno.

Would love to go back to Tuscany its beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Miom007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We chose this hotel after reading other reviews on Tripadvisor and weren't disappointed. It has a lovely airy feel throughout and the decor is both modern and tasteful with several comfy chairs near reception and an adjacent raised bar area. We were in room 205 which was at the side of the hotel with a balcony and the bonus of a sea view - fantastic.
The room was very clean and for those visiting in the summer months the ability to control the air conditioning will be a welcome feature.
Breakfast was of the quality expected for this level of hotel with the novel addition of being able to boil one's own eggs - but beware they need at least 8 minutes to ensure they are soft boiled.
Definitely consider this hotel if you want to be right by the beaches.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gira-Sole252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights in this hotel by the end of October. The hotel staff and the owner were friendly people. We got upgraded to a larger room with balcony and partial sea-view.The room was very comfortable and clean. The reception staff spoke good English.The breakfast was good too.Being the low season the price was moderate. We enjoyed our stay in the hotel although the weather in Viareggio in this period was not so good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.6 mi away
Sina Astor
Sina Astor
#11 of 51 in Viareggio
526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#3 of 51 in Viareggio
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.9 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#6 of 51 in Viareggio
506 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Viareggio
Mercure Viareggio
#10 of 51 in Viareggio
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Address: Viale Daniele Manin 27, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Viareggio
Price Range: £67 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eden 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Viareggio
Hotel Eden Viareggio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing