We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Eden
Nearby Hotels
Hotel President(Viareggio)
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palace Hotel(Viareggio)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sina Astor(Viareggio)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Marchionni(Viareggio)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tirrenia(Viareggio)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel London(Viareggio)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte(Viareggio)
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
56
97
47
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
97
47
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracebars and restaurantsper daydesigner shopsacross the roadbreakfast was includedperfect locationtrain timesan umbrellaseafrontbeachesluccabagnoeurosclubsloungers
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Truly loved this place. Had a side sea-view room which was great as we could see up to the mountains too. Breakfast was incredible, and the staff very friendly. Rooms are small, but prefectly formed. Would love to stay again. Viareggio is lovely and relaxing and the Eden is perfectly located to enjoy the town

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackieBeatleguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This hotel is situated in the main street in Viareggio, so is a stones throw from the beach and is surrounded by shops and restaurants.
Free safety deposit boxes are available near reception and the hotel is extremely clean and tidy.

The hotel staff are friendly and helpful, and arranged for us to have an early breakfast on our last day as we had an early flight home.

Comfortable rooms, and air con just right.

All in all a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DianaL068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Just returned back from Hotel Eden in Viareggio, we had a great time on the Tuscan Riviera. The hotel is very clean and a great choice for breakfast. The hotel is on the main strip right opposite the beach. Unrelated to the hotel is a bit of a gripe. Be prepared to be hassled non stop on the beach by traders selling fake watches, bags etc. It is non stop all day long, being rude or nice makes no difference. The beach is 14 kilometres long from Viareggio to the Wonderful Forte Dei Marmi. Worth a visit or two but make sure you take loads of cash.
The beaches are expensive 18euros per day for two beds and an umberella!!
Overall great hotel in a good location but what ever you're planning to spend in town Double It!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location and very welcoming. Good breakfast, plenty of choice. Roof terrace a must to watch the sunset. Plenty of good bars and restaurants nearby. Good rooms, comfy beds and perfect air con. Worth every penny

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cpblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The hotel offers a pleasant reception, helpful staff and a well laid out breakfast area – the breakfasts are good and offer a broad range of ‘self service’ food and drinks. The rooms (38 in all) are well furnished with a comfortable bed, decent shower, mini-bar fridge and a small balcony. Our room (307) overlooked a busy side street but we didn’t find this distracting, however it meant we couldn’t have the balcony door open at night (there is air-conditioning to keep the room cool). Wifi available for €7 per week with good signal.

Roof terrace is a real treat, quiet location for sunbathing & relaxing with great views over promenade and beach. It lacks any form of shade which is a real shame as it can become unbearably hot mid afternoon.

The hotel is just 10 minutes walk to the train station, 5 minutes to the bus station, and has easy access to shops, restaurants and the marina. A well stocked supermarket (Conad) is just 5 minutes away (Via P Bonaparte).

Almost all the restaurants are Italian, many alternatives being fast food type establishments. Whilst pizza and pasta are fine they dominate what’s on offer thereby limiting one's choice. We visited a different restaurant each evening (over a week) and found our favourite on our last night – the Eden Restaurant (not connected to our Hotel) which is located on the promenade towards the marina end. Good service, wide menu choice, comfortable and reasonably priced – well worth a try. Some of the others we tried included;

Sa Playa - good food and fast service at value for money prices.
8 etti - conundrum - good food, service & broad menu /wine list - poor presentation & outdoor seating adjacent to busy road, indoor seating had 2 TVs which didn't match ambience of the restaurant.
Balthazar – a bit ‘left field’ but good food, extensive wine list and friendly service.
Bar Gelateria – enjoyed lunch here several times, the salmon and anchovy Panini was tasty.

Viareggio as a destination & travel base

Viareggio lies on the Tuscan coast with a transfer time from Pisa airport of around 40 minutes. It offers excellent rail and bus links to Pisa, Lucca & Florence with journey times of 20 m, 20 m and 1hr 40 m respectively. Rail travel is reliable, tickets easy to obtain from user friendly machines (in several languages including English), trains are clean & comfortable the fares are cheap (€6.60 return to Pisa or Lucca and €18 return to Florence – 2013 prices).
Viareggio offers a fine selection of hotels, restaurants and café bars, has a marina, clean beach and an extensive range of shops and a local market. Beach lovers should note however that the beach is controlled by local businesses and hotels, with fees payable to use deckchairs, parasols, etc. Circa €12 per day per person. The layout of deckchairs/sunbeds was rather too regimented for our liking, with little choice of which deckchair/sunbed you were allocated. There is a free section of beach near the harbour, but it is only about 10m wide. Some hotels provide free access to their beach facilities, and this is worth checking in advance.

Notes on places visited during stay.

Pisa
Took train to Pisa S Rossore station as this is the closest to the main attractions.
Pisa is rather a one sight wonder, the famous tower and duomo are well worth seeing, however the location is very busy with long queues for access to the attractions and the toilets.
Having toured the Piazza de Miracoli we made our way south through the town to the river. The river offers little of interest, bridges are modern concrete structures, banks lack cafes and bars. However do look out for the small church S Maria della Spina on the south bank, beautifully decorated & well worth a visit. We continued south down Corso Italia which offers a fine range of shops and cafes and opens onto the large Piazza Vittorio Emanuele not far from the main station (Pisa Centrale).

Lucca
Lucca is a pretty walled city of historic interest and architectural heritage. It has a wide range of shops, bars and restaurants. There is much to see and it would be easy to spend a full day exploring the town. Lucca is flat and many locals and visitors travel by bicycle (you can hire bikes from 3 euros an hour). In our opinion, Lucca is considerably more interesting and varied as a destination than Pisa.

Florence
Definitely worth a visit, so much to see and do, and so many well known sights in one place. A tourist magnet with prices to match. Centre is quite compact and it is possible to view many of the most popular sites in around 4 - 5 hours (including lunch), but you'll need much longer if you want to visit the museums and galleries. Boboli gardens are often referred to as public gardens, but there is an entry charge of €7. Refreshments can be expensive, but we found an excellent and inexpensive café Moka Arra on the Via dei Banchi not far from the rail station.

Forte dei Marmi
Along the coast from Viareggio and easily accessible by bus or bicycle (circa 11km) Forte dei Marmi is very clean, neat, pleasant shopping venue (many designer shops) with a good selection of cafes and restaurants. But it lacks atmosphere and history. It is pleasant but a little sterile. Worth visiting if you need a shopping fix. Found a good café, Nelson Club on the Via Roma – good food, coffee and beer at sensible prices.

Richard and Elizabeth

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank RHMStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews