We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gemstone Pocket Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Eden
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gemstone Pocket Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

From 2003 to 2005 I stayed at the Eden Hotel more than 20 times. The reception at the front desk immediately had a James Bond flavor as the staff greeted me "Welcome Mr. ......, Good to see you again, How long will you be staying with us." Heart warming difference to the over-computerized, whats your name?? in the United States. The warm lobby with the little bar on the dais, next to the lobby seating area intoned you Will, enjoy your self. The rooms are compact but not tiny with all the accomodations the traveler will need. The views are, as others have said, a dream which is still fresh after all of these years. Beach, alleyways, Mountains, truly a Rudy Maxa Panoply of visual deserts. The breakfast is wonderful array of Fruits, beats, cereal, coffee, or Espresso, and a wide range of cheese. The Staff is always there, but never in your way, quite a talent, and very professional. Returning from the restaurant at 1:00 am and getting an espresso from the night cleark before retiring is a real treat, without being told "The kitchen closes at 10." This Hotel is the definition of service at a seaside resort.
four stars, always, and the top of my list for value.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    85
    35
    4
    6
See reviews for
29
89
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We didn't realise how far north this hotel was on the "strip" that many Italians visit for a beach holiday. A block away from the beach, it has a small but luxurious garden and pool area. Service was excellent and friendly. Asked for a room with a view, and got one that overlooked the canal with a pretty view of boats, barges, etc. and a glimpse of the sea. A few restaurants nearby (none that we could find right on the beach, unless you stay at a particular resort). Very decent breakfast included. On-site free parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntonPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Truly loved this place. Had a side sea-view room which was great as we could see up to the mountains too. Breakfast was incredible, and the staff very friendly. Rooms are small, but prefectly formed. Would love to stay again. Viareggio is lovely and relaxing and the Eden is perfectly located to enjoy the town

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieBeatleguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

This hotel is situated in the main street in Viareggio, so is a stones throw from the beach and is surrounded by shops and restaurants.
Free safety deposit boxes are available near reception and the hotel is extremely clean and tidy.

The hotel staff are friendly and helpful, and arranged for us to have an early breakfast on our last day as we had an early flight home.

Comfortable rooms, and air con just right.

All in all a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianaL068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Just returned back from Hotel Eden in Viareggio, we had a great time on the Tuscan Riviera. The hotel is very clean and a great choice for breakfast. The hotel is on the main strip right opposite the beach. Unrelated to the hotel is a bit of a gripe. Be prepared to be hassled non stop on the beach by traders selling fake watches, bags etc. It is non stop all day long, being rude or nice makes no difference. The beach is 14 kilometres long from Viareggio to the Wonderful Forte Dei Marmi. Worth a visit or two but make sure you take loads of cash.
The beaches are expensive 18euros per day for two beds and an umberella!!
Overall great hotel in a good location but what ever you're planning to spend in town Double It!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slicknick66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location and very welcoming. Good breakfast, plenty of choice. Roof terrace a must to watch the sunset. Plenty of good bars and restaurants nearby. Good rooms, comfy beds and perfect air con. Worth every penny

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cpblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

The hotel offers a pleasant reception, helpful staff and a well laid out breakfast area – the breakfasts are good and offer a broad range of ‘self service’ food and drinks. The rooms (38 in all) are well furnished with a comfortable bed, decent shower, mini-bar fridge and a small balcony. Our room (307) overlooked a busy side street but we didn’t find this distracting, however it meant we couldn’t have the balcony door open at night (there is air-conditioning to keep the room cool). Wifi available for €7 per week with good signal.

Roof terrace is a real treat, quiet location for sunbathing & relaxing with great views over promenade and beach. It lacks any form of shade which is a real shame as it can become unbearably hot mid afternoon.

The hotel is just 10 minutes walk to the train station, 5 minutes to the bus station, and has easy access to shops, restaurants and the marina. A well stocked supermarket (Conad) is just 5 minutes away (Via P Bonaparte).

Almost all the restaurants are Italian, many alternatives being fast food type establishments. Whilst pizza and pasta are fine they dominate what’s on offer thereby limiting one's choice. We visited a different restaurant each evening (over a week) and found our favourite on our last night – the Eden Restaurant (not connected to our Hotel) which is located on the promenade towards the marina end. Good service, wide menu choice, comfortable and reasonably priced – well worth a try. Some of the others we tried included;

Sa Playa - good food and fast service at value for money prices.
8 etti - conundrum - good food, service & broad menu /wine list - poor presentation & outdoor seating adjacent to busy road, indoor seating had 2 TVs which didn't match ambience of the restaurant.
Balthazar – a bit ‘left field’ but good food, extensive wine list and friendly service.
Bar Gelateria – enjoyed lunch here several times, the salmon and anchovy Panini was tasty.

Viareggio as a destination & travel base

Viareggio lies on the Tuscan coast with a transfer time from Pisa airport of around 40 minutes. It offers excellent rail and bus links to Pisa, Lucca & Florence with journey times of 20 m, 20 m and 1hr 40 m respectively. Rail travel is reliable, tickets easy to obtain from user friendly machines (in several languages including English), trains are clean & comfortable the fares are cheap (€6.60 return to Pisa or Lucca and €18 return to Florence – 2013 prices).
Viareggio offers a fine selection of hotels, restaurants and café bars, has a marina, clean beach and an extensive range of shops and a local market. Beach lovers should note however that the beach is controlled by local businesses and hotels, with fees payable to use deckchairs, parasols, etc. Circa €12 per day per person. The layout of deckchairs/sunbeds was rather too regimented for our liking, with little choice of which deckchair/sunbed you were allocated. There is a free section of beach near the harbour, but it is only about 10m wide. Some hotels provide free access to their beach facilities, and this is worth checking in advance.

Notes on places visited during stay.

Pisa
Took train to Pisa S Rossore station as this is the closest to the main attractions.
Pisa is rather a one sight wonder, the famous tower and duomo are well worth seeing, however the location is very busy with long queues for access to the attractions and the toilets.
Having toured the Piazza de Miracoli we made our way south through the town to the river. The river offers little of interest, bridges are modern concrete structures, banks lack cafes and bars. However do look out for the small church S Maria della Spina on the south bank, beautifully decorated & well worth a visit. We continued south down Corso Italia which offers a fine range of shops and cafes and opens onto the large Piazza Vittorio Emanuele not far from the main station (Pisa Centrale).

Lucca
Lucca is a pretty walled city of historic interest and architectural heritage. It has a wide range of shops, bars and restaurants. There is much to see and it would be easy to spend a full day exploring the town. Lucca is flat and many locals and visitors travel by bicycle (you can hire bikes from 3 euros an hour). In our opinion, Lucca is considerably more interesting and varied as a destination than Pisa.

Florence
Definitely worth a visit, so much to see and do, and so many well known sights in one place. A tourist magnet with prices to match. Centre is quite compact and it is possible to view many of the most popular sites in around 4 - 5 hours (including lunch), but you'll need much longer if you want to visit the museums and galleries. Boboli gardens are often referred to as public gardens, but there is an entry charge of €7. Refreshments can be expensive, but we found an excellent and inexpensive café Moka Arra on the Via dei Banchi not far from the rail station.

Forte dei Marmi
Along the coast from Viareggio and easily accessible by bus or bicycle (circa 11km) Forte dei Marmi is very clean, neat, pleasant shopping venue (many designer shops) with a good selection of cafes and restaurants. But it lacks atmosphere and history. It is pleasant but a little sterile. Worth visiting if you need a shopping fix. Found a good café, Nelson Club on the Via Roma – good food, coffee and beer at sensible prices.

Richard and Elizabeth

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RHMStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.2 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#3 of 53 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tirrenia
Hotel Tirrenia
#6 of 53 in Viareggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#4 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 53 in Viareggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Property: Hotel Eden
Address: Viale Daniele Manin 27, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Viareggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eden 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Viareggio
Hotel Eden Viareggio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing