We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Go As Part Of Leger Package!!!”
Review of Hotel Mary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mary
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Don't Go As Part Of Leger Package!!!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just returned from a terrible coach tour with Leger where we stayed 6 nights at Hotel Mary. Obviously Leger must have negotiated a "cheap" deal with the hotel judging by what we received.
We were not allowed to eat on the terrace which boasts the views, but hearded into the dining room where we had to all sit together and was served appalling food. The staff where not pleasant to us and the "head waiter" said that all the English want is fish and chips!!
The bar is part of the dining room and all we experienced were wrong drinks being served and flat tonic in the G&T, and then told the only place to drink them was a few tables right at the end of the terrace, away from the diners. One night at 10.45pm the waiters started turning off the lights on the terrace to try and get rid of us even though we had full glasses.
Our room was basic and you had to put your feet in the shower when you sat on the loo, it was so small and badly designed.
We certainly didn't experience any of the "friendly staff" comments made by other reviewers but as previously stated am certain that we were looked upon as second class guests on a low budget rate arranged by leger.
Cannot recommend the Hotel Mary and certainly would say avoid Leger.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarianoSavarese, Proprietario at Hotel Mary, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear guest,
Firstly I inform you that we have been cooperating with Leger Tours for over 10 years and we host about 500 Leger's guest a year. The expression from you mentioned as "cheap deal" is not the base of our contract with the tour operator.
Of course a coach tour need to respect a specific budget to be much more competitive compared to individual travelling.
I would like to clarify a few points about the restaurant:
- The menus are part of the contract which offer a choice between two first courses, two main courses, fruit or dessert. If not happy with that, you have at your disposal the Menu à La Carte with the possibility to choose between the pizzeria, 15 starters, 20 first courses, 20 main courses and 6 desserts.
- The seats on the terrace are reserved for "Dining à La Carte".
- The terrace is equally divided in Dining area and Bar area.
- All the menus are composed by our typical dishes as Lasagna, Capri style Ravioli, Sorrento style Gnocchi, Pizza, Cannelloni..... and many other dishes from our tradition.
- The Bar closing time is at 24:00 and at 22:45 the restaurant and the bar are still quite crowded and is not possible to turn off the lights.
If you did not like the room the reception staff would have been pleased to help you to move to a different one, if you had told us !

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    127
    49
    21
    15
See reviews for
86
168
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ny, ny
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My friends and I stayed at Hotel Mary this past August and loved our time there. The entire staff was amazing -- everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. The continental breakfast was excellent too! Fresh fruit, eggs, toast, tea, juice... it has everything you need, all while eating on the balcony with the hotel's gorgeous view of the sea. Our room had the same gorgeous view.

The hotel also has a private section of the beach. This private section is extremely crowded in August, but it was slightly less crowded than the public portions of the beach and having chairs and umbrellas are always nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dozy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Just returned from a week in Hotel Mary for bed & breakfast. Whole place was spotlessly clean, gorgeous food, super helpful and attentive staff who all seem to speak every European language, making my little Italian phrasebook almost redundant. Spacious, air-conditioned room led out onto the sun terrace and a fantastic view over the Bay of Naples. Lots to see around Vico Equense, itself a bustling little town and only 5 stops on the railway from Sorrento. We climbed Vesuvius, did Pompeii, went to Capri - all the stuff you can do in a week in that part of Italy. And the food was excellent whether we stayed in the hotel or went out, reinforcing our belief that Southern Italy's food is better than in the north (though that might have been the awful hotel we stayed in outside Venice several years ago). My only gripe was that the rooms were a bit noisy at night due to the air-conditioning and the fridge in each room; eventually managed to sleep through that. We'd definitely go back to Hotel Mary again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have just returned after 10 days at this hotel - Bed and Breakfast.
Hotel was spotless, staff great and rooms very spacious.
Good showers, good conditioning and good pool.

The staff could not do enough for us.

We ate in the hotel restaurant a number of times as it was so good and the views brilliant.

Great base for sightseeing.

Room Tip: mountain view rooms would have been lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooperspreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Just returned from an excellent week at this hotel. We had a triple room , which was very clean and spacious.The shower was amazing too. Great views over to Capri, lovely at breakfast on the terrace and sunset in the evening. All the staff were lovely, very helpful , professional and welcoming. It is a great base to visit Pompeii, Heraclaneum, and Sorento from. It isn't far from the local train station, which goes along the coast. If you want to visit Amalfi, and Capri, go to Sorento and take trips from their. We didn't, this time as we were too tired after the trek up to the top of Vesuvius in the heat! All in all an excellent hotel. Obviously it depends on the other guests, when we were there there was a mixture of nationalities and age ranges. All very nice too.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N0llid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEIGHLEY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed at beginning of July for 9 days, picked it because reviews were very good and I will be honest it is a lovely hotel, staff are lovely and within easy reach of Sorrento and Vico Equense is a lovely Italian town, what lets it down was 40 teenage girls arriving one day ,okay they are on a trip but then 34 American boys turn up too equals mayhem ,boys drinking wine and beer glasses and bottles breaking, shouting, chasing down corridors.
Day 2 20 girls on trip 20 by tiny pool so go out for day, come back American boys causing mayhem again.
Day 3 girls still here so go out again and guess what American boys leave and 40 Engilsh boys turn up equals chaos bottles smashed by pool and In the pool ,oh no swimming after 6pm unless your with a school then you can swim all night and not one member of staff says anything.
Day 4 still same old ,told boys off for swimming at 11pm and breaking glass and being drunk.
Day 5 girls go home , boys go home yayyyyy, guess what 20 teenagers turn up again ,no problem with school trips but what this hotel has to realise 70-80 in one go is crazy and not fair to anybody ,it has a small pool area and staff that do not discipline anyone despite witnessing so much bad behaviour.
I have never left a bad review in my life, this was my dream holiday, i had 3 amazing days in Rome and I actually told one of the teachers at Hotel Mary that they had ruined my holiday and when I complained about the kids running up and down the corridors, screaming, dragging furniture above me, banging on walls ,shouting, going up and down in the lift -nightmare- reception didn't care ,told them and they went OK
Pick any month other than June or July and you probably be ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MORVINO53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewood, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We just returned from a group tour of Italy and Greece and had the unfortunate opportunity to stay at this hotel. We were traveling with a tour group of 12 well behaved high school students and 6 parents. We were treated horribly by the staff. For instance while the entire restaurant was set with cloth napkins, we were only given one cheap paper napkin. While the rest of the restaurant was given nice plated meals we were only granted an half burnt and cold piece of grilled chicken and all the pasta we could want. Meanwhile the rest of the restaurant had a beef and a fish selection. According to our tour guide he had no control over their menu selection. The second night fare was not much better as we were told that we would have a "surprise special dessert" which turned out to be a frozen instant chocolate mousse while everyone else in the restaurant had nicer dessert selection and were offered coffee while we were ignored. It was nearly 100 degrees while we were there and when a teacher inquired at the front desk if it were possible to get additional towels for the students who wished to swim in the hotel pool the staff replied that each towel would cost 5 Euros. Then the staff complained to the tour group leader that the pool goers were tracking excess water into the elevators. Really, do you think offering a second towel would have prevented this? While the rooms appeared clean 8 of us suffered with sore throats and coughing and the lower floors smelled of damp wet basement --- MOLD was growing in the AC units and the rooms lacked any ventilation except a very hard to open window that we could not open because we faced the street and had exhaust fumes and loud street noise as our only option to ventilation. The staff was NOT very nice, NOT very accommodating, NOT very willing to step beyond the very minimum in service, it almost seemed like they were expecting some sort of bribe money to ensure we had any hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryvico, Proprietario at Hotel Mary, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. For us is very important to know the opinion of our guests but let me clarify a few points:
-For all members our staff every guest is important at the same way and our warm and friendly hospitality is one our main skills.
- You travelled in a school trip which was part of a low cost programme. Our services were contracted with the travel agency at moment of the reservation specifying what was included and what was extra indicating cost and details for example the cost of extra towel. However if your students were using the lift completly wet depends only on their limited politeness.
- All the menus were decided from your travel agency but any guest had the possibility to choice whatever they would like from the menù à la carte.
- All the hotel rooms have air conditioning, fan, and balconies with very large Windows so there are 3 ways of ventilation.
- I have big doubts about the bad smell in the rooms because the housekeeping open everyday all the Windows while the room cleaning and they also use special products to perfume the rooms.
- the hypothesis that the staff expects as you mention "bribe money" is very offensive for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vico Equense hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Moon Valley
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mega Mare
Hotel Mega Mare
#2 of 20 in Vico Equense
1,306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astoria Vico Hotel
Astoria Vico Hotel
#5 of 20 in Vico Equense
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#14 of 20 in Vico Equense
202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Resort Le Axidie
Hotel&Resort Le Axidie
#9 of 20 in Vico Equense
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mary

Property: Hotel Mary
Address: Via Filangieri 132, 80069, Vico Equense, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mary 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing