We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mary
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A charming place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I had a small sea view room. It had a pleasant feel although the decorations was rather spartan. The service from the front desk was supurb. They made several trips down to help with the room safe, air conditioning unit, and helping with the general ineptness of the guest (me). They were excellent with their directions and helpful with suggestions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane60030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    121
    46
    19
    15
See reviews for
80
162
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

The Hotel Mary, located in Vico Equense, is a beautifully located property with a wonderful view of the Naples coastline. Our group of 40 were at this property for 4 days / 3 nights. The food served at the hotel was absolutely delicious and our group enjoyed eating both group dinners and breakfasts on the terrace that also boasts a beautiful view. I highly recommend a Seaview Room. It was nice to be able to sit out on our room balcony and enjoy the beautiful sunset every evening while sipping some Italian wine. Sitting out each morning while waking up was also a delight.

Our room (310) was spacious with plenty of room in the bathroom - one of the few places we stayed during our Italian trip where you actually had a full-sized shower.

The only disappoint was that the hot tub was not working. After touring Naples and surrounding areas all day, it would have been nice to be able to soak a few of the aches away.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a Seaview Room for a beautiful view each day - both morning and evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsMexico-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

The staff was extremely friendly and spoke English and French well. The view is breathtaking, especially at sunset...very romantic. The food at Hotel Mary was superb! The village is within walking distance and has shops and other places to eat.
We will return, we hope!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea. The rooms facing the front can be a bit noisy due to the traffic. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glo1985__12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I cant offer any review of any significant value as to the restaurant as i only ate there on two occasions, these meals i found o.k. but not good value for money. Maybe we have become used to larger portions for a more competitive prices. the breakfast as already stated in other reviews had lots of variety however sometimes needed topping up up a little quicker especially after the coach parties had been in, and maybe could use a slight change for the guest that stay longer.
please weed around the pool it doesn't take long the guy who cleans the pools must walk on them to do his job. having said all that the views from room and balcony which overlooked the harbour are lovely. my room cleaned daily was of a high standard with a free safe and TV.and small fridge, no English stations. The guy who booked me in at reception was really nice and had a big smile and greeting for me on departure and return.The head waiter and i didn't hit it off seemed a little aloof. the beach is a small area shared with others and is one hell of a walk down and then back up. Its a little noisy with traffic horns going and resounding around the valley and the coach party suitcases coming and going and doors opening and closing early am.this is not the hotels fault and as i was rising early was not a problem. the air con in my room was a little light on the power side but the ceiling fan was immense and a real benefit. overall an average accommodation clean and handily placed for trips out.

Room Tip: well i was in room 309 as a single occupant it was more than big enough although if you where a pers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Having read previous reviews we were expecting a high level of service. Unfortunately at the time of our visit this did not happen. Made to feel, that as part of a coach trip, that we were not as valued as their paying customers in the restuarant at night. The hotel is very dated and needs some money spending on it. Not really impressed with the gentleman who let his dogs out for their toilet run morning and evening by the pool!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank max51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just returned from a terrible coach tour with Leger where we stayed 6 nights at Hotel Mary. Obviously Leger must have negotiated a "cheap" deal with the hotel judging by what we received.
We were not allowed to eat on the terrace which boasts the views, but hearded into the dining room where we had to all sit together and was served appalling food. The staff where not pleasant to us and the "head waiter" said that all the English want is fish and chips!!
The bar is part of the dining room and all we experienced were wrong drinks being served and flat tonic in the G&T, and then told the only place to drink them was a few tables right at the end of the terrace, away from the diners. One night at 10.45pm the waiters started turning off the lights on the terrace to try and get rid of us even though we had full glasses.
Our room was basic and you had to put your feet in the shower when you sat on the loo, it was so small and badly designed.
We certainly didn't experience any of the "friendly staff" comments made by other reviewers but as previously stated am certain that we were looked upon as second class guests on a low budget rate arranged by leger.
Cannot recommend the Hotel Mary and certainly would say avoid Leger.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarianoSavarese, Proprietario at Hotel Mary, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear guest,
Firstly I inform you that we have been cooperating with Leger Tours for over 10 years and we host about 500 Leger's guest a year. The expression from you mentioned as "cheap deal" is not the base of our contract with the tour operator.
Of course a coach tour need to respect a specific budget to be much more competitive compared to individual travelling.
I would like to clarify a few points about the restaurant:
- The menus are part of the contract which offer a choice between two first courses, two main courses, fruit or dessert. If not happy with that, you have at your disposal the Menu à La Carte with the possibility to choose between the pizzeria, 15 starters, 20 first courses, 20 main courses and 6 desserts.
- The seats on the terrace are reserved for "Dining à La Carte".
- The terrace is equally divided in Dining area and Bar area.
- All the menus are composed by our typical dishes as Lasagna, Capri style Ravioli, Sorrento style Gnocchi, Pizza, Cannelloni..... and many other dishes from our tradition.
- The Bar closing time is at 24:00 and at 22:45 the restaurant and the bar are still quite crowded and is not possible to turn off the lights.
If you did not like the room the reception staff would have been pleased to help you to move to a different one, if you had told us !

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny, ny
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

My friends and I stayed at Hotel Mary this past August and loved our time there. The entire staff was amazing -- everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. The continental breakfast was excellent too! Fresh fruit, eggs, toast, tea, juice... it has everything you need, all while eating on the balcony with the hotel's gorgeous view of the sea. Our room had the same gorgeous view.

The hotel also has a private section of the beach. This private section is extremely crowded in August, but it was slightly less crowded than the public portions of the beach and having chairs and umbrellas are always nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dozy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vico Equense hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mega Mare
Hotel Mega Mare
#1 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astoria Vico Hotel
Astoria Vico Hotel
#7 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aequa Hotel
Aequa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oriente Vico Equense
Hotel Oriente Vico Equense
#5 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Moon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mary

Property: Hotel Mary
Address: Via Filangieri 132, 80069, Vico Equense, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mary 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing