We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not 4 star” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mary
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymoney N. Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not 4 star”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Food....poor quality,didn't replenish at breakfast ,evening meal bad value for money especially when they add a service charge. Metro pizza in the town is a better bet.
Rooms.....extremely basic. Beds are poor quality, cheap and nasty. Bedding was stained and the curtains had seen better days.
Service......excellent. Lovely welcome and used my name often. Always willing to help and give advise.
Our room had a large balcony with a lovely view,but we booked the hotel for Sorrento but it was quite a distance away.
Maintenance.. Pool area very weedy and railings on balcony rusty.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank platinumguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    121
    46
    19
    15
See reviews for
80
162
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

The hotel organised our taxi from Naples airport to hotel, it was 70 euros but saved a lot of hassle. We had a very friendly greeting from Marco and his staff on reception. Our room was immaculately clean and we had a beautiful view over the sea from our balcony. I recommend a room at the back otherwise it would be quite noisy on the road. Most of the staff speak good English and are very informative and helpful. The train service is about a 10 min walk from the hotel, trains run very frequently, are cheap but over crowded and basic. It was a good way to get every where though. Pompeii, Heculaneum (Ercalano Scavi), Sorrento and Naples. The beach is a painful walk down about 300 steps and up again where you can find a few restaurants and bars. The restaurant in the hotel is very good with a good selection of wines and Mario and his staff are excellent. Mario was an excellent head waiter and we found him very amusing and eager to please. The only down side to the hotel was that on occasion it was quite noisy. The walls between the rooms seemed quite thin and not very sound proof. It did not overall spoil our holiday though and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms opposite the sea are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazz1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed here on a school trip to the bay of Naples. There was 28 students and 4 teachers and we managed to get a rooms of 4 for all students and teachers(who put 2 beds together to make 2 doubles). We were all on the same corridor so children could always be checked on. Half of the group got a wonderful seaview, with the others having the road. We didn't go in the pool as it was February!

The rooms were nice and the bathrooms especially nice with very good showers! The meals which are for school groups are nice but not agonizing. Some children like them, some didn't. Firstly we had a olive pasta which was ok followed by lamb(or beef not sure? I don't like this) with mash potato and then tiramussu. The next day was nicer with tomato sauce and gnocchi then aubergine and mozerella. Everyone apart from me enjoyed the lemon Italian meringue that night.

Room Tip: Sea view! First floor is where you get balocnies also, not on the lower ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Been_Everywhere_LOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at The Hotel Mary for 2 weeks over Christmas and the New Year (2014). Although the hotel has limited facilities, the service, welcome and restaurant food are all very good. The gala dinners on Christmas Eve and New Year's Eve were excellent and Mario's team in the restaurant deserve a special mention.

The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from town and is very well placed for visiting Sorrento, Naples, Pompeii, Herculaneum, Oplontis and Paestum. It's only a short bus or train journey to Sorrento (a couple of Euros) where there are ferries to Capri about every half an hour.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we were very well looked after for the whole of the stay. The rooms are pretty basic (but spotlessly clean) and the power shower is very effective! The rooms have hairdryers, a safe and a fridge and the wi-fi has signal boosters on each floor.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms (with balcony) are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 19 - 29 October. The room was very comfortable and sitting on the balcony watching the sun set over the Mediterraneum was a delight. The dining room provided a good choice of meals. We were with a group for the first week and then our own for 3 days. Mario took good care of us, even managing to procure the necessary ingredients for the fish stew for one dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sea facing side have great views and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago area (Wadsworth), Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I was the organizer for a group of 40 older adults (40s thru 60s) who stayed at Hotel Mary for 3 nights in September. Every single thing about Hotel Mary deserves 5 stars, beginning from the moment you enter and see 3 staff members at the front desk, in formal black dress, smiling broadly at you, and speaking perfect English. The rooms were spacious and clean, with refrigerators, marble-accented bathrooms with bidets, great hot showers, and excellent service. Their lovely large fine-dining restaurant offered the absolute best dinner entrees of anywhere we dined throughout Sicily and Italy, including pizzas about 3 feet long and excellent house wines, all at amazingly great prices! Our morning breakfast buffet was about 70% larger and more varied than anyplace else we stayed. The hotel has not one but TWO elevators/lifts (what a relief with a group our size!) But the absolute kicker about Hotel Mary, the pinnacle that cannot be beat, is the VIEW! For only $20 extra (TOTAL, for all THREE nights), we scored balcony rooms with a view of the sea (and mountains) that was so breathtaking it is difficult to express. The sunsets were beyond gorgeous! My dream someday is to return to Vico Equense and stay at Hotel Mary for a month or more! They get 10 out of 5 stars in my book! :-)

Room Tip: Pay a small amount extra for the seaview room...it's worth ten times the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissChampagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We (2 mature couples) stayed in this Hotel Mary for 6 nights. The service from the front desk was superb, They were excellent with their directions and helpful with suggestions that saved us a lot of time and money. The food was tasteful! The village is within walking distance and has shops and other places to eat. The hotel is not far from the train station give an opportunity to make trips by train to Sorrento, Pompeii , Ercolano and Napoli. We e hope to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Itzhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vico Equense hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mega Mare
Hotel Mega Mare
#1 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astoria Vico Hotel
Astoria Vico Hotel
#7 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aequa Hotel
Aequa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oriente Vico Equense
Hotel Oriente Vico Equense
#5 of 20 in Vico Equense
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Moon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mary

Property: Hotel Mary
Address: Via Filangieri 132, 80069, Vico Equense, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mary 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing