We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the most ideal centred main stay holiday Hotel.”
Review of Hotel Mary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mary
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not the most ideal centred main stay holiday Hotel.”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife and I have just returned from staying here for 6 nights as our main stay Hotel with the coach operator Leger on their 12 day tour entitled "Sorrento & The Neapolitan Riviera" We booked the holiday as part of our 30th wedding Anniversary celebration and it was a lovely gesture of the Hotel reception staff to not only give us such a lovely room on the first floor with an amazing view of the bay area but also to place a bottle of wine nicely presented in a wine cooler with a rolled up letter tied with ribbon wishing us their warmest congratulations - a very nice touch!!
Unfortunately we did not find the Hotel suitable for it's location as a main stay holiday Hotel to either Sorrento or the local town. One main thing I must point out that this Hotel will be problematic to those having a fear of heights as my wife is. Our room though being a lovely, large well presented room because of the Hotel being set in the cliff face was actually on the fifth floor, the reception area though being on the ground floor has 3 floors beneath it and 2 above it. Our balcony therefore was not used though we did have the beautiful view from our window. I will say that a very lovely gentleman on reception who helped us with any issues throughout our stay did offer us a move to floor -3 which has a sitting area outside the room but has the expanse of the sun lounge & swimming pool area in front of it and has trees blocking any height issue. If you do have a fear of heights then that level should be more suitable, though the area allows you to sit out wherever you are located in the Hotel which is what we did. The rooms are smaller than the one we had been given and we therefore made the decision overnight to remain where we were. The height issue also comes in to the balcony area outside the dining room so it does restrict the full use of the Hotel's sitting area's. That being said the balcony area outside the dining room is only small & would not serve a full quota of guests staying there & all that is offered other than that is 2 settee's in the reception area which when the main door was opened in an evening proved to be quite chilly. We found that not having a proper lounge area split us up as a group & we either went back to our bedrooms after the evening meal or before if we returned early from a day out & you were left with the option of either going to bed or watching Italian TV. We chose the latter a good few times and even started to find favourite channels such as 35 & 83. No BBC World Service was available. WiFi though available throughout the Hotel was charged at 5 Euro's a day. As far as going out to the local town of Vico Equense this is certainly not on the Hotel's doorstep and is a good 10 - 15 minutes walk away. Again I must point that that the walking area to the town is initially served by a single broken up pathway which does pass some open area's to the drop down & certainly put my wife off from taking the path to many times & most times she would walk in the road which is extremely not recommended due to the very heavy traffic including many, many scooters that pass the Hotel - where all the traffic comes from we couldn't work out. The area has a definite traffic problem by UK standards in relation to the size of the town. One's in our group who were given rooms at the front stated that the traffic noise was so great that they couldn't open their windows or sit out on their balcony's but some were able to move to the rear of the Hotel. The town offers shops, bars, restaurants, bus & a train station and it only cost 2 Euros 60 cents return to go into Sorrento by train which was only five stops away taking about 15 minutes. It is an experience to sit in one of the four cafe's situated each side of the Town's roundabout to see how much traffic comes through the town & with there being no junction's at the roundabout it is every Italian for himself. Definitely an amazing site to experience & watch.
As far as meal's within the Hotel this area is terribly disorganised and resembles something of Fawlty Towers about it with private guests being heavily ingratiated by everyone including the new young owner who we thought was a young trainee until we had conversation with others on the journey home and our party not receiving a welcome, good morning/evening from him. One evening live music was arranged for the evening meal & it may have been a coincidence but only started when a German party came in for their meal as we were just finishing ours. As far as the service it was all over the place with part of our table being served & then going off to another table, plates being gathered by reaching over you whilst trying to finish your meal. We requested butter twice with our evening meal & though indignant faces when we asked again we still never received it. I solved it by taking enough portions at Breakfast & putting them in our fridge to take down for the evening meal. The food that was served to us was basic with no seperate salad available as we have found in other Italian Hotels and obviously within the price that had been paid to them by our operator & we saw other French & German groups staying there getting far better meals served (like something out of Oliver) the meat served was tough, dry or fatty and our table ended up requesting omelettes as an alternative. A lady on another table got around it by purchasing items from their take out menu at an additional 5 Euro + cost. Breakfast time was just as disorganised with items not getting replaced & having to be requested each time & on an early trip set off for us a party of children who ran amok in the Hotel overnight were allocated the same time as us for breakfast & went through the breakfast items like a plague of locusts. We came to leave & no Arrivederci's came from the Hotel which doesn't matter to us as it isn't an Hotel we would return to. The issues we had during our stay were stated in the Hotel's own questionaire on departure. The Sea Point facility wasn't open at our time of stay so unable to give a review on that & we didn't use the swimming pool. The Hotel does have a minibus & though it wasn't offered at any point during our stay a number of our group requested it's use to the train station in the town. As far as the air conditioning in the room I found out after we left that it requires a remote control which has to be requested from reception but there was a ceiling fan in the room.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the Hotel offer the best views & will be quieter. Room level -3 more suitab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    129
    52
    21
    15
See reviews for
88
171
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymoney N. Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Food....poor quality,didn't replenish at breakfast ,evening meal bad value for money especially when they add a service charge. Metro pizza in the town is a better bet.
Rooms.....extremely basic. Beds are poor quality, cheap and nasty. Bedding was stained and the curtains had seen better days.
Service......excellent. Lovely welcome and used my name often. Always willing to help and give advise.
Our room had a large balcony with a lovely view,but we booked the hotel for Sorrento but it was quite a distance away.
Maintenance.. Pool area very weedy and railings on balcony rusty.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank platinumguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The hotel organised our taxi from Naples airport to hotel, it was 70 euros but saved a lot of hassle. We had a very friendly greeting from Marco and his staff on reception. Our room was immaculately clean and we had a beautiful view over the sea from our balcony. I recommend a room at the back otherwise it would be quite noisy on the road. Most of the staff speak good English and are very informative and helpful. The train service is about a 10 min walk from the hotel, trains run very frequently, are cheap but over crowded and basic. It was a good way to get every where though. Pompeii, Heculaneum (Ercalano Scavi), Sorrento and Naples. The beach is a painful walk down about 300 steps and up again where you can find a few restaurants and bars. The restaurant in the hotel is very good with a good selection of wines and Mario and his staff are excellent. Mario was an excellent head waiter and we found him very amusing and eager to please. The only down side to the hotel was that on occasion it was quite noisy. The walls between the rooms seemed quite thin and not very sound proof. It did not overall spoil our holiday though and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms opposite the sea are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazz1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed here on a school trip to the bay of Naples. There was 28 students and 4 teachers and we managed to get a rooms of 4 for all students and teachers(who put 2 beds together to make 2 doubles). We were all on the same corridor so children could always be checked on. Half of the group got a wonderful seaview, with the others having the road. We didn't go in the pool as it was February!

The rooms were nice and the bathrooms especially nice with very good showers! The meals which are for school groups are nice but not agonizing. Some children like them, some didn't. Firstly we had a olive pasta which was ok followed by lamb(or beef not sure? I don't like this) with mash potato and then tiramussu. The next day was nicer with tomato sauce and gnocchi then aubergine and mozerella. Everyone apart from me enjoyed the lemon Italian meringue that night.

Room Tip: Sea view! First floor is where you get balocnies also, not on the lower ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Been_Everywhere_LOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest of Dean, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at The Hotel Mary for 2 weeks over Christmas and the New Year (2014). Although the hotel has limited facilities, the service, welcome and restaurant food are all very good. The gala dinners on Christmas Eve and New Year's Eve were excellent and Mario's team in the restaurant deserve a special mention.

The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from town and is very well placed for visiting Sorrento, Naples, Pompeii, Herculaneum, Oplontis and Paestum. It's only a short bus or train journey to Sorrento (a couple of Euros) where there are ferries to Capri about every half an hour.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we were very well looked after for the whole of the stay. The rooms are pretty basic (but spotlessly clean) and the power shower is very effective! The rooms have hairdryers, a safe and a fridge and the wi-fi has signal boosters on each floor.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms (with balcony) are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 19 - 29 October. The room was very comfortable and sitting on the balcony watching the sun set over the Mediterraneum was a delight. The dining room provided a good choice of meals. We were with a group for the first week and then our own for 3 days. Mario took good care of us, even managing to procure the necessary ingredients for the fish stew for one dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sea facing side have great views and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago area (Wadsworth), Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I was the organizer for a group of 40 older adults (40s thru 60s) who stayed at Hotel Mary for 3 nights in September. Every single thing about Hotel Mary deserves 5 stars, beginning from the moment you enter and see 3 staff members at the front desk, in formal black dress, smiling broadly at you, and speaking perfect English. The rooms were spacious and clean, with refrigerators, marble-accented bathrooms with bidets, great hot showers, and excellent service. Their lovely large fine-dining restaurant offered the absolute best dinner entrees of anywhere we dined throughout Sicily and Italy, including pizzas about 3 feet long and excellent house wines, all at amazingly great prices! Our morning breakfast buffet was about 70% larger and more varied than anyplace else we stayed. The hotel has not one but TWO elevators/lifts (what a relief with a group our size!) But the absolute kicker about Hotel Mary, the pinnacle that cannot be beat, is the VIEW! For only $20 extra (TOTAL, for all THREE nights), we scored balcony rooms with a view of the sea (and mountains) that was so breathtaking it is difficult to express. The sunsets were beyond gorgeous! My dream someday is to return to Vico Equense and stay at Hotel Mary for a month or more! They get 10 out of 5 stars in my book! :-)

Room Tip: Pay a small amount extra for the seaview room...it's worth ten times the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissChampagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vico Equense hotels
0.3 mi away
Astoria Vico Hotel
Astoria Vico Hotel
#5 of 20 in Vico Equense
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#13 of 20 in Vico Equense
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Moon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Resort Le Axidie
Hotel&Resort Le Axidie
#7 of 20 in Vico Equense
402 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mega Mare
Hotel Mega Mare
#2 of 20 in Vico Equense
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mary

Property: Hotel Mary
Address: Via Filangieri 132, 80069, Vico Equense, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mary 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing