We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views”
Review of Hotel Mary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mary
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I visited this hotel with my daughters aged 15 and 7 as part of our tour of Italy and it was without a doubt the best place we stayed in. We requested a sea view and we got a room with a beautiful view over the Bay of Naples. The location was perfect, in a small town on the Circumvesuviana train line which runs from Naples through Herculaneum and Pomeii to Sorrento. We travelled on public transport and the hotel was easy to find, just a short walk from the train station. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff couldn't do enough for us. The room was spacious, even with the three of us in it and there were free slippers and toiletries. The cleaning staff were brilliant, managing to keep on top of the mess my two kids created. The pool was small yet big enough to accommodate the number of guests in the hotel and having the private beach was an added bonus as most Italian beaches charge. It I were to go back to the Sorrento coast I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank thecortvriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    127
    49
    21
    15
See reviews for
86
168
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had a great time staying at Hotel Mary. I stayed with my 3 adult children. The staff were so accommodating and very friendly, they went out of their way to make your stay so comfortable and enjoyable. The view over the Bay of Naples from our room balcony was stunning. The breakfast was great, plenty of choice and the restaurant had great pizza, and the views from the terrace were amazing, especially at sunset. It was only 10 minutes walk to Vico Equense train station ( Pompei and Sorrento were only 20 minutes by train away), and 5 minute walk into the town centre where there were a number of lovely restaurants that were very reasonable in price. We took to ferry to Capri from the bottom of the cliff, a bit of a walk down and back. And swimming in the sea on the private beach was so refreshing as the days were very hot. The walk back up the cliff was great exercise!! Overall I can highly recommend this hotel, and would love to go back and spend time there.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room. The view and sunsets are just beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lrp62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

First of all, great welcome from the staff when we arrived, and great service from everybody at the hotel, from the guy on the beach to the restaurant. Rooms are very clean with a fantastic view. The pool were small, but not a problem, since the beach are close.
3 min. walk to senter of Vico Equiense, 10 min. to the train station.
A great stay for me and my family of 5.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomberge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and i stayed a hotel mary. from our room (balcony view) you could see the pool and the hot tub. if you looked further on you could see the sea. the hotel room is very basic and even though we had stayed there last year we only noticed this year that there was no head board. both my husband and i agreed that the toilet seat was not secure and extremly uncomfortable. you can always hear people at night/ealry morning slamming doors, not sure whether they are the cleaners inconsiderate people also staying a hotel. Cannot fault the restaurant, the food is excellent. the breakfast buffet is extremly bland with not imagination or thought put into it. reception staff are friendly,and extremly professional. waiters - hmmmmm, i guess everyone has a different experence..........
the hotel is sufficient but not the best. the location is perfect. The hotel has a lot of potential and room to improve if say someone/bodies invested in it and gave it a whole new face lift and perhaps brought it into the 21st centurty and perhaps send the waiters on a few courses on how to behave and conduct oneself.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsall, UK
Level Contributor
266 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 6 nights as part of a tour group. Disappointed our room overlooked the street but we still used the balcony. Did not hear the traffic at night. Air conditioning and a fan in the room, both of which worked. Asked for extra pillows, which were brought immediately. Wished there had been drawers etc, rather than just shelves. Bathroom was small. Walk in shower but nowhere to put toiletries once inside. Hair dryer was awful. Cleaning of the room was very good. Door to the bedroom was very awkward to lock. Had a safe but it wasn't bolted down!!! Wonderful view from the terrace. Breakfast was very monotonous. Food at night was hit and miss. Only 2 choices for each course. Had to pick at breakfast what you wanted for the evening meal! Swimming pool was ok. Staff were friendly.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank harveyswalsall_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Can't believe the negative reviews for this one. I had a 3 night stay as part of a coach tour and we had no problems at all. My room overlooked the swimming pool which didn't bother me, no point in a sea view unless you spending all your time in the room. The food was fine and the staff pleasant. The air conditioning was fine and worked well.

Room Tip: Difficult to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We were here with a tour group of 50, mostly students. The pool closed at 7PM, a little early I think. The night's meal was good, compared to some we had. Breakfast in the other hand, was not. Of course we could have paid more for a better breakfast. The staff was a bit rude at times, giving us dirty looks for having a good time. We weren't rude or being ugly, just laughing and joking. Some of the party even got told to leave the dining area for being too loud. However, when I was trying to go to bed at 11:30, the dining party out on the balcony below my room was outrageously loud. I was told the party would end by midnight. It seemed like every single room was different, you can't go by the pictures. The blue tile floors are pretty but that's about it. The beach access is by NO MEANS close. You have to walk up the road and then down about 400+ steps. Glad we were only at this stop for 1 night.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank A2MTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vico Equense hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Moon Valley
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mega Mare
Hotel Mega Mare
#2 of 20 in Vico Equense
1,308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astoria Vico Hotel
Astoria Vico Hotel
#5 of 20 in Vico Equense
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#14 of 20 in Vico Equense
202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel&Resort Le Axidie
Hotel&Resort Le Axidie
#9 of 20 in Vico Equense
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mary

Property: Hotel Mary
Address: Via Filangieri 132, 80069, Vico Equense, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mary 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing