We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Capo La Gala Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is one of the best boutique hotels we have ever stayed at. The location of this gorgeous five star hotel is unbeatable. It's right before Vico Equense on Sorrento peninsula overlooking the ocean. It has just 23 rooms, and all of them are facing the beautiful Tyrrhenian Sea. The rooms with the terraces are to die for. We spent many hours just relaxing on our terrace. We loved the furnishings and the soothing colors of the interiors. Everything was just immaculate! The spa was absolutely lovely. Breakfast on the patio was the most delicious with a million dollar view!... Since this is such a small, exclusive hotel that all the staff know the guests. When we went to the breakfast we didn't have to tell them who we were. They already knew our names and the room numbers. Our children loved the attention they got!... The staff were very friendly. Yet very professional...I also have to point out something: "I don't agree with the negative comments about the pool". The pool was sparkling clean. As an owner of a home with a pool I know how quickly a pool can attract the leaves, and the bugs. That's nature! This hotel is totally nestled in nature. Despite nature they kept it very clean...This hotel is absolutely terrific!!!... We look forward to going back there next season...

Room Tip: Room with a terrace is worth paying a little extra!...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hacer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

We spent a week here on honeymoon following our wedding in Tuscany and had a simply wonderful time. From the moment we checked in, where the staff very kindly upgraded us for being honeymooners, to the moment we checked out it was fantastic! The rooms are spotlessly clean with a nautically-inspired decor and balconies overlooking the bay of Naples with spectacular views. The staff were all friendly and obliging with special mention going to the head barman Michele who made us wonderful cocktails during our stay-we particualrly enjoyed sipping our Limoncello mojitos on the outdoor wooden decking watching the sunset! There is an abundance of choice for breakfast in the mornings and the food in the Michelin-starred restaurant, Maxi, is well worth a trip to the hotel in itself, even if you are not staying there. The wine list is pretty extensive to say the least(!) but we stuck to Italian wines, including quite a few local wines from Ischia and were not disappointed. The hotel is in a great location, minutes from the small town of Vico Equense and if you have a car would be a perfect base for exploring the local tourist hot spots, including Positano. Although we didn't have a car we took the courtesy shuttle into the train station in Vico Equense one day and enjoyed a day trip to Sorrento on the train, which was less than a ten minute journey. We also used the Spa while we were there and my husband described his ttreatment as the best massage of his life! If you do visit here you better hope Crystal is your therapist-she's a gem! The spa has an assortment of facilities including an ice-cold plunge pool, an aromatherapy shower, a jacuzzi/massage pool with various jets as well as a sauna and steam room and is well worth a visit during you stay. All in all I would definitely recommend this property and would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livesfortheweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Upon arriving we were treated with nothing but kindness and excellent service, the staff were more than happy to help. We stayed in an amazing room, with a large balcony overlooking the water. We were given an upgrade to a room with a private jacuzzi on the balcony near the end of our stay, which was wonderful. The rooms were spotless, as were the rest of the grounds and spa. The breakfasts were delicious every morning, enjoying a coffee overlooking the sea. The Spa Aquarium is very relaxing, the warm indoor pool is a treat, as the outdoor pool is not heated! Dinner at Maxi is a must, and especially recommend the chef's tasting menu. The free shuttle to Vico Equense is a nice touch, we went in for pizza a few nights. Can't say enough nice things about the staff, very friendly and accommodating. The free wi-fi in room and around the resort was nice to have as well. Would love to go back!

Room Tip: Room 209, has a private jacuzzi overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stellakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just stayed 3 nights at Capo la Gala and it did not dissappoint in any way . Got the train from Naples (what an experience , no issues with beggars or pickpockets at all and at €5 each it is a bargain ). The welcome from the receptionsits was fantastic , they had given us an upgrade which always pleases , the room itself was perfect , clean and functional but the view is to die for. It was their last weekend of the season but the service levels were fantastic , the waiters at breakfats, lunch and dinner were very attentive without being over keen , they all made recommendtaions on the food and wine which shows they really know their stuff .Miguel the head bar man kept us with drinks throughout the day and was able to give us the full background on all the wine and drink we had .
We did day trip's to Sorrento ( which is about 30 minutes in a cab ) Capri and Herculaneum all are very nice and set up for tourists but it was an absolute pleasure to get back to Capo la Gala to watch the sun set have a dip in the pool ( which was cold but that is the point it is mountain fed and is meant to be bracing and refreshing ) .
This was true 5 star service without the stuffiness /arrogance that 5 star hotels can sometimes have .
It is the perfect place for a break of a few days

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwatts10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Great hotel on the coast which helps keep the temperature a little cooler. Very friendly staff and hotel is kept immaculately clean.

There is a shuttle taxi free of charge to the main town and the drop off is close to the train station as well. Very useful.

Restaurant is good, however check up on your order if there is wedding as that can sometimes slow service.

There is a spa there and it is very good - they should market that more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SC2533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We spend a week in this hotel and had a wonderful time. The hotel is beautiful and on a fabulous location and has a wonderful well equipped Spa Aquarium. The kind therapist was very experienced, I had the best massage ever (and a had a lot before).
If you visit this hotel I can recommend her anti-stress massage, you will feel reborn !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was the last of four hotels we visited in a multi-destination tour of the coast. Unlike most other luxury hotels on the Amalfi coast it's located right down by the sea instead of nestling high on a cliff. That's a major advantage, and the gently lapping waves just below our balcony provided a stunning backdrop as well as a lovely aural accompaniment. Unfortunately, though, while it's possible to swim directly from the hotel's own terrace, there are no other facilities whatsoever, no boat or pedalo or the like and not even masks and snorkels with which to explore the interesting-looking rocks. We were quite envious of the several other snorkellers who appeared during the course of the day, having swum in from other bays. The decking by the pool is reasonably attractive, but we were unimpressed by the bare concrete of the rest of the sun terrace, and the awkward arrangement of loungers, placed sideways to keep them out of the way of the route from the pool and the beach restaurant.

The general nautical theme is reflected in the hotel's attractive navy and white decor. Our room was compact but stylish and well-furnished, and enhanced with a huge floor-to-ceiling mirror which made it seem twice as big as it was. A nice bright bathroom as well, well-appointed apart from cheap plastic cups, each hygienically sealed in its own plastic bag, but so flimsy that they break when you try to extract them. Our balcony offered a lovely view of the sea, but limited privacy. The terraces are divided from one another by a semi-opaque canvas screen stretching from head height to knee level, so you'll quickly get to recognise your neighbours by their silhouettes, feet and lower legs! The main restaurant was of a high standard, but not perhaps quite as high as the chef and staff clearly considered it to be. The food was very good but a touch pretentious and - meat lovers beware - with a menu heavily biased towards seafood. Breakfast was fine, despite a limited buffet selection, and light lunch at the beach-side restaurant was also good.

For variety, we made a sortie into the main town of Vico Equense for dinner, but it was pretty grim. The two restaurants suggested by reception - Terramia and Pizza al Metro (literally pizza by the metre) - were very uninspiring, cavernous but both deserted at 8.30pm. Instead we fled back to the hotel for a fussy but high quality dinner in considerably more attractive surroundings.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckythree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vico Equense
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mega Mare
Hotel Mega Mare
#1 of 20 in Vico Equense
1,410 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
3.7 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Casa Angelina
Casa Angelina
#3 of 20 in Praiano
844 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,165 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel & Resort Le Axidie
Hotel & Resort Le Axidie
#9 of 20 in Vico Equense
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo La Gala Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo La Gala Hotel & Spa

Address: Via Luigi Serio 8 | Sorrento coast road, 80069, Vico Equense, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Price Range: £281 - £622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Capo La Gala Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance, luxury and modernity are perfectly mixed and in harmony with the environment in gorgeous scenery where plants, rocks and the view of an endless sea make the hotel appear as a real ship anchored to an island. The hotel offers 23 rooms with sea view terrace equipped with every comfort. The restaurant maxi has been awarded with its first Michelin star on the 2010 Michelin guide. A unique secret place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Capo La Gala Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing