We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable and luxurious”
Review of Capo La Gala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Capo La Gala Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a fantastic time in Capo La Gala, the service is impeccable, a great feel of luxury. Already from the start everybody makes you feel a special guest starting with a glass of prosecco upon arrival. Everything is taken care of, luggage, car, no need to worry. Rooms are superb, the terras, the view, the egyptian cotton bedlinen, the sound of the sea. We slept with the doors open every night and this was so relaxing. The breakfast is a treat and dinner at Maxi is matching the 1* Michelin. We recommend everybody to stay a couple of days there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladolcevitaNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

My family of 4 spent 3 nights at the Capo La Gala this May and overall we had a hugely enjoyable stay. Built directly into the rocky coast, the hotel is beautiful and has been very carefully and uniquely styled throughout. Our family of four stayed in the Marité Suite which was spacious, comfortable and highly recommended.

One of the best aspects of the Capo La Gala has to be the service. Without a doubt, it was probably the best service I have ever experienced in a hotel - every member of staff we encountered was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, from those working at reception to the waiters and waitresses in the bar and restaurant. They advised us on local restaurants, helped us promptly with a couple of minor issues in the room and Michele the bar man was able to whip up any cocktail on request!

We ate in the hotel's michelin star Maxi Restaurant on our first night and simply put it was one of the best and most interesting meals I have ever eaten: gorgeous local wine accompanied course after course of delicious Italian dishes. The view is stunning (probably the best I have ever eaten in front of!) and combined with the flawless service made for a hugely memorable evening. However, it is worth nothing that the Maxi Restaurant is the only restaurant available in the hotel in the evenings. You would probably only want to dine here once during a short stay, so be prepared to head out to local restaurants - of which there are many great options - but a car is essential.

There is a spa in the hotel but we did not really have time to make use of it - except for a quick visit to the sauna and indoor pool on the last day - but it looked lovely and I wished I had booked a treatment! Besides the spa, the main pool and the gym there is not a lot else to do in the hotel apart from chill out - which suits some, but there is a lot to do and see in the local area by car. We took day trips to Pompeii, Positano and Capri - all of which were charming and interesting in different ways. The hotel were very helpful in giving us information about the surrounding area which was definitely a plus.

There are two downsides to mention but they really are nothing major at all. One is that the showers were not really up to standard - weak and not hot enough. One other point (not really a negative, but worth knowing before booking) is that the Capo La Gala is literally off a main road. This does not affect the hotel in terms of noise, but a car really is essential here as it would be extremely difficult to get around without one as walking out the hotel door to the local town Vico Equense is not really viable with such a busy road.

Ovverall, Capo La Gala is a haven. The food and service was perfect and the atmosphere of the entire hotel is very relaxed and friendly. If you are visiting this part of the world, I would highly recommend this hotel as a place to stay - the setting makes it unique and you will come away feeling well rested!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zoe281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here as part of a longer road trip around Italy so it was only a couple of nights, but everything was beyond expectations. From the warm welcome, to the breath taking view from the room, to the fantastic food, the exceptional service throughout the property and the faultlessly delivered art deco/nautical decor. Its an out of town location and on the busy coastal road so you can't walk anywhere, but as a destination for relaxation it couldn't be any more perfect. The only (very minor) complaint was that the wifi could have been stronger. But it was a minor blip in a perfectly beautiful stay! I would highly recommend the Capo La Gala.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We (myself, my husband and another couple) have just returned home from a 4 day stay at Capo La Gala. This beautiful hotel is nestled into the rocks with stunning views of the sea and coastline. I have stayed in many 5* hotels but this one takes some beating. The decor, furnishings and finishing touches have truly been thought about to make this a 5* boutique hotel.

The pool area is looked after by the life guard who quickly gets towels and cushions for you as you arrive to the sunbeds. Staff are on hand to order cold drinks and snacks from. The pool was too cold for me, but i should imagine will heat up in the hot Summer months. There are a couple of ladders straight into the sea which i used to have a swim.

We stayed in one of the Superior rooms which had a beautiful terrace and sunbeds to relax on whilst watching the most amazing sunsets into the sea. The room was like the rest of the hotel showing off the beautiful interior design.

I chose the tasting menu when dining at the Maxi restaurant. Perfect courses with exquisite tastes and beautiful presentation. Breakfast was amazing with fresh fruit, yogurts, cold meats, cheese, pastries, hot food... the list goes on. We had lunch at the restaurant by the pool which again was scrumptious.

Having just read the reviews on trip advisor regarding the staffing i cannot agree at all with the negative comments. In the 4 days we were at the hotel the staff truly worked to make sure that we had 5* service. The bar, pool, reception and restaurant staff (and others that i may have forgotten to mention) were polite, helpful and attentive.

The hotel is about 45 mins from the airport and Pompeii and 20 minutes from Sorrento. The hotel provides a free shuttle service to the nearest village 'Vico Esquence' which is great as we went their one evening for a meal.

I left Capo La Gala feeling very relaxed and money well worth spent!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahjs1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This gem of a hotel is nestled in a cove near the amalfi to do day trips but removed to relax. You hear and experience the ocean from your balcony. The pool service care of Giovanni is fantastic. The breakfast view of the ocean is amazing. Staff excellent and helpful. I could go back again for sure. Don't climb hills in positano to get back from beach. Stay here

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gattisdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went for long weekend and was a perfect mix of relaxation and activities. Everyone very friendly and quickly sorted out all our excursions with no hassle and were very good.

Stunning view and great sun area. Pool is very nice but probably only of use in hotter summer months, sea swimming was good.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kllondon9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

What an amazing place, was my 2nd visit, staff were all very helpful and professional, the building itself is a feat of engineering and everywhere offers stunning views. Breakfast was lovely, but the maxi restaurant might be too fine dining for some! Great location to explore the amalfi coast. I have read other reviews and have to say that i didnt share any of these negativities, thought it was wonderful. Will certainly return a 3rd time

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vico Equense
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mega Mare
Hotel Mega Mare
#1 of 20 in Vico Equense
1,397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Astoria Vico Hotel
Astoria Vico Hotel
#3 of 20 in Vico Equense
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,158 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#13 of 20 in Vico Equense
224 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Ancore Hotel
Le Ancore Hotel
#7 of 20 in Vico Equense
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo La Gala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo La Gala Hotel

Address: Via Luigi Serio 8 | Sorrento coast road, 80069, Vico Equense, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Price Range: £269 - £516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Capo La Gala Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance, luxury and modernity are perfectly mixed and in harmony with the environment in gorgeous scenery where plants, rocks and the view of an endless sea make the hotel appear as a real ship anchored to an island. The hotel offers 23 rooms with sea view terrace equipped with every comfort. The restaurant maxi has been awarded with its first Michelin star on the 2010 Michelin guide. A unique secret place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Capo La Gala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing